Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The professional & friendly staff
Cons: Access to the hotel! Its difficult to find the first time!
Location: Location is remote and - not much to do nearby - nearest town is a good drive.
Nice facilities, relaxing atmosphere, friendly & professional staff, good breakfast,...difficult to find faults!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Bounced out of hotel with only 3 days notice!

Posted May 24, 2016
My wife and I booked this hotel earlier this year and were in the process of packing our bags in readiness for the vacation when we received notification from the hotel that they were moving us to another hotel in another part of Puglia without any prior notice or choice. Their reasons? A large event was due to occur at the hotel that coincided with our intended stay, therefore no rooms would available that we had booked many weeks in advance. Very little notice; no choice in where we ended up; only compensation was a bowl of fruit and a bottle of Prosecco on our arrival. This sort of customer care & attention is what I would expect from a dodgy 1 or 2 star hotel who wouldn't think twice about inconveniencing their clients for a few extra Euros!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Tranquillity and comfort among the olive groves

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff, the rural location and good local food. Clean and smartly decorated. Comfortable rooms.Plenty of outside space and gated parking.
Cons: The management had recently improved its hotel/guest relationship. The hotel was very quiet midweek and will benefit from more guests discovering it.
Location: In the hills behind Polignaro e Mare; easily accessible from Bari airport. Lovely view to the sea. Well placed for many historic Puglian towns.
We were looking for a mix of sightseeing and relaxing. We wanted a hotel with comfortable rooms, a pool, a restaurant, no loud music. We read the reviews of the hotel and were concerned about some unhappy ones. However we thought it offered what we were looking for. We spent our mornings visiting Alberobello, Matera, Locorotondo,Polignare e Mare, Ostuni, Lecce and Martina Franke. Towns with interesting sights and excellent coffee shops.All easily reached from Borgiobianco with a hire car. The weather was good so we spent the afternoons by the pool (itself closed as it is unheated). When the sun went in we retreated to the Spa where the indoor heated pool was almost too hot to swim in but was an good jacuzzi. Reception were very welcoming and helpful from the moment we arrived to our departure. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful without exception. The lounge bar has a television. The bar was open all day for coffee and drinks. They served the most scrumptious canapes with pre-dinner drinks and homemade biscuits with after dinner coffee. The restaurant served a good buffet breakfast. Dinner was a la carte, four courses each with three choices. The menu of local produce changed every two days when we were there (early May) which limited our choices. We had excellent food, beautifully presented. About 60-70 Euros for 4 courses. Very good Puglian wine was about 20 Euros a bottle. We had a very enjoyable week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Very friendly staff that tried their hardest to assist us and make us feel comfortable. Nice and relaxing location if you want to get away for a couple of days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a 5 star hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
we decided to end our stay after 2 weeks of travelling around Puglia in this 5 star hotel. unfortunately it didn't live up to our expectations. this is more a 4 star hotel. the resort itself is very nice and private but it is not up to 5 star standards. I checked in to this hotel on my birthday, to my disappointment no one acknowledged that it was my birthday. I've stayed in Dubai and Bali and the hotel go our of their way to make you feel special. the breakfast was fine nothing special, service quiet slow. it is a 10 minutes drive to the centre on a bumpy road.
1 out of 5
by Steve from Canada

This hotel is a bad hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Leaving
Cons: New management
Location: The local town is BARI - It is not a tourist friendly town. we talked to a number of tourists while in restaurants and they had the same response.
1. - it is not on the water as suggested 2. -We paid extra for a sea view room - the sea was 5 mile away 3. -Dinner the firs night fish was not cooked - they didn't care - not taken off bill. 4. - we were ther 5 nights - the closed the restarant for 4 of the 5 nights for a large group. No bar food, no room service. except for breakfast - go out and eat. 5. - The big group partied in the courtyard until late in the evening. We asked to have the noise lowered but no use. We even caled Expedia and asked them to call the hotel & complain. The person from Expedia could hear the noise in the back ground and called the hotel. He said they would not do anything. 6 - We went to the bar and asked if they ahd any bar food such as nuts etc. - No all you can do is drink. There was a table set up, looked like dining for two. We asked what that was for and they said "Some special guests" - We sais "Arn't we special" and the waiter went off, came back & said they would provide us meals the same as the large group.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spa resort only

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Excellent if all you want is a quiet spa experience. There is not much else to do there and you definitely need a car as its a good 15 minutes from polignano a mare. Staff excellent....rooms need upgrading, maintenence. Free Breakfast great.
4 out of 5
by Alastair K from London

Nice but not amazing

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels
Location is very rural, with lovely views, but its a drive to civilisation. Pool was lovely, but food from the pool bar was a bit disappointing. Room was clean and fully functioning, with a simple unfussy design
3 out of 5
by Bernard from Marlow, Buckinghamshire SL7, UK

Great Hotel for families

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Accomodation
Cons: Location
Location: Isolated and difficult to visit the beach
Difficult to communicate with staff in general. Bad Location - having to use taxi everyday
5 out of 5
by Anne and John

Close to Alborobello (Trulli), Oustini etc.

Posted Jun 15, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at the Borgobianco for three nights. It was our first stop on our tour of Puglia. Although it was a bit difficult to find it was worth the inconvenience. It is a very lovely spa hotel within easy reach of Alborobello and some of the interesting sites of Puglia. A very tranquil setting and the cleanliness of the hotel was exemplary. Quality of service was excellent. Hotel location was up an unmade road but the sight of the hotel at the end was very impressive. The staff were very helpful and their English was extremely good. Breakfast was absolutely lovely with fruit, hams, etc and the pastries were delicious.