Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Perfectly sufficient

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Proximity to ferry port.
Cons: It's a little drab. A refurb wouldn't be the worst thing.
I needed a place to stay in Poole near the ferry port before getting an early morning boat the next day. The It was a busy Friday night at the pub and I got in late so I had to navigate the punters before finding a staff member to check in with. Staff were very friendly and I got access to my room without much ado. Bed was comfy and room was clean. A little loud downstairs and on the street but that was to be expected in pub accommodation. All in all it did the job and I had a decent night's sleep before leaving early the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A decent hotel in the heart of Poole

Posted May 31, 2017
My sister and I spent a night here after she finished walking the Southwest Coast Path. It was a good choice - comfortable and convenient. Also close to the train station for her journey home the next day. Good value too.
5 out of 5
by Diana

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
We would highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
by Richard

Old Poole central

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
We used as a modestly priced overnight base to go kayaking in Poole Harbour the following morning. A typical pub/inn style accommodation, conveniently located in the old town part of Poole, close to some older style pubs. Room was okay, but could perhaps do with a spruce/freshen up, that said, all you could want from a hotel room was provided. Breakfast (table service, not buffet as is the standard these days, which was nice) was included in room price, which had a variety of options including the full English - very tasty and no complaints at all. Parking was available too across from the hotel (on a best endeavours/first come first served basis). All in all, not too bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really bad - hands off!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Unfortunately was our stay as a family horrible - the room (no. 16) was dirty, a lot things were very old or broken, half of the night was loud music playing, the staff was unfriendly, the breakfast was cheap.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable but little awareness of custom.

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Surly, bordering on the disinterested customer service. Cleaning staff were the only people who seemed interested in providing any form of service. Pleasant and engaging unlike front desk staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Only comment I'd make is that there's no lift so a bit trickier for the elderly or infirm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Central location in the old town.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: It was a 2 minute walk to the sea
Cons: Deep cleaning and general maintenance
Location: Close to shops, boat trips and waterside
We found the hotel run down and there were a number of maintenance and cleanliness issues. We did report these and the staff were generally helpful but it was a shame that a potentially memorable hotel was in poor condition. We changed rooms after expressing concerns.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff on arrival, at the bar and at breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from poole

Birthday getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay. Location perfect. 5 mins from town shopping. 2 mins from pubs on the quay.