Ratings based on 1,357 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Loved the pool area and lagoon.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Although it was a big resort, that's what I loved about it. Food was pricey but good, especially the Tide Pools restaurant.
With the exception of a couple of somewhat rude staff members, all others were very helpful and pleasant, and provided information when asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

What you'd expect from Grand Hyatt.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
My first time in Hawaii and in many ways the Grand Hyatt did not disappoint. The hotel staff was welcoming and attentive, the grounds were beautiful and provided a relaxing stay. My one issue - and seemingly small but significant enough that I probably won't come back - is both the service and the drinks at the pool were dismal. I was hoping for a mix of adventure - scuba days, hiking etc, and relaxing. Kauai did not disappoint with the adventure, but my relaxing days at the pool were spent either waiting for service or questioning if there was even any alcohol in my drink once it arrived. I'm no stranger to resorts and I wasn't expecting the same drinks as you'd find during your freshman year trip to Senior Frogs in Mexico, but for $16 a drink (no exaggerating) you think they could put a little booze in a fruity drink. All in, by the end of the week we spent about $1,500 in incidentals, you think we could've settled in poolside with a little buzz for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Amazing grounds..beautiful views.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Had an amazing time at this hotel. My only criticism is the restaurant food was not worth the high price at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Everything was Perfect!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The Staff was wonderful, rooms cleaned daily, and the facility and grounds perfectly maintained.
Cons: Please help the environment; only offer water upon request & plastic straws just in thick drinks. The public beach needs cigarette garbage receptacles
Location: Poipu public beach is one mile away and offers a safe ocean swimming environment for kids. Hike the Mahaulepu trail.
From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed by the staff and throughout every moment of our stay. We didn't want to leave the resort and never felt like we needed to. The buffet breakfast was extensive with fresh juice, fruit and made to order omelets to name just a few things. We ordered lunch and drinks poolside and felt totally pampered. The Stevenson Library sushi restaurant was a culinary stand out as well as Tide Pools. Thank you for making our 25th Wedding Anniversary trip such a special experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield Ca.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Had a nice stay Rooms are over priced had to pay another 175.00 dollars to have room that didn't look at the parking lot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very pricey hotel but extremely comfortable. Only real complaint is that they don't provide free movies. You would think that for the price you pay to stay a night, they would at least give you some complimentary movies on demand. But that's ok. Great hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Dorado Hills, CA

Paradise Found

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is my personal favorite! All the Hawaiian charm and amenities I need while on vacation. Friendly and helpful staff who made us feel like they wanted us to really enjoy our stay. Beautiful grounds, many activities all throughout the day and pool or salt water lagoon to lounge in the sun or shade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Andover, Ma

Great getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Perfect location, close to airport without the noise. Spaces room and even larger facility that are well maintained . Gardens galore and plenty of places to swim on the beach or pools. Hyatt does a nice job!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Great place vor holidays, lots of activities. Fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond, va

Picturesque resort with South Pacific views!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Make sure you have plenty of room to take and store photos on your phone/camera! From the pools to the lagoon to the lazy river, it is possible to never leave the property and be perfectly happy during your stay. That said, easy to moderate hikes will take you to beautiful nearby beaches, and peaks. A rental car for a day and a drive to the north will allow for viewing the stunning landscapes of Kauai.