Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surrounded by birdsong

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Very cosy cabin with a gas fire.
Very nice cabin with lovely wooden interior. Surrounded by bush and birdsong in the evening and at dawn. Well equipped kitchen. No cell phone reception, No WiFi.
5 out of 5
by Sihyun from korea

Nice!

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect to rest
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawkes Bay

Relaxing Bush Stay

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Wotif
We only stayed one night with 2 teenagers but this was a very comfortable & relaxing stay. The girls loved the stream walk & swim in the cool swimming hole, finished off with a relaxing spa amidst the tress & native bush. Listening to the birds & tree life whilst sitting back in the spa pool was very relaxing. The fact that there was little internet was a bonus in getting the girls off their devices and into games & reading. The restaurant was very comfortable with a good menu & food. Certainly recommend this as a place to chill out for a couple of days. The beaches are a short drive away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay.

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was rather pleasant. Was in the middle of nowhere, so trying to get food and find a place to shop was difficult. But was good to be away from civilisation. Very clean resort, away from everything. Was happily surprised.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Wotif
Great place to stay ! Friendly people that run it and are rely helpful! Will definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
by Ela from New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Tranquility and birdlife around it
Cons: The long gravel road that leads to it.
Location: Tranquil, but long way to get there
Facilities: Brand new, lots of eco materials; Value: Affordable; Service: Professional, WLAN not working; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
5 out of 5
by John from England

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Chefs cooking and banter
Cons: Clean the lodge windows
Location: Tranquil, Just right
Facilities: Modern, Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Delightful; Listening to wildlife was great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The Best Retreat

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The secluded location, the staff especially Lane & Teresa and the food The animal noise each night and each morning
Cons: I cannot think of anything
Location: The hot tubs in the woods The stream walk The local beaches
We arrived after a long journey from Auckland all the staff were very helpful, we stayed for two days had great breakfasts and even better diners The Retreat was very well set out and had everything we could ask for We drove to a close beach that was not that busy so made our day thee very pleasurable We took a walk in the stream up to a dipping pool that was also very nice
5 out of 5
by Kate from New Zealand - Bay of Plenty

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Relaxing, quite, bush setting for spa
Facilities: Modern; Value: Affordable; Service: Good, Courteous; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

The perfect get away

Posted Dec 8, 2014
We were looking for a relaxing get away for our 1st anniversary and searched and searched with a handful of criteria. It had to be private, good food, beautiful scenery and a spa or bath. It had everything and some. The cottage was made with the highest quality and everything was perfect. We will be returning for the next 70 years