Ratings based on 729 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Great views, close to beach, lots of facilities

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: location and facilities (potential)
Cons: Staaff of hotel could be more helpful. Restaurant staff is great. Clean the place up, and paint areas needed, repair doors, and upgrade the carpetin
Needed a place for one night near Ft Lauderdale airport. This place is in a great location right on the river, lots of facilities to have some fun. Bar on the water, outside dining, happy hour, band and restaurant. Staff was not helpful, no amenities available, no early check in. Facility definitely needs more care, cleaning and painting. Needs an upgrade, because location and potential could command higher room rates.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Adequate for price conscious people

Posted Feb 16, 2018
The location is good - on the Intercoastal with restaurants/bars on the property. The staff was pleasant. Check in was easy. It goes downhill from there. The hotel is quite dated and barebones. The lobby is not one that you would want to sit in. There is a pool in the middle of the bar area with 5 or 6 lounge chairs packed close together. Our room was large, but in major need of remodeling. The bed was comfortable, but the towels were old and scratchy. We were given two bath towels and two hand towels. Again - just adequate and no more. Even toilet paper was lousy. Breakfast was included, but was totally unappealing. It consisted of juice cups, prepackaged muffins and instant oatmeal. No fresh milk. I suggest that they raise the rate slightly and fix up the decor, buy fresh towels and expand breakfast. It would make a difference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Older hotel with great balcony views and marina

Posted Feb 9, 2018
At 2 1/2 stars, correctly rated Older hotel but great location. NOTE: MARINA/HOTEL CHARGES 20% GRATUITY AUTOMATICALLY. Also leaves the tip section open which is a well known trick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

hotel is on the intercoastal waterway and marina

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Pros: the hotel is clean and conveniently located
Location: Many activities to be had.
Our stay was in a newly decorated room with King size bed , kitchenette and balcony. We enjoyed dining downstairs outside next to the marina with beautiful yachts and boats. The pool was clean and warm. Location is near Lauderdale by the Sea, an upscale community. The hotel is near many shopping areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Goias, Brasil

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Eu gostei, funcionários bem agradáveis. O ambiente é muito bom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2018
This is my third time staying at this hotel, the hotel staff and restaurants on the grounds are excellent. I highly recommend The Sands.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great entertainment

Posted Feb 5, 2018
The Hazz band was the best. The rooms can use remodeling
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent but a bit tacky.

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Parking is very tight. Hotel is lively with a band playing at night and active restaurants. However, place is a bit run down and my encounters with the staff albeit brief, were neutral at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Chastity, Sands Harbor Team Member, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy you enjoyed our live music and the Patio Bar & Grill. Renovations are ongoing here at Sands and we take all customer suggestions into consideration when making decisions for large reno projects. The overflow parking lot parallel to the hotel has approximately 250 spaces and is available to all guests with reimbursements for any incurred costs if our lot adjacent to the hotel building is full. We apologize if this information was not appropriately relayed to you during your stay and that the customer service we provided was anything other than exceptional. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took out to let us know about your experience. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Chastity P, Sands Harbor Team Member
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice place

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Excellent service, nice place . Very Clean . We can’t set up the TV and then send the technician very fast . Good place to stay .
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Chastity, Sands Harbor Team Member, Hotel Management
Hi Mayding, Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We're happy that the cleanliness of our hotel and the responsiveness of our maintenance staff earned us a 5/5. We hope to see you again when you make another visit to the Pompano Beach area. Best, Chastity P, Sands Harbor Team Member
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Good for the price

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Above average in every way. The stay was worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Chastity, Sands Harbor Team Member, Hotel Management
Hi Kirth, Thank you for taking time to let us know how we did. We're so happy you were pleased with the value of Sands. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Chastity P, Sands Harbor Team Member