Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

BEST location on the island!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: The view!!! And the central location on the island.
Cons: a/c available, if needed. (Not a major issue)
Location: Poipu Beach is a short walk. Most places (restaurants, sights, etc) require a drive. But, completely doable. It's a beautiful area to walk around in.
We can't even imagine a better place to stay. The view! Outstanding! The ocean is right beneath the balcony, sea turtles swimming, waves crashing, coconut tree tops as you look out the window. No one between you and the ocean, as this part of the shore is made up of lava rocks.... so no beach goers. BUT, the beach is a very short distance down the road. We walked down one morning ( a 5 minute walk) and there were Hawaiian Monk Seals sleeping in the sand. This condo is located in a beautiful area of Kauai. The landscaping is amazing. It almost felt like a movie set. The air smells like flowers. The only downside was the lack of a/c, which was really only a (mild) issue midday if you wanted to take a nap. However, a. they were installing air conditioners when we left, b. I can't imagine sleeping at night with air on as the sound of the waves crashing into the lava rocks was heavenly. And the breeze was wonderful. This would not inhibit me from booking this room again. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your rating and review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Poipu Shores! Hope to see you back on property soon. Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega General Manager
1 out of 5
by Shaukat

Please do not stay here

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
This was one of the worst place to stay. The quality of the room was terrible. After paying what we paid, I would rather pay extra to get a decent place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by MokihanaGM, Hotel Management
Aloha Mr. Rangwala, I am so sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations due to the misinformation you were given by a third party booking agent. I wish we could have been able to accommodate you in a unit that you were promised. I hope you were still able to enjoy your time on Kauai. Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega General Manager
4 out of 5
by Benjamin

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by MokihanaGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating! We hope to see you back at Poipu Shores! Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Honeymoon

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The view and the space
We had a great time at Poipu Shores on our honeymoon. The location is quiet, right on the water and you could see turtles from our balcony. It was a nice location where you could walk to Poipu Beach and enjoy the sunset. The condo was plenty spacious for two people and the kitchen was a great advantage over a traditional hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your rating and review! We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful honeymoon at Poipu Shores! Congratulations and best wishes from the staff and management!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Beautiful view, loud waves

Posted Jul 22, 2017
This condo was very clean with updated counters and tile in bathroom. We were very comfortable there overall. The kitchen was nicely stocked with pans and dishes. The only other thing is there was not even any salt and pepper so if you plan on cooking bring your own spices. I loved sitting on the Lanai each morning drinking my coffee and watching for turtles. The waves crash on rocks so it is a bit noisy while sleeping but I figured it is a small price to pay for being so close to the ocean. There is no AC as of yet which is true of a lot of places on the island so the windows must stay open. If we ever come back to Kauai this would not prevent us from staying here again. It also was a convenient walk to Poipu beach which had some great snorkeling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Julianne! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Poipu Shores and hope to see you back soon. Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san luis obispo, Ca

Location, location, location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
AMAZING VIEW. It was so beyond beautiful look out at the crashing waves everyday. Being able to walk 5 minutes to snorkeling and surfing/boogie boarding was another awesome perk of this property. I wish the front office had longer hours to exchange towels, etc. the waves are loud, but after one night we got used to the sound and slept wonderfully. They only do a light cleaning, towel exchange every other day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! We thank you for your review and are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our stunning ocean views and convenient location! Should future travel bring you back to Kauai, we hope to see you at the Poipu Shores. Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family staycation

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was more then we hoped for. Family of 6(2 daughters and their husbands) and us 2 parents. We live here, 2 from Cali, 2 from Utah. Was well equipped and clean. Close to everything. It was a great place to hold us all and the views were the best. Tons of turtles everyday. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by MokihanaGM, Hotel Management
Aloha! We appreciate your review and are so happy to hear that the Poipu Shores exceeded your expectations! The ocean views and sea turtles are truly a treat! We hope to see you back on property soon! Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent views and location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Some units need to be upgraded. Sofa bed was way too old and was almost imposible to set it up each night for our daughter
Location: Location is wonderful. There are shops and restaurants everywhere and close by.
The condominiums are beautiful and the views are to die for. I wish we had gotten a more updated unit though. Ours was however very roomy and comfortable. Because of dietary needs we need full kitchens anywhere we go and were surprised that this unit had everything we needed. They charge a cleaning fee but they don't do much. Every other day, they offer new towels or sheets and garbage disposal. However, they don't clean your room. Units provide you with beach cooler, chairs and umbrella. Poipu beach is a 5 minute walk. Lots to do in the area. Highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega, Hotel Management
Aloha! We thank you for your review and are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and property location. I apologize for any inconvenience you endured because of the outdated sofa bed. We appreciate these types of guest feedback and will work with our owners to ensure that our units meet our standards. Should future travel bring you back to Kauai, we hope to see you at Poipu Shores. Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spectacular views, great location.

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The room was amazing, picturesque, well-appointed, such great views. The master bed was so comfortable, and I'm a mattress snob. The sound of waves.
Cons: At least one or two pieces of cast iron cookware would be nice. The master bedroom screen door was a bit wonky, would leave the track sometimes.
Location: The whole island is an easy drive from here -- waterfalls, beaches, restaurants, shopping, zip-lining, helicopter tours, the airport.
We booked one week through Orbitz. I had my eye on these condos since I wanted ocean-front accommodations. I found a discounted rate on Orbitz and booked it. Now, from my research it seemed like different units may be different quality in terms of how updated or posh they are, or how good the view is, and I did not get a specific room number, and I got it on a discount, so I thought I might have a "bargain basement" condo, but it was actually very spectacular, room 307A, with ocean views out two sides. The crashing waves are really amazing, and the spray from the waves sometimes reaches the swimming pool. The pool itself was very nice and relaxing, and not too crowded even in mid-June. I was worried the condo might not have a lot of kitchen gear I'm used to, but it actually may be more decked out than my own kitchen (has a better blender than me). I did not mind the lack of a/c in mid-June. The fans are good enough to keep you cool, and we were usually out at the pool or a beach in the middle of the day anyway. It's a pretty easy walk to Poipu Beach (but an even easier drive). I had no issues with the place at all, and it exceeded my expectations. There may be nicer places to stay on Kauai, but I'm not sure there are any at this price point.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your ocean front accommodations. Should future travel bring you back to Kauai, we hope to see you on property. Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great home base on Kauai

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Our unit was well maintained and comfortable. But it's all about the location. The entire complex is located just steps from the water, and every unit has a fabulous view. The nearest swimmable beach is a 5-10 minute walk, but we loved sitting on the balcony watching the sea turtles cruise by every morning. And it was great to be able to cook some of our meals at the condo. We ate healthier and saved money as a result. Would absolutely return and recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega, Hotel Management
Aloha! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Poipu Shores and look forward to seeing you back on property again! Mahalo, Jennie Waiwaiole-Vega General Manager