Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

Great hotel & staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
From the moment we arrived to the time we left, the staff could not have been anymore accommodating. Very friendly, cleaned room everyday, fed us on arrival despite being past their breakfast times. Gave us a lift to the ruins. Booked our transport up to Vesuvius. For my 50th birthday they presented me with champagne and fruit and even put me in a room with a view of Vesuvius! We will definitely recommend this hotel to people wishing to visit Pompeii.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Andrea Tranfo, Hotel Management
Dear Emma and David, thank you for having taken the time to review us. It's great to hear such positive feedback from our guests. I'm so pleased that you appreciated the attention we pay to our guests and the warm welcoming from the staff. We would love to have you stay again in the near future. Kind regards, Andrea Tranfo Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great clean hotel near city centre

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great hotel. Nice and clean. Front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The manager/hotel owner was very nice and accommodating. We spend one night there and it was lovely. A 10-15 minute walk to the city centre, it was covenintely located. Would stay there again and recommend others to stay there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Andrea Tranfo Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr J, thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion following your recent stay at Hotel Maiuri. It was a pleasure to welcoming you in our property. Iam so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and visit us again for another memorable stay. Best regards, Andrea Tranfo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 24, 2017
The front desk wasn't very helpful in ensuring we found the right places to go during our brief stay in Pompei. The hotel is bright and clean, located 5mins from the city centre (15 minute walk) and the front desk and hotel manager/owner were extremely nice. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by Andrea T, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive comments regarding our property. It was a pleasure to welcome you here at the Hotel Maiuri and we hope to see you soon in the near future. Greetings from the staff. Kind Regards, Andrea Tranfo Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Haiou

Nice stay at Pompeii

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, excellent staffs very helpful. Breakfast is ok. Will probably stay there again. Even it's not that close to the main entrance to the Pompeii archaeological, they gave us a free ride there and they also gave us a free ride to the train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017
Dear Ms Haiou, Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay. We hope to see you soon againg in the near future here at the Hotel Maiuri. Greetings from the staff, Andrea Tranfo/Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA USA

Great value

Posted May 26, 2017
The mostly English speaking staff was very professional and pleasant-eager and ready to help with any question I had. The place has recently been redone so everything is spotless. It was a short walk to downtown and maybe 20 minutes to the Pompeii excavations. Secure Free parking was included. It is a welcoming oasis in a neighborhood somewhat on the rough side. I would definatly stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by 2542664, Hotel Management
Dear Madame/ Sir, thank you for having taken the time to review us. We are very glad, that you appreciated our professional staff and our sense of hospitality. We wish our guests could find the utmost experience of their journey in Italy and could feel at home with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, Andrea Tranfo Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good location, friendly people

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The people.
Cons: We were there at the end of January. We could have used a little more heat.
Location: Within walking distance of the amphitheater in the ruins. We passed several cafes, bars, and restaurants to get there. Don't need more that.
The Hotel Maiuri in modern Pompei is within walking distance of the church square and one of the entrances to the ruins of ancient Pompeii. The hotel has its own restaurant directly across the street. We had dinner there several nights during the week we stayed in town and were never dissatisfied. The greatest thing about the hotel, though, is the people who work there--friendly, energetic, informative. When we asked for a taxi to some farther part of town, staff members drove us. They even took us to the rail station on the morning we left for Calabria. Our pidgin Italian and the staff's command of English made it easy to find our way around town, even to a laundromat. If we go back to Pompei, we will stay at the Maiuri again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by info@hotelmaiuri, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Harry and Mrs Joahnn , Thank you very much for your positive review,following your stay with us. I am very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the location and our restaurant. All the staff thank you for having appreciaded their attentions towards you and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Andrea Tranfo /Hotel Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything especially staff
Location: It's around 2 km far from the Ancient Pompeii.
The hotel has 4 stars but I don't know where they got those stars from. As an experienced traveler I can definitely say this hotel is in 2 star category and it doesn't deserve even 3 stars. After checking-in I realized the toilet in my room was dirty and I directly went to the reception but the receptionist couldn't speak English well but as far as he understood me he said he can't do anything about to resolve the problem. Breakfast was poor and the toaster was unclean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close enough to every thing and nice and quiet

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice experience, staff were terrific, my adapter for charging phone laptop etc didn't work right, but the staff a front desk lent me one free of charge for my stay. The shower was tiny, but having said that at least it worked well and the plumbing was good, which couldn't be said of everywhere we stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel, walking distance to the ruins

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Clean, great staff, walking distance to anything you need.
Location: Great restaurant across the street, walking distance to the train station and to the ruins of Pompeii.
We loved our stay at Hotel Maiuri. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the breakfast was amazing (coffee, eggs made fresh, croissants and pasteries, fresh fruit, etc), and our balcony had a beautiful view. It was walking distance to the ruins of Pompeii and to the train station, both roughly 15 minutes. Very clean. There is also a great restaurant right across the street, super affordable but AMAZING food and wine. The only downside I can say was that the WiFi was super slow, which was annoying as I didn't have a data plan so was relying strictly on WiFi, but really not the end of the world -- good to have the excuse to disconnect from reality for a night :)
5 out of 5
by Graziano from Canada

Great!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
I had personal problems but the manager and staff accommodated me and made my stay very memorable.