Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cuero, Texas


Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Uniqueness and staff.
Location: Beautiful location and close to several local attractions.
Motel is convenient to access. Close parking. Staff was a pleasure and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Made reservation, no room available, no notice.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
We reserved and paid for a room via expidea over 90 days in advance. We arrived as scheduled to find out an event was booked at the hotel for that night and we were bumped from our room. I find that reasonable. Go after the big fish, I get it. What I don't find reasonable was that we were not informed of this until we arrived at check in, less than an hour til sunset. I checked my email just 4 hours prior to arrival. The manager was very nice and respectful. He arranged a "comparable" hotel for us less than 10 miles away. We were ok with this. When we arrived at the "comparable" hotel, we found out that the price was almost double what our original room was. We refused it and the woman at the second hotel called a third hotel and verified price. At this point it was dark. Navigating a foreign city such as Dangriga in the dark is not fun. We got settled into a room, and all was well, but we stayed in the city, which is not what we wanted. If we had at least 6-12 hour prior notice none of this would bothered me at all. The Macaroni hotel looked pretty nice, and the staff was pleasant, and I'm sure our stay would have been great, but they dropped the ball big time.
4 out of 5
by Kate from Oakland, CA

100% Belizean owned and run - a wonder fulplace!

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
If you are looking to get away from the resorts and want a truly wonderful, 100% Belizean stay, the Macaroni Hill View Hotel is for you. The hotel itself is the home that RJ and his family loved in growing up - but it has been expanded to include more rooms and an incredible, two story rooftop area for the bar and restaurant. While I was there, it was raining pretty much the entire time, but it was nice sitting up on the roof, taking in the amazing views and watching all the birds and wildlife. Since the family is local, they know a ton of history and facts about the area and Belize in general and can hook up some great tours. I went zip lining in Bocawina (in the pouring rain!) when I was there and it was AWESOME. Again, this is not the right hotel for someone looking for the luxury resort side of Belize, but if you want a real local taste and some awesome natural beauty around you, you shouldn't think twice. My stay at Macaroni Hill View Hotel was sandwiched between staying at two 4 and 5 star resorts and it was absolutely the highlight of my trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hobbs nm.

We did not stay. It was uninhabitable. in shambles

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: every last thing.
Location: far away from any civilization,
It was nothing like the pictures we looked like. I can't believe you people don't send someone out to check on these places before you try to send someone to stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated, dirty, run-down

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: The Blue Hole (not the atoll), 5 Blues Lake (dry at present), Caves Branch and Barton Creek tubing and caving.
We arrived late, in part because of a lack of street signage in Belize,but the staff welcomed us eagerly, and we were shown to our room upstairs. As we proceeded upstairs, it was obvious that the hotel was in a state of severe disrepair, with peeling paint everywhere, broken fixtures, and broken furniture strewn about. The overall structure appeared shabby and was unkempt. When we entered our dimly lit and musky room, my wife pointed out the mold and mildew covering the cloth lampshades on the fixtures with out light bulbs. The springs in the mattress were like little spears in our backs. There were dead bugs all over the tiled floors, mold and mildew in the shower, no on-site food or drink, no breakfast food in the morning, no amenities... If I had not lost my phone, I would have posted pics of some of this. There is a big difference between nasty-dirty and just run-down. Cleanliness doesn't cost anything, other than a little effort. A bulldozer might be the best option here. This hotel reminds me of the seedy, low rent,cheesy inner-city motels you would see in the movies in the 50's and 60's. For sure, our worst travel experience yet.
3 out of 5
by fbob and coll from Alberta

Bouncing through Belize

Posted Mar 20, 2014
A fun hotel a little primitive but nice people. The rooftop decks offer a great view and are probably a great party on the weekend
1 out of 5
by Otto from Guatemala

A Major Fraud!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The Hotel Staff was the only one trying to make it pleasent!
Cons: See experience!
Rooms are old and seems like an abondoned building (pictures on website are from the opening day!). You will find spiders web on your rooms. No toiletries at all, Wifi Works only on first floor, refrigerator almost falling apart with TV set over it (unable to view a program clearly). Food was bad (reheated meal), no sodas. Bed was uncomfortable, you where able to feel the springs! Definitely not worth what I pay for!
2 out of 5
by Troy from dangriga


Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels
Room was ghetto, ac worked but dripped water all night. Room shown on sight was not what I got.
4 out of 5
by Suzi from Los Angeles, CA

Attentive Bed & Breakfast Atmosphere

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Hotel is a converted house where the friendly articulate family cooks and provide the services. Bare bones by US standards, but represents Belize.
Cons: Cleaner bathrooms.
Location: Hopkins, zip line and Jaguar Reserve are within 30 minutes. Most everything else is a drive.
My family (husband, 2 adult daughters) and I spent 4 nights at family-owned Macaroni Hill, which has a spectacular view of the surrounding jungle but is a distance from any commercial area (which we realized later was a real plus). Hotel is very safe, the food is simple but tasty, and they will help plan your excursions. The sons can provide transportation and accompany you on the tours/outings (roads are horrendous in Belize --massive pot holes everywhere & the country's poverty can be intimidating). One night the other guests and my family joined a wedding reception held on the hotel veranda-- we danced away to the local music, immersing ourselves in the local culture/people. Unbelievable fun you would only find in a small lodging where all guests mingle & feel comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels