Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice stay.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: All adults. Low volume of guests. Excellent housekeeping.
Cons: Lower drink prices.
Location: Na Poli Dinner Cruise. Waimea Canyon.
I agree with all the good things reviewers have said about this hotel. Whether it meets the status of "Luxury" I'm not so sure. What I liked most was the low volume of guests and all adults the week we stayed. The cleanliness and housekeeping service were top notch and I liked turn down service because of the towel, water, and shampoo replacements in the evening. The ice bucket and chocolate was a very nice touch. The housekeeping services really deserve praise. All the staff were very professional and friendly. I have seen the complaints about the need for car valet service. I observed that it would become very congested around the entrance without it so I came to appreciated that service very much. And, I didn't mind at all tipping for the service as the team was very attentive, very quick and really deserved tips. My only reason for not giving 5 stars was mostly due to the price of cocktails. $17 for a cocktail was well above prices at the surrounding hotels and I think, discouraged guests from spending anytime in the evening around the pool and fire pits. The lack of activity in the evening made the place seem a little dull and boring. Not that I'm advocating party-town at night, but more reasonable drink prices would have encouraged more evening visits to the pool and hot tub that I think would have increased guest enjoyment in general. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very good hotel next to best beach on south shore

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Everything, but specifically that was adult only as we do not have kids!
Cons: Not much, staff is already doing a very good job maintaining the property and rooms.
Location: Located close to the best beach on the south shore.
The hotel is located next to what we consider the best beach on the south shore of Kauai. Room was perfect, very clean, high quality, everything as expected for a hotel in the price range. Staff made all the efforts to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We do not have kids and loved that hotel was adult only! Restaurant was very good, we have tried both breakfast and dinner. Spa was very good but just not the very best ever experienced. Mandatory valet parking but understandable due to somehow limited parking. We are just not used with valet parking, prefer to park the car myself and that's why we can't say we have valued the valet parking a lot but that's just a matter of preference, I'm sure other people were perfectly fine with valet parking that was already part of the hotel fee. We will definitely return to this hotel in our next visit to Kauai!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Nice ,quiet hotel right on the beach. Staff very friendly and rooms clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Very good location with safe beaches (Po'ipu); excellent staff and good facilities including main restaurant (Red Salt) and outside pool facility.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Hotel has a beach front location with easy access just south of Koloa, with (if needed) other hotel restaurants close. Other main attractions nearby.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, hotel has a pleasing open atmosphere and is of a good size, not too big; not too small. Several visitor areas nearby (inc the National Tropical Botanical Garden) with knowledgable staff on hand to advise. Red Salt restaurant very good although a little on the pricey side. We found Turtles and Bull Seals on the nearby beach (within walking distance).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area, CA

On the ocean with intimate feel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The Koa Kea is beautifully situated on the water with wide, safe swimming beaches to either side. This resort is scaled perfectly to have all the desirable amenities--clean, stylish, updated facilities and carefully-tended landscaping, ample staffing, concierge, pool, spa, poolside bar, clean towels, snorkeling and surfing gear rental, etc--while maintaining a wonderful calm, personal, intimate feel. You get to personally know the very nice service staff. A superb restaurant, the Red Salt, is located on-site. The beach and surf are directly in view, and snorkeling beaches with lifeguards are right next door. No crowds, no over-the-top luxury stuff you'll never use. Our garden-view room opened onto to a lush patio with chaise lounge--great! We'll definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Beautiful Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: We loved the location, amenities, pool, and drinks
Cons: There was a manager who was particularly rude. We look young for our age and felt like we were being treated like children by this manager.
Location: The beach is steps away from the hotel. We enjoyed the entire island, but there isn't much in terms of night-time activities if that's your thing.
We stayed here for our honeymoon, and it was an absolute dream. We loved how quiet it was and that we were just steps from the beach. Our time there was spent enjoying pool-side cocktails, lounging on the beach, and even enjoying our beautiful room. We didn't spring for a room with a view, and it was still stunning. We were woken up every morning by the roosters on the property, but we loved them and the experience through and through!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful, small resort with amazing staff!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel felt very relaxing and adult- not really too many kiddos or family activities. This made it perfect for couples time on our honeymoon.
Location: Private feeling location- sits at the end of a long drive.Snorkeling was great and relaxing on the front lawn.
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and were blown away by this place. It was perfect! It is a quiet and relaxing little paradise- exactly what we needed. The staff was so kind and caring while we were there, offering restaurant recommendations on the island, helping us with directions, good conversation at the bar, and a turn down service that we looked forward to every night. We most enjoyed in-room dining breakfast while sitting on our lanai looking at the ocean. Just the best! We hope to make it back here one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County

Boutique Experience

Posted Sep 13, 2017
This bespoke hotel Exceeded expectations - beautifully decorated, friendly staff, fresh and delicious food & the south shore vibe is relaxed and non-pretentious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Maile Reinhardt, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Aloha frances Thank you very much for taking the time to leave some feedback about your experience at Ko’a Kea Hotel & Resort. It is exciting for us to hear that we have exceeded your expectations. We hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Perfect Kauai Honeymoon location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: 2x day housekeeping was awesome, coming home to music and chocolate in our room at night was a nice touch :) Loved that it was more boutique.
Location: See the monk seals at Poipu Beach park next to the hotel. Kauai Coffee plantation is about a 20 minute drive. Also enjoyed the history at Koloa.
My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon in Kauai. We spent a week at Koa Kea and LOVED every minute of it. From the moment we arrived at the hotel and were greeted warmly with leis, to the day we checked out and were offered a hospitality room to shower before our late night flight, every detail was thought of by Koa Kea. They offer solely valet parking, which was so luxurious and convenient. We stayed in room 333 which is has a king size pillowtop bed and a lanai with partial ocean views - it was on the side of the building which borders the Marriotts property and was beautifully lined with trees and had an easy view of the ocean. We slept with our lanai door open at night so we could hear the ocean. While the beach isn't directly in front of the hotel (its quite rocky directly in front), the sandy swimming/snorkeling beaches are just a few steps away on both sides of the hotel. There's a boardwalk path along the entire stretch of Poipu Beach so its perfectly easy to access from the hotel or even the parking lot. There are monk seals who frequent the beach to the left, and they even came up and swam with us during a morning swim one day (just keep your distance cause they are endangered). Such a memorable experience! The hotel is much smaller than the surrounding resorts, so it has a more personable and intimate feel. There aren't many kids or babies staying here, which also makes it a more romantic spot. Can't wait for our next visit to Koa Kea!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for couples

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: its not crowded and have everything you need to on a hawaii vacation.
Cons: everything was perfect
Let me start of by saying: If you are looking for a resort to party the night away, then this is not your resort. However, if you are looking for some peace & quiet and just to enjoy the view and lay back. this is the place for you. The staffs are extremely friendly and you can always strike up a convo with them. would recommend anyone to