Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Posted Jan 14, 2018
We stayed here for our 10-day honeymoon - perfect location, right within walking distance to two beautiful beaches. Husband loved that he could rent a surf board right at the hotel. My only (tiny) complaint was that free coffee in the lobby ended at 9a. Not ideal for late sleepers like myself :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto

Solid hotel on the beach - not boutique-y though

Posted Dec 20, 2017
This was our second stay at the hotel. The ambience and overall feel of the hotel has changed quite a bit from last visit. This used to be a boutique, adults only (no kids) hotel. But this time it felt like a regular hotel, there were kids running around, we enquired and they no longer have the "no kids" policy. Disappointing, as we didn't realize when we booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Smaller Hotel on Poipu Beach

Posted Dec 10, 2017
This Hotel is beautifully situated on a rocky area of Poipu Beach. There is not direct beach access but you are nearly ten or so steps on either side to the sandy beaches. The Hotel staff are exceptional and really focus on providing you with the best experience possible. I will recommend this Hotel to friends and family, and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Beautiful hotel & great staff

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Everything. Beautiful resort. Staff was absolutely perfect. Other guests were very kind.
My girlfriend and I have traveled fairly extensively for our age and stayed in a lot of highly rated resorts/hotels. The attention to detail at Koa Kea is truly unmatched. My girlfriend and I got engaged on our trip to Kauai. We didn't set up anything special at Koa Kea, we just mentioned it to our valet when parking the night of the engagement. The next day the hotel staff had put a very kind note in our room along with a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate. They also recognized us at dinner the next day. It made us feel very special and was just an added touch that really shows how much effort they put towards customer service. Besides the engagement, everything else was perfect. Everyone was so kind and helpful. Koa Kea has an excellent reputation, and it's obvious why they deserve it. If you're going to Kauai, don't stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: staff and location
Cons: not much
Location: convenient to most everything in poipu
beautiful staff with great attitudes make for a wonderful experiencestaff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice stay.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: All adults. Low volume of guests. Excellent housekeeping.
Cons: Lower drink prices.
Location: Na Poli Dinner Cruise. Waimea Canyon.
I agree with all the good things reviewers have said about this hotel. Whether it meets the status of "Luxury" I'm not so sure. What I liked most was the low volume of guests and all adults the week we stayed. The cleanliness and housekeeping service were top notch and I liked turn down service because of the towel, water, and shampoo replacements in the evening. The ice bucket and chocolate was a very nice touch. The housekeeping services really deserve praise. All the staff were very professional and friendly. I have seen the complaints about the need for car valet service. I observed that it would become very congested around the entrance without it so I came to appreciated that service very much. And, I didn't mind at all tipping for the service as the team was very attentive, very quick and really deserved tips. My only reason for not giving 5 stars was mostly due to the price of cocktails. $17 for a cocktail was well above prices at the surrounding hotels and I think, discouraged guests from spending anytime in the evening around the pool and fire pits. The lack of activity in the evening made the place seem a little dull and boring. Not that I'm advocating party-town at night, but more reasonable drink prices would have encouraged more evening visits to the pool and hot tub that I think would have increased guest enjoyment in general. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

5 Stars will return

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay with great views. Staff was super friendly and always offering assistance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very good hotel next to best beach on south shore

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Everything, but specifically that was adult only as we do not have kids!
Cons: Not much, staff is already doing a very good job maintaining the property and rooms.
Location: Located close to the best beach on the south shore.
The hotel is located next to what we consider the best beach on the south shore of Kauai. Room was perfect, very clean, high quality, everything as expected for a hotel in the price range. Staff made all the efforts to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We do not have kids and loved that hotel was adult only! Restaurant was very good, we have tried both breakfast and dinner. Spa was very good but just not the very best ever experienced. Mandatory valet parking but understandable due to somehow limited parking. We are just not used with valet parking, prefer to park the car myself and that's why we can't say we have valued the valet parking a lot but that's just a matter of preference, I'm sure other people were perfectly fine with valet parking that was already part of the hotel fee. We will definitely return to this hotel in our next visit to Kauai!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Nice ,quiet hotel right on the beach. Staff very friendly and rooms clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels