Ratings based on 1,364 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location to restaurants and shopping.
Cons: Elevators or stairs close to the rooms
Location: Shopping centers were conveniently located. Many restaurant choices in Poipu!
Hotel was in a great location near restaurants and shopping. Beautiful landscaping and pools. Tidepools was our favorite restaurant on the Hyatt grounds!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Wow! Simply wow!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We were very happy with our stay at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is top notch! We would definitely recommend staying here. It's an easy trip from the airport. The breakfast buffet at Ilima Terrace is extraordinary. The Seaview Terrace also offers fantastic breakfast options and you get to enjoy your breakfast with a view of the ocean! The water slide is for kids young and old. I think the adults had more fun (including me). The Koloa/Poipu area is filled with other great food and shopping options if you decide to make a short drive away from the hotel. If you decide to go further out, the drive is quite accessible as well. Or if you decide to hang out at the hotel all day, it's perfectly OK too. We'll be here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from omaha, nebraska

It was a 5 star hotel, but not a 5 star experience

Posted Sep 27, 2017
The rooms were old and outdated, and there was construction and lawn maintenance going on in the morning. We asked for a room upgrade the first night, and only got it the last night, After the other room we had moved to was worse than the 1st one. You have to pay extra for every amenity offered plus an undisclosed Resort fee every night. The concierges were uniformed about many of the activities and restaraunts on the island. I had two massages there, one was amazing, however, one was literally the worst massage of my life. Overall, this hotel ruined our honeymoon in paradise, I would strongly suggest avoiding it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Resort and location

Posted Sep 26, 2017
This is a lovely resort in a beautiful location. Peaceful and serene. Hotel staff very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Loved the pool area and lagoon.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Although it was a big resort, that's what I loved about it. Food was pricey but good, especially the Tide Pools restaurant.
With the exception of a couple of somewhat rude staff members, all others were very helpful and pleasant, and provided information when asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

What you'd expect from Grand Hyatt.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
My first time in Hawaii and in many ways the Grand Hyatt did not disappoint. The hotel staff was welcoming and attentive, the grounds were beautiful and provided a relaxing stay. My one issue - and seemingly small but significant enough that I probably won't come back - is both the service and the drinks at the pool were dismal. I was hoping for a mix of adventure - scuba days, hiking etc, and relaxing. Kauai did not disappoint with the adventure, but my relaxing days at the pool were spent either waiting for service or questioning if there was even any alcohol in my drink once it arrived. I'm no stranger to resorts and I wasn't expecting the same drinks as you'd find during your freshman year trip to Senior Frogs in Mexico, but for $16 a drink (no exaggerating) you think they could put a little booze in a fruity drink. All in, by the end of the week we spent about $1,500 in incidentals, you think we could've settled in poolside with a little buzz for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Amazing grounds..beautiful views.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Had an amazing time at this hotel. My only criticism is the restaurant food was not worth the high price at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Everything was Perfect!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The Staff was wonderful, rooms cleaned daily, and the facility and grounds perfectly maintained.
Cons: Please help the environment; only offer water upon request & plastic straws just in thick drinks. The public beach needs cigarette garbage receptacles
Location: Poipu public beach is one mile away and offers a safe ocean swimming environment for kids. Hike the Mahaulepu trail.
From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed by the staff and throughout every moment of our stay. We didn't want to leave the resort and never felt like we needed to. The buffet breakfast was extensive with fresh juice, fruit and made to order omelets to name just a few things. We ordered lunch and drinks poolside and felt totally pampered. The Stevenson Library sushi restaurant was a culinary stand out as well as Tide Pools. Thank you for making our 25th Wedding Anniversary trip such a special experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield Ca.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Had a nice stay Rooms are over priced had to pay another 175.00 dollars to have room that didn't look at the parking lot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very pricey hotel but extremely comfortable. Only real complaint is that they don't provide free movies. You would think that for the price you pay to stay a night, they would at least give you some complimentary movies on demand. But that's ok. Great hotel