Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In die Jahre gekommenes Ökohotel

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Das Essen und die Massagen
Cons: Gegen die vielen Tiere mehr unternehmen (Fenster anstatt Holzlamellen, bzw. Moskitonetze vor die Holzlamellen
Location: Das Hotel liegt etwas erhöht auf einem Hügel. Der Strand "Frenchman´s Cove" befindet sich ca. 5 Autominuten entfernt.
Das Beste in dem Hotel war das Essen, welches wirklich immer frisch und gut zubereitet wurde. Es war allerdings auch sehr teuer (15 USD für einen Burger, 25 USD für einen Teller Pasta). Die Hotelbetreiberinnen sind zwar freundlich und höflich, allerdings sehr reserviert und eher kühl. Ganz anders als die Jamaikaner, die einem offen, lustig und gerne redend begegnen. Das Hotel hat keine Rezeption, weshalb es manchmal schwierig ist Personal zu finden, wenn man etwas braucht oder eine Frage hat. Das Zimmer ist gut eingerichtet und groß, was vor allem auf das Bett zutrifft. Der überall so gelobte "Wellnessgarten" ist mittlerweile sehr gärtnerbedürftig. Man sieht, dass lange nichts mehr gemacht wurde und zum Beispiel eine Holzbank wetterbedingt durchgebrochen ist. Unsere Massagen haben wir nicht im Garten genossen, sondern im Pavillon neben dem Pool. Das haben wir sehr begrüßt, da man im Garten von Mücken zerstochen worden wäre. Absolutes No Go war die Kakerlake in unserem Zimmer, die über unsere Kopfkissen gekrabbelt ist (Kommentar der Betreiberin: Es wird wohl bald regnen, daher kommen die Viecher in die Zimmer). Nachdem wir die Kakerlake verscheucht hatten war sie einen Tag später wieder da und wir mussten sie mit einem Flip Flop nachts erlegen. Die Betreiberinnen bieten einen Shuttleservice zu nahen Stränden an. Zusammenfassend kann man sagen, dass das Hotel vom Ruhm vergangener Zeiten lebt und wir uns für das Geld mehr versprochen hatten.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Location: We visited a local school, Reich Falls, rafting on Rio Grande, Winnifred & Frenchman's Cove beaches-hotel provides one complimentary shuttle & entry
We're a family of 4 (children ages 9 & 12) and stayed a week at this hotel. We commend Mockingbird Hill for being truly dedicated to supporting and empowering the local community and reducing their environmental impact. The grounds are beautiful, the view spectacular. With that said, we had a leaking sink that was never resolved, a shower that backed up and had no hot water for half of our stay. At first we didn't mind, as we've stayed at other eco hotels where there was no hot water, however we were informed beforehand. Then one day, hot water randomly appeared, then it was gone the next day. When we inquired about it, we were told it is turned off every day at 4pm and they must have forgotten to turn it back on. Wi-fi was down for 3 days and spotty at best, granted there was a lot of rain and a seemingly so response from their internet provider, but everywhere else we went had wifi. The cost of taxi drivers for airport transfer and excursions (the latter they were adamant they arranged for) were WAY overpriced, as was their food. I highly recommend walking to the village at the bottom of the hill and grabbing food at Woody's- great food, fun people, nice atmosphere and way better value for your money. There were 3 other guests staying at the hotel –one of which a travel agent– and they all expressed their disappointment as well. When my family and I departed, we gave them honest feedback which wasn't well received. It's too bad because I think they have a lot of potential.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

A nature lovers paradise

Posted Aug 4, 2015
This hotel is set on top of a lovely hill away from the hustle and bustle of town life. It's location is ideal for those who are looking for a quiet and serene location to escape the stress of day to day life. The staff are wonderful and very friendly. The rooms are clean and the scenery is breathtaking. Stayed there for two lovely nights. Wished I had stayed longer. Loved it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pelham Manor, NY

Superb boutique hotel in gorgeous setting

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Sheer beauty, comfort, and excellent dining, a friendly staff, and dedicated owners will have us coming back.
Cons: The food and excursions are expensive but they are value for money. Just be aware this is not a bargain hotel.
Location: Reach Falls, Rio Grande rafting, Winnefred Beach, Frenchman's Cove, Blue Mountains, bird watching
This is a beautiful hotel, sited on a hill overlooking the ocean and Port Antonio. The hotel provides a free shuttle to Frenchman's Cove, just 5 minutes away. Wonderful comfortable rooms, extensive tropical gardens that attract hummingbirds. The bar and dining areas have dramatic views, and The Perch, located at the top of the hotel, has the most extensive views of all, with dining by candlelight under the stars. The food was excellent with Caribbean and Indian influences. The service is consistently helpful and friendly. Shireen and Barbara planned our excursions to the Falls, rafting, and the Blue Mountains. Barbara's art illuminates the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Alba

capodanno al mocking bird hill

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: il fresco nonostante l'assenza di aria condizionata nelle camere
Cons: la piscina troppo piccola
Location: Località non invasa dal turismo, ancora incontaminata e posti di mare splendidi. Consiglio laguna blu: uno spettacolo della natura.
hotel assolutamente da consigliare, sia per la posizione (vicino ai più bei siti di mare) che per l'ottimo ristorante e la disponibilità del personale. E' un albergo accogliente con sole dieci camere, pe runa vacanza tranquilla e romantica.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McLean, Virginia

A journey back in time....really wonderful

Posted Dec 16, 2009
The Mockingbird hill Hotel is immaculate. There are constantly people fixing and cleaning. The food is really gormet and well worth the meal plan. There are really no good resturants other than the hotel. The hotel helps you plan your activities for the next day. The views from the hotel are really wonderful. There two beaches near the hotel are only 5 to 10 minutes away by cab. The hotel uses their driver for Frenchman's cove which is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The other beach is Winfred beach and they use a driver from an agency. Both are great. Although there is no airconditioning the cool breezes and fan cool you off. It was like sleeping in a primeval forest listening to the tree frogs and birds put you to sleep. To save time we charted a plane from Timair from Montego Bay to get there but you can take a cab from Kingston for 1/2 the price. The trip to the coffee farm in the Blue Mountains was really an adventure we saw lots of birds. There is also a star deck just built.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Delightful,secluded haven

Posted Mar 11, 2009
Idyllic location in unspoilt north-east corner of Jamaica. Excellent food, beautiful gardens, knowledgeable hosts genuinely concerned to make your holiday a memorable experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PARIS

Hotel trop éloigné du centre ville contrairement au descriptif figurant sur la fiche internet-

Posted Aug 27, 2007
L'hotel est trop loin de la ville pour un touriste normal qui a envie de découverte. Cet éloignement poussent les clients à être otages du restaurant qui en profite pour proposer des prix extremement élevés- C'est du vol et en plus on est piégé surtout quand on voyage avec des enfants. La propriétaire est trop commerciale.