Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Europe

Peacefully situated hotel in unique setting

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Peaceful setting
Cons: Difficult to alter the style of property
Location: A short drive into the town of Pont Audemere, full of interest.
Stayed for a Sunday night bed and breakfast, and did not take advantage of the Spa facility on site. On arrival we were loudly instructed that we had wrongly parked the car in the staff area although that was not clearly marked. On looking at the menu prices for Dinner we decided to dine elsewhere.. Rooms very spacious en suite, although no elevator to upper floors due to age of the property. Some rooms in a separate annexe within the grounds..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cobham, UK

Belle Isle sur Risle Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: location, design, staff friendliness...
Cons: not sure
Location: not sure, was staying overnight only...landscape around hotel is beautifull, small river running through...
Nice small hotel, very friendly owner Lady and staff, excellent food. Would recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place and people, just a bit old

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay, and the people working at the hotel made us feel welcome and were incredibly helpful despite me no speaking a word of French. The place is beautiful, and there is plenty of room for parking and two lovely swimming pools. However, the hotel is a bit old and it doesn't have AC (despite it saying that on the listing) so it was a bit noisy sleeping with the windows open when cars started leaving in the morning. Also, the WiFi signal was erratic at best so I wouldn't choose it if we need internet to work remotely or something.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from preston, uk

Charming hotel in a nice location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff, spacious room, clean hotel and wonderful food.
Cons: Water pressure from shower.
Location: Nice location in a quiet area of Normandy. Easy access to some beautiful places, harbour town of Honfleur and the cliffs at Etretat well worth visting
Arrived with my wife for a 2 day short break. Warm greeting on arrival by Tim, who spoke excellent English and gave us an informed tour of the hotel. We stayed in a Romantic room, which was of a good size, comfortable bed and spacious shower. The quality of food in the restaurant was excellent, matched by the service. Breakfast was good, you pre-ordered the day before and it was served fresh and prompt. The grounds of the hotel are lovely. Our only complaint during our stay was the water pressure from the shower. However this in no way spoiled our stay. Nice indoor pool and outdoor pool was of good size, unfortunately the weather was such that we did not se it, Would stay again if ever in the area.
4 out of 5
by james

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert from Ottawa

Bucolic luxury by the river

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
The two of us and our 9 year old daughter had a great 4 day ay at this hotel. The setting next to the river with a lovely garden was very beautiful and calm. Not very close to tourist sites, but close enough for day trips (we went to Caen, Deauville, and Rouen). Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was delicious - though as I suppose befits a high quality resort it was not cheap, so we had 2 great dinners but skipped breakfast and ate out on day trips the other two nights. Pools indoor and out nice - our 9 year old particularly enjoyed the jets on the indoor pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful stay

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay in upgraded room with private terrace. Very welcoming staff. Nice indoor and outdoor pools and beautiful gardens.
5 out of 5
by Marsh

Fabulous hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
We couldn't have asked for a better hotel - 10 out of 10. A wonderful experience made great by the fabulous owner, her staff and attention to detail both in the hotel and for our needs. Will definitely be going back for a longer stay. the hotel and gardens are quite marvellous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Posted Sep 27, 2015
A disappointing overnight stay. An amazing setting but our room was tatty / quirky. It smelt damp and the bathroom was impractical. After using the shower the whole room was flooded. Food was okay but expensive and the service was lacking. We won't be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

So disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Some heating. Shower curtain to stop water splashing all over bathroom.
Location: The town of Pont-Audemer was a wonderful discovery!!
Wonderful staff trying really hard except for the lady at checkout who did not even ask how our stay was. So great staff but a sad sad hotel overdue for refurbishment (by a decade). Hotel vastly overpriced ......about 50% of what we paid would be OK. Cuisine is fairly good but dessert is clearly by a cook not a patissier. NOT a four star hotel........not even a pen and paper in the room to fill in the breakfast form (compulsory) to save cost. A bit like everything in this hotel. An injection of energy and investment in this place could make it so good......