Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Already thinking about going back.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: The location, the staff and the quality of the restaurant.
Cons: Needs an upgrade at some point including installation of air-con.
The Hotel Europa is a 3 star hotel - that is fair as the rooms are adequately furnished without being luxurious. The bed we had was firm but comfortable and the ensuite a little dated but the shower was fine. Yes, air-conditioning would have been nice as we did get a couple of bites having had to leave the balcony door open overnight to keep the room cool. However, these are minor points - bottom line - the hotel was fine. What lifts the Europa experience is the hotel staff who are totally superb on every front. Friendly, informative, welcoming, caring and efficient. The restaurant is wonderful and by far the best dining option on the Lake sea-front. A great menu and a good selection of wines etc at sensible prices. Breakfast is fine with a selection of cereals, fruits, pastries, cheeses, meats etc. By far the most endearing quality of this hotel is it's location. If you can make sure you get a balcony room on the front of the hotel - it's worth the few extra Euros - and soak up the view down Lake Lugano which changes as the day progresses and the different light highlights different aspects of the panorama. it is stunning. Everything you will need is nearby (including an award winning gelato store opposite the ferry terminal) although the hotel has most things covered. With easy access into Lugano itself and many other places of interest nearby this is the perfect base for a few days exploring the region. We will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Pablo, Hotel Management
Thank You very much. We also are lookign forward to see You again All the best Family Meoli Pablo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

Great Hotel!! فندق عظيم بمعني الكلمة

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Wonderful view, lovely staff, perfect place, near to the beach and old town, i really enjoyed my stay there. You have to go there for a vacation. احلي مكان في ايطاليا فندق مميز جدا، الناس هناك جميلة والهدوء ممتع، والمكان رائع لازم تجربة لازم:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL,USA

Lovely view of lake and mountains.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: You could not ask for a nicer host than Pablo. All the staff was very pleasant.
Cons: As much as I enjoyed our stay I thought the accommodations were over - priced. There is no air conditioner and the WIFI doesn't work in the rooms.
Location: There was a market on Sat. Morning that was nice. Being able to tour the lake by boat would have been nice.
We enjoyed our stay very much. We needed a few quiet days of down time during our travels and Porlezza provided that. However, we did want to take a boat trip on the lake but couldn't get tickets. The man at the tourist office was very nice but he couldn't sell tickets. The travel agency office that could was not open on Sat. afternoon or Sun. at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by Pablo, Hotel Management
Thank You for Your Kind rewiev. I'm happy that You enjoy Your stay at the Hotel Europa. When You told me about the low connection, I did call the assistance and I did emproved the wifi connection with a new tecnology, now is much better. Sorry but, as secificly mentioned on the web and at the time of the booking, we do not have air conditioner. I hope to see You again. All the best Pablo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lovely staff.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The hotel and location were perfect for the holiday that me and my family needed. The real positive was the staff. Friendly, pleasant, and always happy to help. Words cannot justify the credibility off the service that the staff gave us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith & Sharon from Sandhurst UK

Excellent lake view

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The view and the staff
Cons: I cannot make any suggestions for improvement. The extra cost for a superior room is a good choice and worth the additional money.
Location: The gentleman on the desk made an excellent suggestion . Visit the towns in the central lake area of Como by buying a day ticket which was only 15 eur
On arrival, the gentleman on the desk could not have been more helpful. All of the staff were friendly and without fail always greeted you (with a smile!) The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the view over the lake - and proximity to it could not be beaten. At the end of a long trip this was the highlight of the day and a very nice surprise. Definitely the best hotel we stayed in during our short tour of lakes in Italy,Switzerland and France.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from England

Reasonable hotel to stay

Posted Sep 6, 2009
The hotel manager has good leadership qualities and he is always to support his staff to give a warm welcome to hotel guests.All t staff are so friendly and very helpful with any queries. In general, their services are very good.although there is not much variety of meals.We found that their menues were rather restrictive both in choice and price.However, there are other restaurants nearby to choose from .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Accueil super par Carmen

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: L'accueil et l'emplacement
Cons: La salle de bain un peu vieillotte (ventilation super bruyante )
Notre chambre n'était pas top (sans balcon ni terrasse) nous en avons choisi une autre (dommage d'être sur le lac sans la vue ) Le petit supplément changement de chambre était de 168e (soit 28e par nuit) soit un peu cher....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mainz

Hotel mit direkter Seelage und Seeblick

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Der Seeblick
Cons: Auswahl an Frühstück (Rührei, Spiegelei, Käse- und Wurstsorten)
Location: direkt am See.
Die Lage des Hotels ist sehr idylisch und direkt am See. Kleiner gepflegter Pool im Eingangsbereich. Kostenplichtige Parkplätze. Restaurant im Hotel (nicht genutzt). Italienisches Frühstück. Italienischer Flair.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Lage ist super, central gelegen. Hotel etwas in die Jahre gekommen, in den Zimmern fehlt der Komfort. Bäder renovierungsbedürftig. Restaurant stimmt Preis Leistung nicht oder wir hatten das falsche essen :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Unbedingt zimmer mit seeblick buchen ! Phantastisch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by pablo, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank, dass wir Sie in unserem Haus begrüßen durften. Das Wohl unserer Gäste liegt uns am Herzen und Ihr Feedback ist sehr wertvoll für uns. Sie haben voll recht, es ist wirchlich unsere beste Vorschlag: das PANORAMA. Mit freundlichen gruessen Familie Meoli Pablo