Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is located 3 hours from Belize city.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. They did not clean our room everyday,the mattresses were really dirty and their is a camera on the second floor in room 8 pointing right into the bathroom.. Please no one stay here it's horrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by davisfallsinn, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, we are a small family business and we appreciate your criticism we hope to please as we go along we try to improve our facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Short stay at this hotel. It is clean and staff were very friendly. Few amenities, and not much nearby. Great as an in between destinations stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by davisfallsinn, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review! Hope that you enjoyed your stay and to see you again.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Rodwell was a great host. He took me around town and made sure I was completely comfortable during my stay. I couldn't have asked for a better host.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cuero, Texas

Convenient

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Uniqueness and staff.
Location: Beautiful location and close to several local attractions.
Motel is convenient to access. Close parking. Staff was a pleasure and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by davisfallsinn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and hope you enjoyed your stay! Your opinion is very valuable to us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Made reservation, no room available, no notice.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
We reserved and paid for a room via expidea over 90 days in advance. We arrived as scheduled to find out an event was booked at the hotel for that night and we were bumped from our room. I find that reasonable. Go after the big fish, I get it. What I don't find reasonable was that we were not informed of this until we arrived at check in, less than an hour til sunset. I checked my email just 4 hours prior to arrival. The manager was very nice and respectful. He arranged a "comparable" hotel for us less than 10 miles away. We were ok with this. When we arrived at the "comparable" hotel, we found out that the price was almost double what our original room was. We refused it and the woman at the second hotel called a third hotel and verified price. At this point it was dark. Navigating a foreign city such as Dangriga in the dark is not fun. We got settled into a room, and all was well, but we stayed in the city, which is not what we wanted. If we had at least 6-12 hour prior notice none of this would bothered me at all. The Macaroni hotel looked pretty nice, and the staff was pleasant, and I'm sure our stay would have been great, but they dropped the ball big time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by davisfallsinn, Hotel Management
We are sorry for the inconvenience and we have fixed the issue and hoped that you would see that the name and business is under new management and completely different state that you've last seen it
4 out of 5
by Kate from Oakland, CA

100% Belizean owned and run - a wonder fulplace!

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
If you are looking to get away from the resorts and want a truly wonderful, 100% Belizean stay, the Macaroni Hill View Hotel is for you. The hotel itself is the home that RJ and his family loved in growing up - but it has been expanded to include more rooms and an incredible, two story rooftop area for the bar and restaurant. While I was there, it was raining pretty much the entire time, but it was nice sitting up on the roof, taking in the amazing views and watching all the birds and wildlife. Since the family is local, they know a ton of history and facts about the area and Belize in general and can hook up some great tours. I went zip lining in Bocawina (in the pouring rain!) when I was there and it was AWESOME. Again, this is not the right hotel for someone looking for the luxury resort side of Belize, but if you want a real local taste and some awesome natural beauty around you, you shouldn't think twice. My stay at Macaroni Hill View Hotel was sandwiched between staying at two 4 and 5 star resorts and it was absolutely the highlight of my trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hobbs New Mexico

Horror

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: nothing at all, It was horrible even the driveway was a wreck. ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Cons: Everything. It clearly looked like a 3rd world disaster. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We arrived at the facility, and were in total shock. The Hostel was in total ruin, looking nothing like the pictures on the internet. We went inside and found the lobby in no better shape, bedding Matterest piled up in rooms, filthy dirty. Was in shock.... did not stay. Don't understand why these agencies don't check out the places they are recommending.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by davisfallsinn, Hotel Management
I'm sorry for the inconvenience and hope that doesn't occurr again but this is an authentic and cozy inn and its is under new management and new name.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated, dirty, run-down

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: The Blue Hole (not the atoll), 5 Blues Lake (dry at present), Caves Branch and Barton Creek tubing and caving.
We arrived late, in part because of a lack of street signage in Belize,but the staff welcomed us eagerly, and we were shown to our room upstairs. As we proceeded upstairs, it was obvious that the hotel was in a state of severe disrepair, with peeling paint everywhere, broken fixtures, and broken furniture strewn about. The overall structure appeared shabby and was unkempt. When we entered our dimly lit and musky room, my wife pointed out the mold and mildew covering the cloth lampshades on the fixtures with out light bulbs. The springs in the mattress were like little spears in our backs. There were dead bugs all over the tiled floors, mold and mildew in the shower, no on-site food or drink, no breakfast food in the morning, no amenities... If I had not lost my phone, I would have posted pics of some of this. There is a big difference between nasty-dirty and just run-down. Cleanliness doesn't cost anything, other than a little effort. A bulldozer might be the best option here. This hotel reminds me of the seedy, low rent,cheesy inner-city motels you would see in the movies in the 50's and 60's. For sure, our worst travel experience yet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by davisfallsinn, Hotel Management
I'm sorry for the experience that you've had and I hope that you would give another opportunity for the hotel is under new management and completely changed name.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fbob and coll from Alberta

Bouncing through Belize

Posted Mar 20, 2014
A fun hotel a little primitive but nice people. The rooftop decks offer a great view and are probably a great party on the weekend
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by davisfallsinn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and hope you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again.
1 out of 5
by Otto from Guatemala

A Major Fraud!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The Hotel Staff was the only one trying to make it pleasent!
Cons: See experience!
Rooms are old and seems like an abondoned building (pictures on website are from the opening day!). You will find spiders web on your rooms. No toiletries at all, Wifi Works only on first floor, refrigerator almost falling apart with TV set over it (unable to view a program clearly). Food was bad (reheated meal), no sodas. Bed was uncomfortable, you where able to feel the springs! Definitely not worth what I pay for!