Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Made reservation, no room available, no notice.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
We reserved and paid for a room via expidea over 90 days in advance. We arrived as scheduled to find out an event was booked at the hotel for that night and we were bumped from our room. I find that reasonable. Go after the big fish, I get it. What I don't find reasonable was that we were not informed of this until we arrived at check in, less than an hour til sunset. I checked my email just 4 hours prior to arrival. The manager was very nice and respectful. He arranged a "comparable" hotel for us less than 10 miles away. We were ok with this. When we arrived at the "comparable" hotel, we found out that the price was almost double what our original room was. We refused it and the woman at the second hotel called a third hotel and verified price. At this point it was dark. Navigating a foreign city such as Dangriga in the dark is not fun. We got settled into a room, and all was well, but we stayed in the city, which is not what we wanted. If we had at least 6-12 hour prior notice none of this would bothered me at all. The Macaroni hotel looked pretty nice, and the staff was pleasant, and I'm sure our stay would have been great, but they dropped the ball big time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hobbs nm.

We did not stay. It was uninhabitable. in shambles

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: every last thing.
Location: far away from any civilization,
It was nothing like the pictures we looked like. I can't believe you people don't send someone out to check on these places before you try to send someone to stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated, dirty, run-down

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: The Blue Hole (not the atoll), 5 Blues Lake (dry at present), Caves Branch and Barton Creek tubing and caving.
We arrived late, in part because of a lack of street signage in Belize,but the staff welcomed us eagerly, and we were shown to our room upstairs. As we proceeded upstairs, it was obvious that the hotel was in a state of severe disrepair, with peeling paint everywhere, broken fixtures, and broken furniture strewn about. The overall structure appeared shabby and was unkempt. When we entered our dimly lit and musky room, my wife pointed out the mold and mildew covering the cloth lampshades on the fixtures with out light bulbs. The springs in the mattress were like little spears in our backs. There were dead bugs all over the tiled floors, mold and mildew in the shower, no on-site food or drink, no breakfast food in the morning, no amenities... If I had not lost my phone, I would have posted pics of some of this. There is a big difference between nasty-dirty and just run-down. Cleanliness doesn't cost anything, other than a little effort. A bulldozer might be the best option here. This hotel reminds me of the seedy, low rent,cheesy inner-city motels you would see in the movies in the 50's and 60's. For sure, our worst travel experience yet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fbob and coll from Alberta

Bouncing through Belize

Posted Mar 20, 2014
A fun hotel a little primitive but nice people. The rooftop decks offer a great view and are probably a great party on the weekend
1 out of 5
by Otto from Guatemala

A Major Fraud!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The Hotel Staff was the only one trying to make it pleasent!
Cons: See experience!
Rooms are old and seems like an abondoned building (pictures on website are from the opening day!). You will find spiders web on your rooms. No toiletries at all, Wifi Works only on first floor, refrigerator almost falling apart with TV set over it (unable to view a program clearly). Food was bad (reheated meal), no sodas. Bed was uncomfortable, you where able to feel the springs! Definitely not worth what I pay for!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Troy from dangriga

ghetto

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels
Room was ghetto, ac worked but dripped water all night. Room shown on sight was not what I got.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzi from Los Angeles, CA

Attentive Bed & Breakfast Atmosphere

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Hotel is a converted house where the friendly articulate family cooks and provide the services. Bare bones by US standards, but represents Belize.
Cons: Cleaner bathrooms.
Location: Hopkins, zip line and Jaguar Reserve are within 30 minutes. Most everything else is a drive.
My family (husband, 2 adult daughters) and I spent 4 nights at family-owned Macaroni Hill, which has a spectacular view of the surrounding jungle but is a distance from any commercial area (which we realized later was a real plus). Hotel is very safe, the food is simple but tasty, and they will help plan your excursions. The sons can provide transportation and accompany you on the tours/outings (roads are horrendous in Belize --massive pot holes everywhere & the country's poverty can be intimidating). One night the other guests and my family joined a wedding reception held on the hotel veranda-- we danced away to the local music, immersing ourselves in the local culture/people. Unbelievable fun you would only find in a small lodging where all guests mingle & feel comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by RRH from California

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels
Wasn't expecting 5 star but was horrified at what it was. Very expensive for a dump. Advertised fridge in room, there was but could not be used as no accessible outlets in room, would have had to stretch the cord around the corner through the door into the bathroom to use. Bathroom had rugs that appeared dirty and bathroom smelled of urine. Toilet rocked! Couldn't sleep in the queen bed with my husband because mattress was so poor the springs were sticking us. Room was very small with a queen bed and set of bunk beds crammed in. Very dreary. Even though we had made reservations on line and pre-paid they didn't seem to know we were coming. On check- out they tried to argue that we hadn't pre-paid. They finally found our reservation in their junk e-mail box. Pictures look much better than the reality. Someone else was checking out at same time and I noted that he paid half what we did which was about what it was worth.
2 out of 5
by Jan from los Angeles

Hotel located in the jungle region in Belize

Posted Nov 12, 2013
I was disappointed in my stay and the conditions of this hotel. If you get on their website it appears quite charming but I felt the room was unclean and conditions shabby.