Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Londom

Very nice hotel well located in Ponta Delgada

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I really enjoyed my staying at this hotel. All staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very clean and quiet. I recomend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caliifornia

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Wonderful staff. Great price for quality. Nice sheets and linens.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pro's and Con's of Hotel VIP Executive Azores

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
Overall this was a nice place to stay. I found the carpeting and the patio to be dated. The in-room lighting was a bit to dull. I found some of the other reviews to be a bit harsh on the bed situation as I found the beds to be very comfortable. The tub was a little tough to get into because it is too high off the floor and could be a bit challenging for elderly people to get into. I asked for an electrical adapter at the concierge and they said they only had one of the kind I needed and it was in use by another guest so I ended up having to buy one at a local store, however upon mentioning it again to another employee I found out they had what I needed all along and there was no need to go out and buy one. So, clearly some of the concierge employees are more knowledgeable than others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

It was a much nicer hotel than it first appeared

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: a shuttle service to the middle of town, it was just a wee bit too far.
Location: closeby there was a supermarket with everything including a good cup of coffee.
Although this is the biggest hotel in the Azores, once inside your room it was very comfortable with good air conditioning, nice sized bathroom. I really liked the light switch control in the middle of the bed headboard. Staff were very helpful and there were some very good facilities, some we didn't find out until the last day!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford UK

Hotel in Ponta Delgada

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The heated swimming pool
Cons: Carpets should be replaced
Location: Hotel was a bit further out from the center that I was expecting. Taxi to the center was Eur.5.00 bus .50 cents. Plenty of tours at reasonable price
Hotel was a bit further out from the center that I was expecting. Taxi to the center was Eur.5.00 bus .50 cents. Carpets in the hotel were showing their age. But room seemed clean,, sheets changed daily, reception always helpful. But I would go back for the large heated indoor swimming pool -body temperature and saunas adjoining..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portugal

Nice hotel, but 15/20 min walk to center

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Clean confortable room
Cons: Better water pressure in the shower
Location: A little further from the center than I'd like, but a couple of places to eat ans supermarket nearby.
Very clean, comfy room. Just fine for what we were looking for, but a bit further from the center than it seemed online. Also the "pool" is more like a big tub. Good stay overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

A place to sleep

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The staff are excellent. The main area of the hotel is ok however the rooms & hallways are in poor condition. The carpets and furniture are stained and in poor condition.
4 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Magda

Beautiful decor- snotty front desk clerk Angela

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
I had read great reviews concerning the VIP Excecutive Azores through other websites and I was looking forward to staying at a 4 star hotel. Unfortunately, my experience was disappointing from a customer service point of view- Angela, a hotel clerk was on duty at the front desk, assigned me a twin room when my reservation stated clearly the request for a double bed room. She changed it for me after I raised the issue after viewing the room. Althought she was courteous with me, her demeanor was very standoffish and spoke of a strong attitude- I saw her roll her eyes at another couple who was checking in with issues as well. Another elderly guest had issues with the key insert to auction electricity in her room and instead of assisting her, Angela mentioned that she was alone at the desk and rolled her eyes again. I was expecting as higher degree of professionalism and attentiveness to merit the classification of a 4 star hotel. I offered to help the guest as her husband needed access to electricity for a oxygen tank. The double room itself was clean and spacious, with a great balcony and appealing decor. Room service - especially the continental breakfast was delicious. Maid service was impeccable. It is a bit of a walk to downtown Ponta Delgada with about 15-20 minutes depending on your pace. Overall, the hotel decor was the only part I enjoyed during my stay, as both hotel pools were closed for renovations and Angela attitude left much to be desired in feeling welcome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels