Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good Value for Overnight

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Good value, close to my agenda.
Cons: More breakfast offerings. The facility could use some brightening up, inside and out.
Location: Close to Charlotte Harbor Bay for boating activities. Also many rivers nearby for kayaks or canoes.
I'm giving this recommendation based on the need for overnight accommodation when you have other agenda in the area. The place looks to be a "pre-interstate era", old Florida motel. There are no amenities (pool, etc.) there, so you are just getting a room. The place is old, but the rooms are adequate. Reasonably clean and well kept. My room had a good fridge and microwave. No coffee in the room - you need to get it from the breakfast area. They do provide breakfast, though it is limited to self serve waffles, cold cereal, coffee and OJ.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Albany, IN

Nice rooms, but other problems.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The rooms themselves were nice. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, the pillows were good, and there were plenty of towels. I arrived very late at night, approximately at 3 am. Upon checking in, or at first attempting to check in, they wouldn't let me in because my name supposedly wasn't on the itinerary I handed in from Expedia. I offered my ID, but they wouldn't take it, and got rude with me about it in the process. I then pointed out my name on the itinerary, and finally, they checked me in. When I got in the room there was no remote control for the TV, nor were there any instructions on accessing the WiFi. After the unpleasant experience I had just had, I decided to wait until the morning to get all of that. They then told me my debit card was declined, even though Expedia had already charged it. After trying to solve that, I realized it was all in vain, so I just gave them another card. This led to a completely unnecessary 45 minute phone call with Expedia to get a refund on my debit card. Of course after all this I will be using my debit card to pay off my credit card when it should have been taken care of in the first place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the room was so filthy. Particularly the bathroom

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: that we didn't stay there
filthy ... cockroach's .... did not stay there... left for another hotel... staff rude ... would not credit our charge card because it was a "pre pay" thru expedia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but you get what you pay for

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Decent room but has that motel type smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed during Hurricane Matthew. The room was clean and comfortable. The only trouble was a 1 inch gap under the door. This is Florida. No telling what could fit through there. They gave us some old towels to block it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Miami

Decent budget hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Employees were corteous and helpful
Cons: No pool : (
Location: Bob Evans at walking distance...mmm great fresh food! Lots of places to eat or take-out along Tamiami trail, including a winn-dixie.
It was the only hotel I could find in the west coast of Florida trying to avoid a hurricane, so I'm thankful for the affordable price that allowed me to book 3 nights until the storm in the east left. But it's not the place I would choose for a family vacation, it doesn't have a pool, the don't have coffee in the room and breakfast is offered in a very small area. You can tell they do their best in maintaining it, but some furniture needs cleaning, specially a desk chair in a non-smoking room that smelled like cigarette and had ashes in the corners. Beds were comfortable, I can't complain because it was an emergency to keep my family safe and I'm thankful they were available. Front desk people are corteous and helpful. I think the lobby and reception should be updated, a more modern look and uniforms for employees would look a lot more professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty good

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Not bad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Although they try to keep it clean. Rooms need painting bad. Some mold in bathroom. Dirt on sheets. Cigarette burns in blankets. Said it was no smoking. But you could smell cigarette smoke coming out of air conditioner. They will rent a room to anyone coming off the street. With no money. Even homeless. I know cause I asked some renters. Would not recommend it to family's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Comfortable room, friendly staff, great place with no issues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels