Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Not the best place to stay

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
This hotel is an aging one-time star, now in faded glory. It is very far from all city attractions and has little to compensate for the distance. Even the river bank is not easily accessible even though it is right by the river. Food was terrible and there are no options to eat nearby. We had to take a cab every time we wanted a meal. The hotel is built in a grand style with over-spacious rooms and corridors, totally out of touch with modern needs. Our room was 600 m from the reception desk, an onerous distance to walk with two young children who have fallen asleep at the end of the day. The staff were helpful but their kindness does not compensate fully for the structural problems of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful Hotel - To be avoided

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Very damp smelling, sheets were moist when we got into bed. Very dark rooms. Staff surly and breakfast just about edible. Huge hotel - all quite daunting and uninviting. Definitely NOT a five star experience. To be avoided at all costs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatham UK

Hotel Tropical

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Handy for picking up my boat to travel up the Rio Negro. Food was good, especially breakfast buffet.
Cons: Rooms and corridors really do need some updating. Everything is rather dark and with some unattractive smells.
Location: Not far from the fish market and opera house. Get a boat up the Negro or even get a seaplane.
As others have noted, there is a smell of damp about the place. It looks very dated and the rooms are in need of a makeover. Those long dark corridors are not very attractive. Grounds are nice though and the staff friendly and helpful. Food was good. Get a taxi from the airport as it will be much cheaper than a car booked through the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Could be great but needs many changes

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The halls and lobby made you feel that you were in a castle in England,The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Probably new management much better food options and more of the little things that should be in your room.
Location: This hotel is near NOTHING !!!!!!!!. A cab ride to anywhere for food or sightseeing or shopping will cost $20 dollars one way.
This hotel has great potential but needs many changes. The food options are the worst anywhere. Breakfast and lunch in the 1 open restaurant are buffet only. The bar and pool have a large menu but only 4 items were available.Dinner menu had only 4 choices and The food we did get was terrible ( food at the hotel right next door was great). The pool area and pool were very very old and in need of major updating. The bar had very limited liquor choices and no wine anywhere in the hotel. In the room they had no directions for the phone our room was probably one quarter mile from the front desk and our tv did not work so I had to walk to the front desk for help. No paper pen or local help papers to be found. In the bathroom we had two bath towels and no face or wash clothes and no glass or paper cups.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami FL

Worst experience ever!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
This hotel should be shut down. My mini vacation became shorter. We change room 3 times. Mold and dust every room. I checkin Friday night (12/09) around 10pm. I came from Miami to know the Amazon, the suggest was been in that "rustic" 4 stars resort. Wrong! Is not rustic is old, dutty and uncomfortable!!! Finally at 2am we got a "remodeling" room. That's no blanket and smells!!! I had not to do how can I go to another hotel at this time. I gave a chance. On the next day (Saturday 12/10) we try the famous breakfast omg no way the same knife they cut the onion they cut the fruits. Come on I was In Brazil and the fruit wasn't good? Ok.. I paid for 2 nights already so let be... I went out to know the river... when we come back that no towels in the room the toilet was clogged. So... no way I came back Saturday to Miami instead Sunday. So I haven't luck to know the Amazonia this time. My welcome was terrible and frustaded. I stay 24h on the city because the all the stress at this discusting hotel. Please if you going to Manaus avoid this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
While there was some confusion with our reservation (one guest came later and wasn't remembered) and one of our party was initially placed in a room that smelled like mold and cigarette smoke, the staff were very helpful and solved all of our problems.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect area in Manaus for this quality hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
We particularly enjoyed the pool, the spaciousness of .our room, the friendliness of the staff and the convenience of the hotel to the airport and the river
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Free the Jaguar

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
average. good for price. small zoo on site..very depressing....Jaguar has been held in very small pen for over 17 years. Ocelot same....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for clipper cruises! Great buffet.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Large hotel. Nice grounds, beds. Minibar, safe in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Only for a one night stay.

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel itself is large, which gives you a lot to do. The staff is very friendly and attentive throughout the hotel. The food is very good and fresh, and for the price, I would highly recommend trying it. Our room itself, was good in size, queen size bed. However, the room had a bad odor, smelled like a wet basement. The bed only had one sheet over the mattress and pillows didn't seem fresh.