Ratings based on 1,305 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
enjoyable visit, this is a nice place and good value
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Improvements

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Cons: Add more lighting to room & headboard, add hooks & towel rods to bathroom, fix room phone, replace alarm clock/radio, get rid of strong odor in room
The room had a horrible odor for our entire stay. Luckily, we were only there for about 5 hours. Our sleeping clothes wreaked when we took them off in the morning. We wondered if the mattress had been in a smoking room previously and that was the reason for the smell. Our room was very dimly lit. The only working lights in the room were from two table lamps on either side of the bed. There was no ceiling light, desk lamp, or over bed lighting (although two were built into the high headboard so patrons could read in bed-- they were not working). I tried to call the front desk and our room phone was not working. I also hoped to use the wake up call on the room phone, but since the phone was totally dead (although it was plugged in), that was not possible either. The bedside alarm clock/radio was only a means to tell time. None of the alarm features worked. I needed to rely on my smart phone to awaken us at 4 AM to catch our flight. Luckily my phone worked fine! The shower curtain had a rip at the top where someone must have tugged it too hard trying to move the shower curtain rings on the shower rod. The only hook was a small one of the back of the bathroom door. There were no hooks on the bathroom walls and no towel rods to hang towels. The sink top was rather small and it was difficult to fit our toiletries on it. I have never written a negative hotel review previously. However, I thought I should warn others and alert management.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Location was our main goal

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The location of this hotel is great, & the "oceanfront" room was super too. Our room (126) was clean & the bed was comfortable. It's within walking distance to the Tiki bar, one of Punta Gorda's best things. The employees @ The front desk & staff we met in the hall were friendly & helpful. Complaints? Our bathroom sink wasn't cleaned Sunday (4/9). Our in room coffee packet was not replaced, we had to go to the front desk to get one. The coffee creamer was sour. The "Four Points Sheraton" is much better, but they were completely booked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Apr 9, 2017
It was obvious they have attempted to make many upgrades but there were dirty exposed pipes, mildew along the floorboards and no access to the water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Front desk staff wasn't particularly welcoming or friendly overall. The room wasn't located where advertised. There was construction noise going on at all hours. The elevator smelled of urine all week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't expect too much.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Nice location. Good price. Room was clean and comfortable. But, the place has seen better days and the phones did not work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice and the pool was nice.
Cons: Clean the rooms better and fix broken items. Replace beds when necessary.
Location: Nice beaches close by. Plenty of things to do in Punta Gorda. This is a great town to visit.
When we arrived, the staff was very pleasant. I have absolutely no problem with the staff. When we got to the room, it was a nightmare. Slats for the vertical window blinds were missing. We asked the hotel to bring us a couple of slats to replace in the window blinds, but they never did. The lighting level was terrible in the room. The only light in the room was missing a bulb. There was hair in the tub area. On one of the cotton throws, my daughter found a dried up booger. Yes, I said a booger. We thought it was an isolated incident, but then my wife found another one on our bed spread and 2 more wiped on the walls, one with a hair in it. This was an indication to us that neither the bed spreads nor the cotton throws were laundered. It is possible that the room was not even cleaned before we got there. We cut our stay there short because of this. The beds were also very uncomfortable. They were sagging in the middle. They need to be replaced. We were very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Punta Gordy hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great location and price, very nice sized rooms. Hotel worn, Cheap rugs throughout and a lack of attention to details. For example 2 lights burned out, cheap blinds that did not work correctly, and small ant like insects in bathroom. Would recommend solely based on price and location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach and shopping activities.
Cons: Paint, rugs, over-all cleanliness.
Location: Fisherman's Village.
old. Needs refreshing! Better signs for entrance vs Restaurant/bar. Elevator filthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from davenport

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Nice place been there before..close to where we want to be..