Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location, staff and amenities

Posted Oct 23, 2016
We spent a month traveling around Australia for honeymoon and this hotel was by far the vest place we stayed in. When we arrived, we were greeted by the most lovely ladies. They informed us that our room had been upgraded, which was such a pleasant surprise. Upon getting into our room, we were greeted by a bottle of champagne and a hand signed card. Absolutely blew us away. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and really went out of their way. The location was excellent - literally across the street from the beach. The amenities that the hotel provided were exceptional - beach chairs, pool floaties, etc. One of the best parts was that there was a bbq on our deck - it was so wonderful to be able to cook our dinners and sit on the patio in the warm sun. Definitely would stay here again. A++++++
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns, Australia

As good as last time !

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: The sea, great coffee, restaurants and shopping all within walking distance.
This was our second stay here andit was as good as the last. The girls at By the Sea really knownwhat customer service is all about and they really look after you from check in to check out. As Arnie said....I'll be back !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

friendly & supportive staff. Internment resources

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Faceleties and resources
Location: on the main road of Port Douglas 50 meter from the beach Close to all resturants
The rooms are very clean and the hotel is close to the beach. staff are very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Practically on the beach with a rain orest feel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach, cafes and bars.
Garden room close to the beach. Staff were very friendly. I would stay there again in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

All the good things about home!!!!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel offers a number of inclusions as follows.Bikes,gym exercise equipment.(holidays?)beach towels,eskies,trollies ,deck chairs ,shopping jeeps.
Cons: all pretty good ,and over time I understand bathroom facilities will be upgraded.
Location: Location.Major decision to walk left 150m to the beach or right towards the shops .
By The Sea Port Douglas has a number of wonderful things to recommend.The first and most important is the welcome we received on our arrival .Fair dinkum unbelievable!!!!!We thought we were relatives that had been trapped in the cold climes down south and hadn't been seen in years, such was the warmth with which we received .These girls continued with the same attitude throughout our stay (nine days).Brilliant!!!Oh and by the way ,not just the girls at the front desk ,but the rest of the staff going about their daily tasks .Smiles .Thank you Ladies.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Wonderful location. Very helpful staff. Great that they have all accessories to borrow when there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy character on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Wotif
We were pleasantly surprised by the cheeky decor - extremely comfortable and well stocked suites - and every extra item imaginable to take to the beach for the day free. Also best range of books, DVDs and travel brochures again all free to use. Friendliness and readiness to help with your stay second to none.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff and Plenty to do

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Wotif
By The Sea was very clean and comfortable the staff were friendly and more than happy to help or answer questions and there was heaps of free activities available like bike hire, board games, DVDs or even just sun chairs for the beach. Would recommend for a relaxing stay 10/10
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Outstanding service

Posted Jul 3, 2016
The ladies could not have been more welcoming and provided us with a huge assortment of beach equipment such as bikes, beach chairs, towels and umbrellas - all included in the accomodation rate! Brilliantly on the doorstep of the beach and a two minute walk for coffee (and a $15 bacon and egg sandwich!).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from QLD

Little boutique hotel conveniently located

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, the attention from the receptionists and good facilities.
Cons: It would be great if the laundry facilities were at each room rather than shared.
Location: Conveniently located boutique hotel close to cafes and shops and a few steps from the beach
By the Sea Port Douglas, it is a conveniently located boutique hotel close to cafes and shops and a few steps from the beach. It is on the quiet end of Macrossan St, the hotel is clean, all facilities are in working condition, and my room was well appointed everything was working properly. The corridors leading to the rooms feel a bit cramped and would be greater if the apartments had laundry facilities. But these are really minor details considering the location, condition of room and facilities and great service from the reception.