Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell River B.C.

Nice hotel, quiet location.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Nice hotel, clean and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is simple but has a number of options. My only complaint was the fact that the coffee available in the room was one caffeinated Keurig cup, one decaf and two tea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Nadine Foulkes, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to give me your feedback on your stay. I appreciate you letting me know about the Keurig cups and I will have to maybe make a few changes, maybe one less tea would be better. We do also have more choices in the lobby available with various tea choices as well as hot chocolate for the kids. Thank you again for choosing the Canalta Hotel in Ponoka and hope to have you stay again soon and thank you again for your lovely response.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, ON

Excellent Choice

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The staff were very friendly, the hotel clean, and our room looked like it had been updated recently. They had an excellent breakfast complete with waffle maker and some hot choices each day... bacon or sausage, eggs, or French toast, etc. The hot foods offered changed each day. We stayed four nights and would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Nadine Foulkes, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Nadine Foulkes General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel. Went out of their way to get us early check in. Allowed us to come back after check out to each or lunch there. There is an attached A & W which is very handy to have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Nadine Foulkes General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and convenient!

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the ground floor parking with outside access is very convenient for loading/ unloading your vehicle. While the room wasn't huge, cleanliness is my biggest expectation, which this room was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Nadine Foulkes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stony plain

Awesome little hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, we were there with a hockey team the staff was awesome. Rooms are very clean with great beds, highly recommend this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Nadine Foulkes, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay while spending time in Ponoka.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Busy place but ran well and the king size bed was VERY comfortable 😊
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Nadine Foulkes, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Nadine Foulkes
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adaptable staff and not overpriced!

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
We were here with a rowdy wedding and instead of giving us heck for being loud, they offered us the banquet room to hang out in after the rehearsal- it was so nice for family and friends to pop in and visit without being squished into our rooms. We could also supervise the kids in the pool as well. The staff were good, breakfast had lots of variety, pool kept kids busy, rooms were clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Nadine Foulkes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEST PLACE TO STAY IN PONAKA

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: Easy acess from highway.
Good clean rooms nice and quiet. Hot tub and pool were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Nadine Foulkes, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing at the Canalta Ponoka. We appreciate the wonderful feedback and hope to have you stay again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Very comfortable. Staff attentive and efficient. Will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Nadine Foulkes, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Canalta Hotel in Ponoka, it is great to hear the positive feedback and to please our guests each day! We hope to have you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel with great hot breakfast

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
After a rough start due to the reservation being wrong, the upgraded room was good. Outside door lock was never repaired during the stay even though they were notified immediately; didn't compromise security though, just convenience. The free hot breakfast was wonderful with a good selection of foods and drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Nadine Foulkes