Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Classy, comfortable Inn in beautiful Spring Lake

Posted Feb 17, 2016
My Boyfriend and I stayed here 4 nights of Valentines weekend and loved it. The room had a fireplace, two balconies over looking the park/lake, a deep soaking tub (though NOT for two), and a very comfy bed. It was a great and romantic place to lounge and relax. Breakfast was continental style but very good, lemonade and iced tea with cookies every afternoon and tea and coffee 24 hours all in a pretty sunny room with fireplace. The Inn is older and shows some wear but is updated well enough, and we loved the charm of having actually keys for the door! Spring Lake is a quaint and lovely town with dining options, shopping, and the beach! Take a drive around to appreciate the Victorian homes near the ocean. It can be sleepy in the off season but there is plenty to do in near by Brick, Belmar and Point Pleasant. All a short drive. We also liked the Spring Lake Tap House for updated yummy bar food, great service, and drink selection. Happy hour lasts 12-7 or if you'd like to stay in they deliver to the hotel (as well as serveral area pizza places). Also Cafe Artiste in town may seem like a risk but take it, let the owner/chef make whatever pasta he wants for you- you won't be sorry! All in all a great little getaway just 1.5 hours from NYC!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2016
rustic charm in a good way. unlike the holiday inn and hiltons. good rates and quiet in the winter. it is likely to be different in summer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Lovely small hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2015
The Chateau continues to be a great place to stay in Spring Lake--close to town and the beach, courteous and thoughtful staff and service, comfortable well-appointed rooms, and little touches like coffee/tea/juice available in the dining room all day and evening. I've stayed here before and will again when I visit family who live nearby at Fairway Mews.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice ll hotel great staff close to the beach

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Very nice time the hotel was very courteous in the sense that they did not receive a notification of booking the room from Expedia and handled it quickly and gracefully with no problem towards us
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parsippany

Nice hotel not far from the beach

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Free wifi, location in Spring Lake, free coffee
Cons: more plugs at bedside, duvets and pillow shams, exhaust fans in bathrooms, two bedside tables, updated AC system (ductless mini systems)
Location: Good location to walk to town , would be a longer walk to the beach, right next to train station In off season it is easy to park close to the beach
This is a lovely old in in the town of Spring Lake. Our Superior king room was on the third floor, no elevator, so if you have mobility issues be aware. The room did seem cramped at times. The old fashioned wall AC unit was loud and hard to control the room temperature. I much prefer hotels that have duvets and pillow shams that are changed after each guest than the bedspread and pillow shams they had here. There was only one bedside table. There were not enough plugs at the bedside to charge our smart phone and ipads, we had to unplug lamps to do so. The bathroom was really small but really clean. Nice Aveda products and plenty of towels. No fan though so the mirror got really fogged up. Free wifi. No coffee in the room but was available in the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, great continental breakfast.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Close to beach, shopping, etc.
We had a king size room, which was actually small. No place to sit. Luckily there is an open porch that you can sit out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Comfortable but a few inconveniences

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Location, bath rooms, comfy beds
Cons: Window coverings, in-room coffee
Beds were very comfortable, bathroom was nice, but the carpet was worn, old and looked dirty, and the window coverings were not sufficient to shield the room from outside lighting. The location is very convenient, but parking was not adequate and we had to park at the train station lot about a block away. No in-room coffee service and their lobby coffee service was not available until 7:30.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairview NJ

We loved the Chateau Inn!

Posted May 28, 2015
We would go back again !!! My wife and I came down for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, we had a great time.Rob and the staff we great!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Quick getaway.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Very cozy accommodations.
Cons: Parking, and more personable staff.
Very cute place with antique appearance, but nice new features. The area around the hotel was very nice and only complaint would be the parking situation. Plan ahead for late arrivals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
It was fun to ride out a snow storm at the chateau