Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxford, uk

Water, water everywhere...

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The pool is huge and you can always get sunbeds in the pool area. Its much quieter than the beach
Cons: The beach would benefit from being cleaned
Location: We went to pollensa old town and to the port for dinner. Both were good and better value than the hotel
The hotel is situated in stunning surroundings: a beautiful coastline and gardens . The beach is quite narrow and very busy. The sunbeds with tahitian style parasols were very expensive at 120 euros per day. There is a good choice of restaurants for lunch (all owned by the hotel) but only 2 options for dinner: a buffet or the more formal El Pi. Breakfast is a huge buffet with lots of choice. Our main gripe was the water. We were told by reception it was safe to drink the tap water but when we asked for it in the restaurants in the hotel we were refused. We had to buy 1/2 litre bottles at 4 euros each, which for a family of 4 mounts up. They said they couldn't sell 1 litre bottles even though these were on the buffet bar at breakfast. In our rooms we were given one 1/2 litre bottle per night for 2 people. Not conducive to trying to keep hydrated....
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Director General, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in Formentor, a Royal Hideaway hotel. We always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We truly regret your disappointment for the charge to use the Balinese beds on the beach. However, the price for it is 60€ per day not 120€ as you mention above. Moreover, we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds and gardens. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you soon. Kind regards, Juan Carlos ReinaDirector/General Manager Formentor, A Royal Hideaway Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset England

Great hotel with fantastic location.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Great service and location
Cons: Every room should have a walk in shower.
Great company and service.The only fault we had their is no walk in shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester UK.

Location, Location, Location!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Its location and the stunning grounds, beautiful flowers everywhere! Service also second to none.
Cons: Bathroom a little tired, but spotlessly clean. Maybe rooms need updating/ a freshen up for a five star hotel. Food was a little on the expensive side.
Location: Royal Hideaway, certainly lived up to its name. Stunning views and small beautiful beach. Road to hotel not for fainthearted. Porto Pollensa nearby.
Wonderful week's stay here. Weather perfect, hotel fabulous. Location was exactly what we had hoped for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Location Superb unbeatable

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The exclusive location and beautiful gardens
Cons: Room size and food preparation .Our room appeared to be for a single occupier, with a large double bed.The buffet dinner meal which was poorly prepare
Location: Location is unique and truly wonderful.There is not a lot to do nearby out with the hotel's facilties and seaside location, because of the remoteness
I'm certain that as long as I live I will not visit another hotel anywhere in the world with such a wonderful and exclusive location. The surrounding mountains, the beaches and seaside are absolutely superb.Add to this the vast mature gardens which have been beautifully planted and planned makes this a truly wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Formentor, A Royal Hideaway Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at Formentor, A Royal Hideaway. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. We are delighted to read that you really enjoyed the beach and our unbeatable location. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to welcome you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, Juan Carlos Reina Director/General Manager Formentor, A Royal Hideaway Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful, classic hotel, amazing beach and park

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Amazing hotel, grand and with style, not in a flashy way, but tasteful and subtle. Spacious, also beautifully kept park with pool that offers great view onto bay. Beach just 2 mins walk away through park, could be right from the Caribbean, lined by pine trees. Rental car needed, as hotel relatively secluded. Staff/ how hotel is run were weak point from our perspective. We booked sea view, upon arrival late in evening we were given park view room, which luckily - as it was dark already - we realised so could ask for this to be changed. Once when ordering a burger for room service well done with no bun, the most disappointing little burger medium rare arrived, accompanied by just a few fries. We asked for this to be changed, only to be presented with the exactly same made burger again little later... When I tried to buy coffee or ice cream at the beach bar, waiters kept me waiting for up to 10 minutes and each time did their best to ignore me (albeit not successfully :)). We also repeatedly asked for a brochure with available spa treatments and were promised it each time by the lady at reception, but never received this. 50 Euros for the evenings' buffet dinner also was on expensive side, food was very nice but not amazing, did not offer much variety. We overall very much did enjoy our stay in this calm, special place, despite the above! We hope the hotel finds a way to improve this, so that the character of how hotel is run is in line with its beautiful exterior.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Formentor, a Royal Hideaway, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you give us that chance. Best regards, Juan Carlos Reina Director/General Manager Formentor, A Royal Hideaway Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relax in luxury in a beautiful location

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel in a beautiful location on Formentor Bay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful grounds and location needs an update

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The grounds , the pool , the location , the elegance.
Cons: The bathrooms are in dire need of improvement,as are the hallways and some rooms.
Location: Exceptional , beautiful and peaceful location. Sailing,snorkelling , swimming ,tennis and kayaking.
The Barcelona Formentor is set in exceptional grounds in a beautiful location near the beach. The hotel is elegant and charming has five stars but it really needs to be modernised. The bathrooms are small with basic facilities and we had a rotten door and the bathroom smelt somewhat. The carpet on the stairs is threadbare in several places. The hotel does have a sophisticated atmosphere and there are regular classical concerts at dusk. It is ,however, very expensive , the food in the buffet is mediocre and the cost of €60 for a sun lounger for two per day on the beach is exorbitant. The hotel really should pick up this fee. The clientele is mainly elderly , so not really suitable for honeymoon couples nor young families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning location with old fashioned values

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Cons: Needs a more spacious and better equipped fitness centre.
I cannot imagine a better luxury holiday hotel. Wonderful staff delivering old fashioned service in the best sense. Good food and wine list. Let down by a poor fitness room but I will return.