Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Vic, Au

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Wonderful building. I am still amazed that the seaircases show no sign of wear after so many hundreds of years. The dining room is beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Really awesome building, terrible on hot nights.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Maybe I wasn't well informed or maybe I'm just too used to the comforts in the USA, but on hot nights 32*C the room was unbearable. They do not ventilate the corridor so by the time you reach your room you are already sweaty. No screens in windows so the only way I managed was to never turn on a light and close the windows if I was going out at dusk. Finally asked for a fan and the weather turned cooler, so that helped but still the mosquitoes. I tend to get bitten by mosquitoes a lot even when others don't but when you wake up sweaty to one buzzing in your ear it's a bit rough. I looked at the windows and it looks like it would be difficult to add screens. Other than that it is nice. Breakfast was pleasant, very simple and the building is amazing. after a few nights I realized I was taking the beauty for granted. Spectacular courtyard, amazing abbey. Very cool. The shower worked very well once I learned how to use it. The secret is rotate down for tub and push the slider on the knob and turn up for shower. Same goes for adding hot water. House keeping did a very thorough job cleaning, the staff was very friendly when I had to lengthen my reservation several times. All in all I'd come back but I'd be prepared to deal with the mosquitos.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was not an abbey experience.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
If you want to stay at an abbey, choose a real one. This is just a privately owned poorly renovated old church with a rude check-in clerk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great hotel in a historic setting

Posted Oct 6, 2014
The room was fine, the Abbey lovely, breakfast was quite good except there was a tour group that descended on the buffet like vultures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lavenham england

Beautiful hotel which is actually within the abbey

Posted Aug 17, 2014
We booked for an overnight stopover, but wished we had longer there. The abbey is lovely and the town looked interesting. The hotel doesn't have a bar but breakfast in the original monk's refectory was a great experience. Good value and much better than Ibis or other chain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Sam from Coachella

Dead history given new life

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Ambience.
Cons: No knives, really?! The American "bias" is alive and well here.
Location: Super-marche and village life within walking distance. Ride alongside the river without guilt because your staying in a living museum.
What a magnificent "ambience": formal gardens in an centuries-old building alongside a wonderful river in a small but vibrant village. If this place hadn't been bombed in 1944 none of this would be possible. Take advantage of it if you can.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mystique from London, UK

Ambiance

Posted Apr 2, 2013
The hotel is located in the city center with plenty of parking facilities.We expected the rooms to be a bit more nicer though considering the price we paid. The wallpaper was peeling of from a few places and the walls a bit dirty. The upholsery looked a bit weary as well. The room service took a long time to arrive. the geral ambiance of the place is nice though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from UK

Unusual Setting

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: Unusual surroundings. beautiful building, large room
Cons: Staff were not very helpful. Only 1 pillow per person
Location: On the river 5 mins from town
Very large room with dual aspect windows. Spare pillows not in room and only 1 per person. Staff gave very limited information and we only discovered the secure car park when we walked around the grounds. Well situated though with 5 min walk into town, Ok for overnight stay but would not like to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Feb 29, 2012
Pros: Staying in an historic place
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Fabulous location on the Moselle river.
Clean, quiet, large room. The breakfast was a little disappointing but know that's just the standard in France. Would stay again. Abbey is just beautiful and serene.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richard from Southampton, UK

Impressive building!

Posted Feb 28, 2011
The family rebelled at the prospect of another night in a French budget hotel chain on the return leg of our skiing trip to Switzerland. This hotel looked much more interesting and was well reviewed and conveniently situated to break our journey, so we thought we would try it out. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, though some wear and tear evident. Breakfast was not included in the price but was very good. It was served in a huge impressive hall in the old Abbey and more than satisfied 2 hungry teenagers and their parents! Not very much hot water by 10 pm though and we failed to find anywhere reasonable to eat in the evening locally.