Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Charming hotel in great location, but shabby

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, location, helpful staff.
Cons: Refurb and redecoration
Location: Very near shopping street, main temple, museum, and park.
Hotel du Parc is located on the junction of the French and Tamil quarters. Very lively and convenient for shopping and for main tourist sites. Inside the walls the hotel is calm and restful.unfortunately, the fabric and fittings are shabby, and really need an upgrade, although everything is clean and works properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: This is an atmospheric hotel with a lovely central courtyard and friendly, accommodating staff.
Cons: The hotel is perhaps, just a little past its prime.
We enjoyed our stay here. We were comfortable and appreciated the hotel's proximity to the Ganesh temple and the market but felt that it was a little overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Heritage with a heart

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The service, the food in the restaurant, sparkly lights at night, proximity to the temple, shops and seafront, heritage feel
Cons: We had a tiny wardrobe
Location: Shop like mad. La Maison Rose is our favourite. Pick up a designer dress then sip champagne under the trees. or visit fabulous Pondicherry market
The hotel has an excellent location, positioned partly in the French quarter and just a stride away from the Indian part of Pondy, so you really feel immersed in the life of the city. It's a comfortable place to stay with a good restaurant but it is the service which sets this apart from all the other hotels. They simply couldn't do enough to make us feel warm and welcome - oh and it was my birthday and they bought me a bouquet of flowers. Nobody's made such a fuss of me for years. I departed leaving a top I'd bought from Auroville so they couriered it over to the hotel where I was staying a few days later. I am full of praise for the subtle charms of Hotel Du Parc. it isn't as 'boutique' as some of the more westernised hotels here but it's lovely, charming and you can cross the road and be blessed by an elephant at the Ganesha temple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel...but

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: Get rid of the ancient wood in the bathroom
This is a really cute hotel in a great location. It is old and I had a cold so there was some discomfort. The bathroom was dank and smelled a little moldy. The restaurant was fine and the entire staff nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A sweet little hotel located centrally

Posted Sep 16, 2015
If you are looking for a less crowded, quaint little heritage hotel which is located close to almost all places of interest du Parc is the one. The complimentary breakfast is good enough; not lavish. And the dishes they serve from their restaurant are top notch. They also get you a reservation if you want to try out another place to dine. Hotel salguru right across the road serves good south Indian food. Please do try their ghee idli.Du Parc staff were extremely cordial and helpful and would go out of the way to provide any assistance they can. Vehicle rental is available close by. There's a flea market just outside the hotel gate!!Go for this place if you want a calm, interrupted which is still not-so-expensive. Yeah sure it does lack a swimming pool but you can take a dip close by if you are willing to pay-the front desk will guide you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Charming hotel, extremely well localed (walking distance to the sea, a Park and many restaurants and café). Very nice rooms and great terrrace. The only négative point si the breakfast which is more than basic but They are many great places near the hotel where you can Have a brunch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake District UK

Good location

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Not many options in Pondicherry near the sea. Don't expect luxury but there is character and it's not so expensive. And it's opposite Dr Smilez if you have toothache (I did)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Very nice heritage hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Hotel du Parc has a lot going for it. Location, facilities, room decor and comfort, the building itself are all excellent. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. The only thing that knocks it down a point for me is something which other reviews have mentioned. The complementary breakfast is meagre, to put it politely, even taking into account it being included in the room price. The management needs to step it up in this regards, or simply don't offer it. It's simple expectation management. Fortunately there are plenty of good options for breakfast (or any meal) in Pondy, so a quick walk in any direction will get you set up for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London U.K.

Heritage hotel - central but quiet location

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The restaurant is conveniently located on the first floor giving lovely evening views of the courtyard lighting display. Great choice of music !
Location: Hotel du Parc is next to Sri Manakula Vinayagar (Ganesh) temple where if you are lucky Lakshmi may bless you with her trunk :).
This lovely hotel is near the end of Nehru Street, close to all sights and just a ten minute walk from the sea front. The rooms are clean and characterful yet with modern amenities. The staff go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Gerard is at hand at reception to organize taxis, change money, and advise on tourism. Rajesh does a sterling job running the restaurant (he will get fresh local fish in for you) - going the extra mile to cater for your dietary needs. The Hotel du Parc will take you back to French days and is quite different from the modern alternatives outside central Pondy. If I had the choice again I would rebook with these guys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Antara

Heart of the city and close to the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: The location and general ambience
Cons: Food and valet for parking since there is no parking in the hotel
Location: Sunrise at the beach, which is a 5 minute walk away, and walks in the vicinity
Pleasing hotel, helpful staff, close to the beach and in a quiet part of town inspite of heavy traffic and bad roads within minutes :)