Ratings based on 1,388 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Service was excellent, even at poolside. The rooms are clean, with good temperature control. The bathroom was large with a separate toilet.
Cons: Lighting in the room was not good for reading if you still read books on paper.
Location: Whale watching (winter), Waimea Canyon, art galleries in Hanapepe. North part of the island also beautiful.
We were only able to stay at this hotel because of the package offered by Expedia. Thanks Expedia! The hotel has very nice restaurants, a variety of pools and spacious rooms. The concierge service was helpful, but we had booked activities on-line prior to our trip. Kauai was relaxing, but also had great activities. The whale watching sunset cruise to Na Pali coast offered by Captain Andy's was fantastic. We saw humpbacks spout, tail, and breach. We also saw dolphins and turtles. Waimea Canyon was gorgeous and has some good hikes. The north coast also gorgeous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney,Australia

Lovely but overpriced hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Beautiful and luxurious resort
Cons: Value for money Intensive bleach or clean of bathroom floors
Location: Little fish café down the road is great for coffee and breakfast Great shopping centre 5 mins drive away with lots of good restaurants Some good walks
Some reviews say this hotel is looking old and tired. It is not and it is a beautiful hotel. Well located and with wonderful staff, especially reception. However 1.My room had a rack rate of over $1000 per night- no normal room is worth that 2.Lots of towels were left on poolside lounges making it hard to find a vacant seat, yet dozens of Cabanas (which the hotel charged hundreds of dollars a day extra for - gouging) were vacant. 3.My bathroom had a 2 inch yellow border around the floor. Being bothered by a worrying smell I got to work with a facewasher myself and found this came off with a bit of elbow grease! I don't expect the maid to do this but management need to factor in an intensive spring clean as would happen in a normal home that looked like this. 4.On Tuesday I had a prime rib in Tidepool restaurant which was perfect. I ordered the same thing identically on Sunday and it was aweful - too salty and a huge lump of fat. (ie inconsistent) 5.Biggest negative were the generally arrogant and rude fellow guests, a common problem at luxury resorts
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Our 16 year old adored the hotel grounds, especially the lazy river and water slide . The setting is perfect , on a beautiful beach with great snorkeling opportunities and wildlife sitings, including a sleeping seal . Breakfast buffet is superior . Rooms are comfortable but need updating. Service around the pool is spotty and towels should be available more than one spot as this is a large facility . Good for families w/ kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2017
I went here for our honeymoon and it was incredible. We will hopefully be back for an anniversary one year. I really enjoyed the south side of the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic South Island lication

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Stunning views, pool fantastic, fresh and salt water, beautiful beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Very disappointing....

Posted Dec 19, 2017
My family and I were very excited to visit the Grand Hyatt. We read all the great reviews and even had friends recommend the property. Maybe it’s because I’m from Las Vegas and our hospitality industry is top notch; however the Grand Hyatt is far from a 4 Star property. We had issues with our service at the restaurants. The room is old and musty. I was disgusted to give my 7 year old a bath. The bathtubs are absolutely disgusting. We had to switch rooms due to being infested with super large ants. Don’t try and call the desk or housekeeping for anything, becusse they will either not answer or ignore your request. I would highly recommend to stay somewhere else. For the money this property is not worth it. Sorry to disappoint everyone that reads this, but I promise you that you’ll regret it. Let’s not mention we couldn’t even going swimming in any of the pools. The water was extremely cold.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Um...

Posted Dec 11, 2017
We were NOT verbally informed of the 35 dollar per day service charge when we checked in, nor was such a fee revealed when we booked our trip on Expedia's website. We will be leaving poor reviews and expect partial if not full recommendation of such fee (around 270 dollars). Very poor customer service. All we were told is that there would be a 75 dollar hold each day that would be fully refunded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Andrew S., Hotel Management
Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us while visiting Kauai. I'd like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the miscommunication of the daily resort fee. At check in, that is a standard for our front desk agents to inform our guests of the resort fee. I was able to check our Expedia listing and it does show that the daily resort fee is not included in the quoted rate. We would like to find a resolution you would be satisfied with, so please feel free to message us directly or contact our Front Office management team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Beautiful hotel next to the beach

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
The most beautiful place I have ever stayed. The staff was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australua

Close to beach

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: The outdoor ammenities.
Lovely swimming pools, beautiful gardens and ammenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul, S. Korea

An experience worth having .. Over and Over

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Service, atmosphere of the facilities. Truely a great Hawaiian experience it provides.
Cons: Property is so spread out, better signage/maps for guests would be great if they can be unobtrusive
Location: Beachside, not too far from Spouting Horn, Waimea Canyon, Napili look out and Wailuae River attractions
Hotel is a luxury and friendly experience beginning from the welcoming leis to the resort. Resort is spreadout (lowrises over the complex) to avoid a high rise complex, keeping the natural scenic landscaping of the beachside. Rooms are comfortable and maintained. Restaurants are not to be missed, with great food with outstanding personnel. Enjoyed the sushi, steaks, super and innovative desserts. Service personnel at these restaurants were among the best in all the hotels that I have stayed at. As a former hotel employees (high end chains), i was impressed by the level of quality of service provided. as an example, I complimented the server at a restaurant and not long afterwords, the manager came to our table to thank me.. Just can't say enough great things to say. Hotel has great hawaiian entertainment in various areas of the hotel, also local hawaiian artisans in the lobby, all contribute to an super experience.