Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Best of the few poor choices

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nicer furniture in room. The two chairs are old, chipped and uncomfortable, but there's no other place to sit
Central location in Toms River. Rooms very dark and need updating. Not much for the price. $5 breakfast is excellent if you can deal with the belligerent cashier who will barely let you look at the buffet with paying her to get in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Clarion Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star hotel review! We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you! Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Nice hotel aims to please

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Maid service was great and very accommodating to our schedules. They did amazing jobs every day after 2 toddlers did a number on the rooms. The a/c was a problem on the hottest day of the year but when we told the desk, on a Sunday night even, the whole thing was replaced. Pool was bigger than usual. Veryclean. Restaurant much better than usual. Firm beds. All in all I'd definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Clarion Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review and all of your compliments! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Amboy

Overrall decent hotel.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Room was quiet,comfortable bed, outdoor pool, breakfast buffet.
Cons: Needs carpet cleaning, air conditioning in the stairwells.
Location: Near Seaside Park,however was further than I realized from the beach, lots of shopping nearby and restaurants.
We stayed here for one night to spend time at the beach. The room was smaller than what I expected based on the photos. Upon entry into the building hallway, it did not have airconditioning and had a damp, musty odor. The beds were comfortable and room was quiet. On checkout day the housekeeper came walking into the room prior to the 11 o clock checkout time and didn't bother to say good morning when I saw her in the hallway but instead remained speaking in Spanish on her cell phone. The desk staff were courteous and there was a wonderful breakfast buffet for only 5 dollars. Also we enjoyed the outdoor pool, it was nicer compared to other area hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Clarion Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review! We appreciate all of your feedback, so we can better serve all of our guests. Thank you for staying with us! Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, very clean

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Nice hotel and very clean - happy with everything except the hallways were extremely warm. The room got really warm during the night as well. 2 floor hotel but no elevator so if you have a lot of luggage you have to carry it up a flight of stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Clarion Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star hotel review! We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by Per from Göteborg

Clean and quiet hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was a clean and quiet hotel with polite and service minded staff, good breakfast and a nice restaurant with high quality menu. A bit off so taxi or rental car is a necessity anywhere you would like to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Clarion Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star hotel review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you! Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lockport, NY

Our stay at the Clarion.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: The cost for the room was not bad considering. We chose the Clarion for the second time. We did stay at another hotel, but the room cost too much.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and a strip mall is nearby.
The room was excellent. Very clean and most importantly quiet. An all you can eat breakfast. You pay a small fee but it is worth it. Selection is good. The staff are polite and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by Clarion Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star hotel review! We appreciate all of your compliments, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you! Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by Danielle from Virginia

Would recommend

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was good! The only negative was the air conditioning was not working in my original room...I would suggest checking everything prior to placing someone in the room for purposes like that...they made the transition into another room easy, we went right across the hall so we were good after that...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Clarion Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star hotel review! We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to seeing you again when you're in the area. Thank you! Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Clarion Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star hotel rating! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again! Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edison, NJ

Very nice hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: The location, comfort, cleanliness, and friendliness of the staff.
Cons: No improvement needed.
Location: The location is ideal for my needs.
I like this hotel very much. The staff at the check are very friendly and informative. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast is very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by Clarion Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate your compliments and we're so happy you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Clarion Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy and no WIFI

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
We were initially checked into room 205. There was a crowd in the hotel's bar. The outdoor smoking area for the bar was immediately outside (and under) room 205's window, in a narrow alleyway leading to the hotel's pool. The smokers from the bar were so loud that we couldn't sleep. At about 11:00 p.m. we called the front desk and they relocated us to another, quieter, room (room 214). We'd already lost an hour or two of sleep. Also, the hotel's WIFI did not work in either room. When we reported this to the front desk, we were given a tech support number to call (I would expect the front desk to make this call to tech support!?). The tech support people weren't able to help. The front desk later offered a gift card good only at Clarion and related properties, explaining that because we had pre-paid the room through Expedia they couldn't simply credit our account. It's unlikely that we'll stay at a Clarion again after this experience. All in all, not a great night at the Tom's River Clarion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Clarion Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your hotel review. We apologize greatly for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments and feedback will be reviewed by management. Our sincere apologies. Thank you, Clarion Hotel Management