Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayton Ont.

Close to Everything

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Order property but outstanding maintenance and current on all amenities. We will stay again for sure when in Port Alberni.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to great fishing in a beautiful river.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Reserved a suite, got two small rooms. Suite went to a local burned out family. Otherwise good stay. Managers very helpful with finding local restaurants and other local locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duncan BC & London ON

Great Place

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is perfect near shops and restaurants and best of all the harbour. We like the M.V. Francis Barkley / M.V. Lady Rose boat to Ucluelet
We were most surprised to find such a lovely place and location. Everything was perfect and the flowers and picnic tables were also a nice touch. We will certainly stay there again and also recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Island

Good for the money

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Not a bad stay. The staff were excellent! Stayed in the basic 1 queen room. Only problems, hot water didn't really seem to last, as well as basic utensils would be nice. No other complaints, will stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean and inexpensive

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Sumi, hotel manager was very nice and accomodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not a "no-tell motel," the Somass Motel!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Quiet, friendly, unpretentious, clean, comfortable.
Location: Opposite the Somass River on Hwy 4 to Tofino and Ucluelet. Restaurants, filling stations, and marina close by.
My wife and I wanted to break up our drive to Tofino from Victoria and chose to do it in Port Alberni, a blue collar forest products and fishing town at the end of the long Alberni inlet from the Pacific Ocean. The Somass Motel at the town's western edge fit the bill to a "T." The friendly owner checked us into our simple, spotless, comfortable room, and after the pool lights were switched off at dusk causing the kids playing there to disappear, the place --which also provides several trailer hook-ups-- became completely quiet. Passing the Somass on our return to Victoria we saw a doe and two of its young fording the Somass River opposite the motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver island

Quaint

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Nice and close to town, right across from the river. The bed was fantastic and the owners were very pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very friendly and clean enviormejt

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels
hosts were very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay for staying

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Location: Port Alberni is very famous for fishing. Also the restaurants there should be visited
We stayed here overnight on a trip from Nanaimo to Tofino. All things were pretty well. The booking was prepared. Checkin run smooth without any problems. It is a motel, so if you know that, everything is pleasing.