Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Ramada Toms River for the holidays

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Please allow pets. I would pay to bring my little dog with me.
Location: Not applicable as my friends take me all over.
Walking into the lobby I was greeted with a big, beautiful Christmas tree and many poinsettias It made me feel happy. The check in went quickly. My room had a king size bed and a couch. It was clean but there was this worn out rug near the bed but no carpeting. Thankfully I brought my slippers. You really need carpeting, The bed was comfortable and had a lot of pillows. I was able to adjust the room temperature very easily. Tons of towels all sizes. The hair dryer was in a black bag hanging on the door of the bathroom. I checked the book to see what time breakfast was served - 7-12PM. I planned to get there by 11AM. I decided to call the front desk to make sure it was still open. I was told it closed at 11AM. When I checked out I looked for a sign. I found the sign on the restaurant's door but all it said was that it would close after breakfast. The time should have been indicated and the front desk should have informed me also. Except for the rug and the restaurant closing at 11AM I was very satisfied with my stay. I also liked the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient to everything

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: There is plenty of shopping and places to eat!
My daughter and I stayed here for a swim meet so the location was perfect. I ordered room service and the food was nice and hot and the staff was very friendly and accommodating! On the other hand there were some "seedy" looking characters in the back parking lot where I parked which made me a little uneasy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

convenient to Event's location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The location was great to event we were attending and the food selection of restaurants in the area was good.
Cons: As I mentioned above, the upkeep & maintenance of the hotel needs to own up to it's Ramada name
One night stay was manageable, but disappointed with Ramada's name. The hotel's lobby & hallways throughout the hotel could use a fresh coat of paint. I was shocked to see the elevator call pad dangling out of the wall as I exited the elevator onto my floor. I immediately reported the problem to the front desk & soon saw the intermittent repair work was masking tape until a real service technician could repair it on site, hopefully in good timing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great stay

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Hotel staff wasn't the friendliest but not too bad. The restaurant over charged us for soda, so make sure to just use vending machines instead of purchasing at the restaurant attached to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Clean with comfortable beds
Cons: Breakfast offerings
Location: Not too far from Point Pleasant Beach which was very nice. Loads of restsurants and stores in the area.
I stayed at the hotel to go to a near by wedding. The beds were very comfortable and I was happy to see a refrigerator in the room. It was definitely a no frills stay, but the location was what I was looking for and the room was clean. My only complaint was the breakfast. There was a buffet in the dining room which costs $17.50. I thought that was outrageous. All I wanted was coffee and a muffin and they said they would have to charge me full price. I ended up at a near by Duncan Donuts. I would stay again if I had another wedding in the area, but I would pack my own food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Every night there was a wedding. Wedding guests should be on the same floor on the side of the wedding. Other guests should not have to deal with listening to music until 12am and people going in and out of their rooms till all hours of the morning. Our room smelled awful and was worse if we turned on the heat. Our second room had blood on the comforter. The fridges did not work in our room. Minimal towels even though we stayed there wouldn't be 3 in our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

I don't think I would go there again.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
While the check-in was quick (we did have to wait a bit for someone to help us, we checked in very late, it was after 11pm) and the person was helpful, that is the only staff member we dealt with, so cannot comment much there. The room was clean, but the building as well as the room felt OLD. It was also a non smoking facility and non smoking room, but clearly you can smell smoke in the rooms and hallways. The smell in the room was horrible and the person who stayed in another room that was with us also complained that his room was the same. The room and hotel just felt like it should have been rented hourly as opposed to daily. I would not really recommend this hotel unless the price difference to another hotel choice in the area is significant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no vanity in bathroom. bed very uncomfortable

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: it was clean.
Cons: the beds and the noise
Location: ok
besides the above, the hallways were VERY noisey and nothing was done about it until I called the desk at 1:30 am and complained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel is grossly understaffed

Posted Oct 25, 2016
The rooms were not cleaned or serviced efficiently. The floors were not cleaned. They were stained and the room had a musty smell. We checked out other rooms and they also had a bad smell. The management blamed it on under staffing of maid and cleaning personnel. The new GM, Angel did try to solve the problems but there are other hotels nearby I would stay at next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean and friendly staff

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: We went to Point Pleasant NJ to spend part of the day at the shore.
Had a nice suite which was a very pleasant surprise since we had reservations for a king room. Staff was extremely accommodating and we even spent an extra day. Everything was fresh and clean and we loved rain head shower , just like ours at home! If in Tom's River NJ again will be sure to stay at this Ramada.