Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character building in Ponta Delgada

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Central location
The hotel was ideally situated for a short visit to Ponta Delgada.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Noronha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We hope you made some great memories here in Ponta Delgada. Best regards Hotel do Colégio Staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Bring back the 80's!

Posted Jun 12, 2016
If you're looking for a 1980's Holiday Inn experience, this is your place. "Vintage" furniture complete with TV of the same era, mildewed shower curtains, and poor wifi reception in the room. Spacious rooms, convenient parking. and central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Noronha, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel do Colégio. We can see the Hotel didn't quite meet your expectations. We agree with you when you say we need some modernization. The Hotel is going to be closed for a couple of months so we can make some changes and provide a better experience to our guests, that conjugates modern comfort with the magic atmosphere of an historial building. We do hope you feel like we deserve a second chance to surprise you. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradenton, FL

Great older, in-town hotel - lots of character

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Comfort, staff, hospitality, friendliness of other travelers
Cons: not much - cosmetic renovations are coming
Location: Hotel is located a 3-minute walk from Ponta del Gado center - stores, restaurants, port, everything within walking distance.
My fourth stay at the Colegio; while staff has changed, quality has not. Hotel could stand some cosmetic renovations; they are scheduled for January 2017. In-hotel restaurant is one of if not the best restaurant on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Noronha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! It makes us very happy to know you keep coming back to Hotel do Colégio. We are, indeed, about to make some changes in order to improve the facilities. We hope you come back to see how it all turned out. Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the city center and the port

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Location
The hotel and the room were kind of old. The equipment in the room was not working. There's no wifi in the room at all though when I booked , it stated there's wifi when I booked and it was an important reason for me to choose this hotel. You can only get signals in the lobby and the restaurants which means that if you need to do some work at night, you have to go down to the lobby. For the car park, you have to ask a staff to open the gate and the lift for you to park your car at their limited basement space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Quiet hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: staff, location, low noise, breakfast.
Cons: Nothing in particular
Location: Easy access to the city of Ponta Delgada-museums, restuarants, etc.
Good location in Ponta Delgada. Former convent. Excellent breakfast. Low key but friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Great base in Ponta Delgada, Sao Migual, Azores

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Small and personal. Great location for central Ponta Delgada.
Cons: Everything was spot on for us.
Location: Sao Mg is a great place to visit. Spectacular sightseeing, walking and Whale Watching. Easy to explore with great road system. A MUST visit.
Arrived to the hotel 2hrs late at 12pm late due to flight. Were met by a friendly night receptionist, who welcomed us and gave us a quick run down on the facilities and the various timings. Throughout our weeks stay we had no issues only good helpful encounters with all the staff in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gwen from Toronto

Good location - walking distance to marina

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to downtown marina, big shopping mall, and most restaurants.
Cons: Shower heads need to be maintained as it sprays all over the place.
Location: Walking distance to the marina downtown with many shops, cafes, restaurants and a small supermarket.
We stayed here our first 2 nights in Ponta Delgada and we wish we had stayed longer! It's walking distance to everything, including the big shopping mall that's a little further north. Our tour guide recommended we try the restaurant that has a similar name closeby (27 Colegio) where they serve sushi by a sushi chef! Unfortunately we didn't get to try it. The room was clean however a little damp but I think that's because all of the island is pretty humid. There were some water stains on the carpet but nothing disgusting. Our shower was a little wonky where it would spray to the other edge of the tub and then drip onto the floor - that would probably be my only real complaint. A fridge was also available for use, which was nice for chilling our white wine! Wifi was only available at the lobby, not in the rooms, but that's not a big deal. Breakfast was good as they had hot and cold options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nani from Boston

Lovely hotel with free parking in city centre

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Room size and comfort, price, location, attractiveness, breakfast, free parking, staff attentiveness.
Cons: Water stains on carpet.
Location: Perfect location close to waterfront, restaurant, parks, shopping, museums.
We were delighted with the charm, personality, cleanliness, and staff attentiveness at the convenient to everything Hotel do Colegio. The entrance is so attractive, maintaining the character of the hotel's previous life as a school. Decor in the common areas is simple, charming, and comfortable. Our room was very clean with attractive matelasse coverlets on the beds, and an updated marble bathroom with excellent shower. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful and fresh, with many options. The free under- hotel parking was a huge plus in the middle of downtown Ponta Delgada. Cars must be taken down and up in an elevator to access the garage, requiring the assistance of a desk clerk, and all desk clerks were always gracious about providing this service quickly. There are some water stains on the otherwise clean carpets, and the pool (very clean and pretty) is somewhat awkwardly placed in the middle of a common area near the lobby and dining room. Otherwise, this hotel is a fantastic bargain!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lanerenee from WA/USA

Convenient Location, reasonable cost

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: The Restaurant
Cons: Improve hallway lighting and ventilatiohn
Location: Close to shopping and the waterfront. Walk to everything
This Hotel in the heart of the city center is but a short walk to the waterfront. It's high quality restaurant has a depth of menu and outstanding quality of food, service and ambiance of any in the waterfront area. The rooms are clean, quiet and simple, fine for a few days. The hallways, at least on the top floor are apparently unventilated, hot and stuffy and unlit in some areas. While they may qualify in services for a 4 star rating, a bit more needs updating and renovating for a true 4 star rating. The staff was very friendly and very helpful in arranging local tours. I'd certainly go back, especially for the restaurant for dinner and the free breakfast. All together, a good bargain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Assonet, Massachusetts

Best historic hotel in Ponta Delgada

Posted Oct 24, 2010
A great value, and one of the best small historic hotels we have stayed in.