Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is on the top of hill full of flowers which is lovely.
Cons: Bathroom facilities could be cleaner or just need replacement.
Location: 10-15 mins drive to the national park which is convenient. But the towns nearby do not have any good restaurants for dinner.
We saw the good rating online of this hotel and nice photos and decided to give it a try. Unfortunately it turned out very disappointing. The building and facilities need significant maintenance and refurbishment. Whenever someone walk pass outside our room, we can feel the floor shaking. And when guests next door were using the shower we could hear the noise of the pump loud and clear very late in the night. The wooden toilet seat is sticky for some reason. There was no soap or shampoo provided when we arrived the room and we had to go to the reception to ask for it. The second morning we left the towels in the bath tab as the they required in order to get new ones and when we came back we saw the same wet towels put back to the rack. So we had to go to reception to ask for dry clean towels. Both days when we stayed there, there were wedding parties held in this hotel. And the second night the partying people downstairs were very loud even after midnight so we couldn't sleep at all. And the mattress was too soft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent All Rounder.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Cons: N/A
The staff went out of their way to be courteous and helpful. More than I expected really. I would definitely recommend it to my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Stunning Views

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Staff very good and food delicious
Cons: Room size for travelling with a dog was small. I wasn't sharing with another person thankfully, or would be very crowded.
Location: N/A as just travelling through but great views and quiet location
Travelling with a dog and was given a good room near to stairs and exit. The room was v clean and comfortable, although a tad small for when one is climbing over a dog. Restaurant served delicious food, priced well and service good. Staff very friendly and helpful making this a enjoyable experience. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, lovely surroundings

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Nice location, very comfortable rooms.
Location: Good location for Brevon Beacons and Cardiff City centre.
Was a good comfortable stay for our one night, lovely surroundings with great views. Good location for our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincs, uk

Excellent in every way

Posted Jun 29, 2015
As title, room, restaurant, staff, service etc all excellent, and so they should be for the price. Only one minor niggle, we went out at 9 am on Saturday, on returning after 12 noon our room still hadn't been serviced. We had to wait another hour in the bar area. But perfect when ready.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worn elegance

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Ambience, quiet
Location: South of Breacon Beackon Nat. Park. Castles nearby to explore.
We stayed two different nights within one week. In an old farm house, very comfortable and must have been stately in prior years. Rooms good sized and well appointed with a small desk, flat screen tv, arm chair. Everything is a bit old and worn, but not tatty. Large lounge with couches and chairs, lovely place to have tea or a drink from the small bar. Reception is very friendly. On booking the second night, I was told that there is a wedding party going on and that it might not be as quiet as usual. I appreciated that information, and booked anyway. It was not a problem. The location is not the best if you would like to walk from the premises. It is located on a hillside on farm land, and no good place to walk. It is just south of Breacon Beakon National Park where there are plenty of hiking trails. Good WiFi. Restaurant on premises, but very expensive. We went into the little town for food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid Wales

Great location

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: The décor. The continental breakfast.
Location: Well placed for exploring south Wales. Llancaiach Fawr haunted house very near. Cardiff not far.
After driving up the side of the mountain, avoiding two rather aggressive drivers, coming down from the golf club we reckoned, we found the hotel standing alone at the top with beautiful views. The receptionist was very welcoming. Our room was in the coach house and very well laid out. The wallpaper was peeling in many places, but the room was clean. Good bathroom, lots of hot water and real bath. The bed was comfy. In the main building there was more peeling paper. This surprised is as we were told that the hotel closed ever January and February for refurbishment. We ate in the restaurant. There is an all day menu and an evening a la carte. Rather expensive. My meal was very nice. Husband says his chips were somewhat soggy. They were the sort with unpeeled potatoes. The second evening meal was rather bizarre. We ordered a shared bread with balsamic vinegar as a starter as the previous evening the food has been rather slow to appear. After half an hour our main food arrived and we were told the bread etc would follow. We said not to bother as it was a starter but it came anyhow. The chef had not realised it was a starter. Anyhow we were not charged for it. Breakfast is VERY expensive for what is offered. We therefore opted for the 8.99 continental option. Cheese was a few pieces of prepacked pieces. Fruit was 4 items. Three types of cereal I think. A few croissants. A self toaster. There was fruit juice. The decaf coffee was excellent. The second morning was the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pembrokeshire

Lovely one night stop over.

Posted May 7, 2015
Very convenient to all the local facilitiS but yet secluded and away from the hustle and bustle of the highway. Lovely atmosphere and good range of food (price and selection) staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ferndale

Great

Posted Nov 6, 2014
The staff were great the bedrooms we stayed ti were great and the tood was fabulous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Mountain top location with great views

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Double room beds are awful, and small. Twin beds are much better. What we most liked was the quality of staff.
Cons: Premier Inn breakfast in Cwmbach is much better quality and value, plus many other local locations. Breakfast is grossly overpriced.
Fabulous location at Llanfabon atop Welsh Valleys with superb views over the Merthyr and Aberdare valleys. Staff are all really great and welcoming. Breakfasts somewhat over-priced. The big deal to address is that this hotel aims to make its money from wedding and similar events. These ongoing "visitors" can overwhelm the hotel and its ongoing guests. So beware. You can pay a high cost for a room but not have the benefit of the attractive hotel benefits due to event people swamping the hotel facilities.