Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Arthur, Texas

Posted Apr 3, 2018
They’re not stable and it stinks to say you pay so much for this hotel you would think it was together
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2018
Our stay was awesome and we felt as if we where home the breakfast was was good and staff was nice😍
5 out of 5
by Danielle

Posted Dec 30, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay, love the cleanness.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
called the day before to ask if I could come early to decorate the room for my son's slumber party...i was told i could after contacting manager and getting approval. i arrived @ 12:40pm and told Minda that i was given permission to check in early to decorate. first off she never seemed welcoming and when i told her what i was there for she said i couldn't decorate and they dont have parties. i looked at her like really you cant ve serious proplr have parties at jotrls all the time. she told me not at her knowledge...i told her since I'm actually letting you know and being honest I can't decorate. mind you I was only having streamers and balloons for 11 yr old slumber party nothing major. I asked to speak with management And never would let me. I told her I wanted to cancel I was told no. I said can I just check in now I guess I can't decorate no. she told me there was a room I van look at...i said what I need to look at another room for? she said cause I was going to still decorate after she leaves for shift. I over beard on the phone telling expedia that they don't have parties instead of calling who worked the night before asking what I told them. my grandma's funeral was the next and I got really emotional went to car and put all the decorations in a bag and told her to keep it and asked if I can finally check in. I'm in tears and not once did she apologize and even told me not to destroy the room. I was mortified and really would of left if it wasn't for the kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Mainstay Suites, Hotel Management
Dear Eustice, The Mainstay Suites of Port Arthur do not allow guest to host hotel parties or decorate guest rooms for any reason. On August 18th, you called the hotel and spoke to Minda and told her you spoke with Asim on August 17th saying it was okay for you to check-in early to decorate the room for your 10-year-old son’s birthday party. Minda told you that the hotel does not allow parties or such decorations and you argued with her and said the Asim the manager said it was okay. However, Asim is a front desk agent and not a Manager! We asked if him if he told you it was okay to decorate and he said yes but you did not mention anything about a birthday party. On date of arrival, even though you did not have a physical photo identification, we accepted a copy of your ID sent to our hotel email from your phone allowing you to check-in early around 12:30 P.M when actual check-in time was 3:00 P.M. When you checked in you assured Minda there would only be you and four children who will stay over to have cake, ice cream, and swim in the guest pool. Right before 4:00 P.M, the hotel received three calls inquiring about a pool party and all the callers were told there was no pool party at the hotel. Our staff counted seven children, four female adults and two male adults. Furthermore, you violated the hotels policy on having unregistered guest over at the hotel and letting them use the guest pool. We could have refused to honor your stay, yet the management more than accommodated your stay and did not charge a cleaning fee for the mess you left in the room. Sincerely, Guest Relations Mainstay Suites Port Arthur
3 out of 5
by Simon

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Air wasn't cold. Only cool.
1 out of 5
by SONJA

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
I was Not at All Pleased with MainStay Not CleAn and I Checked out Early and still was charged full Rate would like a discount for a better Hotel for Next trip coming up
4 out of 5
by Tilden F

Class of 1982 TJ

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay
5 out of 5
by Lesli

Great experience

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
The gentleman at the front desk was a sweetheart. The room was so nice and clean. The breakfast in the morning was really good too.
5 out of 5
by THADDEUS

GOOOOD place

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
I really liked the place. Easy checkin, good spacious, clean room, nice bed. I dont have cable so it was nice to watch TV again however the TV screen was zoomed in?? Housekeepers did good job. The area was great for a walk around the block. Golf course next door. WiFi worked realllllly well. Great breakfast. Quiet place at night. Good biz center and the printer worked! I like the snacks available but bummer min $5 to bill to room. I will stay again if the price is right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Thaddeus, Thank you for choosing Mainstay Suites Port Arthur and taking time to give us your feedback. Our prices are always compitetively set so you can "Live Like Home." We hope to see you soon again! Regards, Mainstay Suites Port Arthur
1 out of 5
by Iliana

Do not stay here!

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Customer service is terrible. They know nothing about customer service really. I guess you get what you pay for. I suggest paying the extra 40 dollars to stay at the holiday inn express or Hampton inn express. The room was old and smelly and there was no CELLULAR SERVICE. I have at&t and I do not have cell reception issues, but I could not get any service in the hotel. When I asked the front desk, they stated they usually tell people to go outside. I couldn't believe she said that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear lliana, Its disheartening to hear you felt our customer service is terrible. Please dont take your anger and frustration out on us. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the room. You were upset because you were waiting for a call from the corrections office and your cellphone wasnt working. Therefore you wanted to check-out within 15 minutes and wanted a refund. We asked if you or your Mom had used the restroom amenities or layed in bed and you said no. Housekeeping staff inspected the room and found the toilet, towels and soap were used and the bed was messed up. We wish we can post the camera footage cursing and yelling when we said we could not give you a refund. Well we hope you understand and got your mess sorted out. Sincerely, Guest Relations Mainstay Suites Port Arthur