Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location beside the beach and shops etc

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Very well furnished and fitted out.
Location: Beach and all shps walking distance.
Offered little extras like umbrellas for the wet weather, and a range of books and other things useful when on holidays. Staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great location close to the beach and easy walk to the shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

It is by the sea!

Posted Oct 6, 2017
By the Sea is a really nice place to stay! Lovely self contained rooms with all we needed including a BBQ and a little courtyard which was great to sit out in. It is right next to the beach and only a short walk to the shops and restaurants. The staff were so friendly and helpful too! There was numerous items we could use such as deck chairs, cool box, binoculars for crocodile searching and even films to borrow for a night in. Didn't get to use the bikes this time but definitely will next time. Would recommend this place to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Hotel in Port Douglas

Posted Sep 20, 2017
This hotel has just been renovated. The location is perfect: close to the beach and on the Macrossan street. The hotel borrows a lot of very convenient stuff for free, even bicycles.
5 out of 5
by David

Best of all worlds

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful sea view suite on the 2nd floor with full cooking and BBQ facilities. Hotel is right next to '4 mile beach' and also at the start of the lovely Port Douglas Main Street - a superb combination with an abundance of bars and restaurants. Very relaxing place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Comfy clean accommodation. Loved all the gear that was available - bikes, beach gear etc. lovely, friendly, helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Wotif
Really fantastic accomodation and the staff were friendly and helpful! Would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great location and good facilities

Posted Aug 12, 2017
From the welcome emails before arrival to the greetings each day the staff were lovely. They are also a great source of advice about local things to do and they booked us a great snorkelling trip. The room was great and there is a huge range of things you can borrow for the beach - which is a 2 minute walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
excellent hotel,definitely will come again! I will strongly recommend by the sea to my friends:)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by by the sea, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Lindsay and we are so glad that we will have the pleasure of your company in the(hopefully) not too distant future. Take good care....... The Girls at By Sea Port Douglas
2 out of 5
by Manoj

Worst Experience

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed in By The Sea for 3 with my family. We were pretty disappointed first by the rooms and then by the attitude of the manager. Our room was extremely congested. Not value for money. People at the reception, particularly the one who dealt with us most of the times, were extremely discourteous, unhelpful and rude. Though Liezze was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Dear Manoj, We are not at all surprised that you found your room congested. You booked the smallest cheapest room which is not only clearly advertised as being small with the maximum occupancy consequently set at maximum of two people. You book this cheapest smallest room for two people with a maximum occupancy of two people and then turn up with your family. We were concerned because we knew the room was too small for your family and that all our larger rooms were full. However, you insisted the small space would be fine for you, when asked numerous times and then write this review. With the greatest of respect, we do strongly urge you in the future to observe the details of the room you are booking and respect that the maximum occupancy of two does mean it is not suitable for more than two and book a family room for your family. Kindest Regards, Management