Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by GEETA from mumbai

Nice hospitality

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was Nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

10 days in Ananda Inn

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Pool was delightful and clean.
Cons: Need to provide some clean, "hangout" areas that were not in the corridoors- even around the pool there were only maybe 6 lounge chairs and nothing el
Location: You needed to walk through tamil area to get to ashram or foreshore- which often smelt of urine- french area quieter and less smelly. Shopping good-
The rooms were noisy- facing the road- the bathroom smelt of urine and the shower curtain was moldy- room one- asked to be moved- now next to the service lift and all night heard the lift and staff and furniture scraping- asked to be moved again- now facing quieter road. No fresh air- furniture and beds scraped across floors above us during the night, Indian guests yelling loudly in corridors and bathroom still smelling of urine. Bed sheets clean but with holes in them. Breakfast in dining room with oil stained tableware and knives and forks not replaced between customers. Kitchen staff would come out with FILTHY uniforms - stained and dirty. The front foyer has old dirty heavy furniture- all the soft furnishings need steam cleaning- chairs in rooms smelt of urine.This hotel bearable only for 1 or 2 nights- not for a long stay- not worth the money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The pits of the world

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
From the moment we walked into the hotel we were uncomfortable. Shown to our room which was dirty and the bathroom disgusting and the safe not working. Called house keeping to be told no other room available and oh yes the safe doesn't work!!!! Asked for a change in room that we would pay for an upgrade to be given a very curt NOTHING AVAILABLE. Asked repeatedly and eventually we were given another room still same dirty conditions but the safe worked! On going to bed found that the bedlinen had not been changed - bodily fluids. Slept in one bed. Next morning told them we wanted an upgrade room to be told yet again nothing available. Went for breakfast in the filthiest room we have ever seen table cloths staff uniforms disgust. Staff had no training whatsoever. Had to ask for hot toast and tea which took forever. We found another hotel to stay in The Promenade which was far superior. On checking out of the Anandha suddenly an upgraded room became available. Too late !!!!! Maybe we were unlucky but I think not as the whole place should be totally refurbished and better staff employed. Think Expedia should make regular and unannounced visits to this property
4 out of 5
by Steve from Los Angeles

Très bon rapport qualité prix

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Hôtel sympa
4 out of 5
by Steve from Los Angeles

Très bon rapport qualité prix

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Bien sans trop de chichis
4 out of 5
by Ebrahim

If you need a place near the Promenade this is it.

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place and affordable and near the important places.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire, England

Excellent

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The fact that it was very hard to fault
Cons: In our room the A/C seemed a bit underpowered for the excellent size of the room. Also the hot water was too hot!
Location: Right on the edge of old Pondicherry which is a delight.
An excellent hotel at an excellent price. We were totally surprised and delighted. Would definitely return there when we return to Pondicherry.
4 out of 5
by Einar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow UK

nice hotel, 15 minutes wal from the promenade

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: big spacious rooms. good food for vegetarians. my wife had an excellent massage in the spa.
Cons: Meat eaters might be disappointed.
Location: Although situated in a busy shopping street, the hotel is set back from the road and our room on the side of the hotel was very quiet.
very spacious but slightly dated room had good A/C and good plumbing with excellent showers. Pool area clean and attractive and good food. The weekend buffet was a highlight.... a vegetarian's paradise. The breakfast buffet, included in the room rate, was closer to a S Indian lunch buffet in other establishments. Restaurants open until 11.30 pm. Overall, a very enjoyable stay and reasonable value.