Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Herve from Canada

France 2016

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is find. You have to park in an underground parking 3 block away and lug your luggage. The parking in affordable but been in the downtown it is noisy. The city is very nice and the Hotel in a good location
5 out of 5
by Charles from Oxted

Cheap and very cheerful

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
We wanted a basic hotel room in the centre of Poitier and this was just right. A superb location, wonderful breakfast and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge CA

Beautiful square right out front

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The square out front
Cons: A fan in the rooms
We stayed at this hotel 4 nights over a 10 day period. Our first room was in the back of the hotel, a bit dark and small. We stayed there 2 nights, we left to Scotland and came back to stay 2 more nights in a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony looking over the square. They said this room was smaller than the first but with the large french doors, it seemed much larger and much lighter. It was a bit loud at night with the doors open but it you closed them you would be quite warm. The cost was the same for both rooms. Request to look over the Square and hope for cool temps. Both rooms were clean and functional. There is a very SMALL elevator to bring luggage up the stairs.
1 out of 5
by Marc from Sunnyvale, CA

Do not book there

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Basic concept of hospitality, they should have warned me instead of sneaking it to me, and they should have apologized for the inconvenience.
Location: Poitiers is a gorgeous provincial town, beautiful building, great culture, great local restaurants. Definitely a place worth visiting.
They "forgot" to mention that there was a concert scheduled for the night in the plaza right under the room window when I booked. When I saw the stage being setup and inquired they finally told me that the concert was going to last until 1am. But they forgot to mention that it would be followed by dismantling of the stage. So after going to sleep at 1am (windows were shaking from noise before that) I woke up at 5:30am to the banging of hammers and noise of pipes being thrown on the floor, plus machines cleaning up the plaza. And it only stopped at 8am on Sunday morning, just when I was supposed to get ready for my day. When I complained that they should have told me they offered the breakfast (7.5 euros, room was 65, breakfast was bad by the way - old croissant, bad coffee) and did not even apologized for the inconvenience. I will never ever book a room in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by Evanne Kilmurray from Dublin- Ireland

Our Stay in Central Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels
Myself and my twin brother stayed in the Central Hotel overnight before leaving for the Benedictine Monastry in Font Gom Bault the next day. We found the hotel staff very helpful and friendly and the hotels location is right in the middle of Poitiers. The rooms were very clean though on the small side but grand for a brief trip. Breakfast cost a little extra but served to the room which was very pleasant. All in all,I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers looking for a reasonable, clean and very central location. The hotel lived up to its name!
5 out of 5
by Alan from Bath

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels
Great location, friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Julie from WAshington DC

Visting Poitiers

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Central. Location was perfect - right in the middle of town. Hostess was very nice, helpful, and fun to talk with. The hotel was within walking distance of all of the sights to see and plenty of restaurants. It was wonderful to walk around this old city and enjoy the surroundings. We will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Traveller from Oz

Great value hotel

Posted May 10, 2013 on Hotels
My hotel room on the top floor was excellent. It was compact, but well set out and had obviously been renovated to a high standard recently. I slept very well in the comfortable bed. The reception desk is not manned at all times and I arrived on a Sunday at a time when the hotel was locked. However, I had phone them before hand and was given an access code to let myself in and the key and room details were left for me on the desk. The hotel in is in an excellent central location. I thought this hotel was great value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mature couple from U.K.

Central location

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Shower
Location: Central. You have to park in a public car park but it wasn't expensive.
Nothing to complain about really. Didn't really like having shower room separate from loo and shower wasn't particularly great. Small room, small price. Good central location.