Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Margaret

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service, breakfast and room. Great location to scout out the city. Will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sofia Noronha, Hotel Management
Dear Margaret, Thank you very much for your review! We're very glad you had a good time here at Hotel do Colégio. We're looking forward to have you again! Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Team
5 out of 5
by Diana

Great location and welcoming helpful staff

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean & comfortable with helpful staff and management. I stayed here after my husband was hospitalized in the middle of our transatlantic cruise. The breakfast was excellent with delicious local fare, and plenty of it, included in the price of the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sofia Noronha, Hotel Management
Dear Diana, We remember you and hope everything's better now regarding your husband's health. We also hope we get the chance to welcome you both again, to explore the beautiful Azorean landscapes! Best wishes, Hotel do Colégio Staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character building in Ponta Delgada

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Central location
The hotel was ideally situated for a short visit to Ponta Delgada.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Noronha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We hope you made some great memories here in Ponta Delgada. Best regards Hotel do Colégio Staff
5 out of 5
by Theo

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Sofia Noronha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope you had a great time here in the Azores.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Bring back the 80's!

Posted Jun 12, 2016
If you're looking for a 1980's Holiday Inn experience, this is your place. "Vintage" furniture complete with TV of the same era, mildewed shower curtains, and poor wifi reception in the room. Spacious rooms, convenient parking. and central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Noronha, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel do Colégio. We can see the Hotel didn't quite meet your expectations. We agree with you when you say we need some modernization. The Hotel is going to be closed for a couple of months so we can make some changes and provide a better experience to our guests, that conjugates modern comfort with the magic atmosphere of an historial building. We do hope you feel like we deserve a second chance to surprise you. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradenton, FL

Great older, in-town hotel - lots of character

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Comfort, staff, hospitality, friendliness of other travelers
Cons: not much - cosmetic renovations are coming
Location: Hotel is located a 3-minute walk from Ponta del Gado center - stores, restaurants, port, everything within walking distance.
My fourth stay at the Colegio; while staff has changed, quality has not. Hotel could stand some cosmetic renovations; they are scheduled for January 2017. In-hotel restaurant is one of if not the best restaurant on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Noronha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! It makes us very happy to know you keep coming back to Hotel do Colégio. We are, indeed, about to make some changes in order to improve the facilities. We hope you come back to see how it all turned out. Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff
3 out of 5
by Rachel from UK

Nice hotel but wifi very, very poor.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel for the price we paid, very centrally located. Breakfast nice even though very cramped in the breakfast room. Our only issue was the Wifi. Do not use this hotel if you want Wifi. It is completely unreliable and almost nonexistant. There is no excuse for a hotel not offering high speed wifi in this day and age.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sofia Noronha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about the wifi. There are some rooms, specially the ones on the third floor, with low coverage. We are going to do some work in the hotel very soon, not only to improve the facilities but also to modernize some of our equipments. We will have your opinion in mind, for sure. Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the city center and the port

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Location
The hotel and the room were kind of old. The equipment in the room was not working. There's no wifi in the room at all though when I booked , it stated there's wifi when I booked and it was an important reason for me to choose this hotel. You can only get signals in the lobby and the restaurants which means that if you need to do some work at night, you have to go down to the lobby. For the car park, you have to ask a staff to open the gate and the lift for you to park your car at their limited basement space.
5 out of 5
by Bjørn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Rumi from Portugal

Convenient location, do not expect too much

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
The old quarter was very beautiful but most of rooms are in new wings with no special atmosphere. Requested connecting rooms and they are fine, except our bathroom door was broken and fixed by packing tape.