Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hervey Bay

Perfect Location. Great Facilities.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
My partner and I stayed here for a week. Although our studio is dated..It was a very large size with a big bathroom and very comfortable bed. The balcony overlooked the sea and park area, near to the old Court House. Everywhere was clean and tidy, just fixtures and fittings are dated. The Manager, John, is very hospitable and goes out of his way to ensure your stay at Club Tropical is a good one. ( Even putting a bottle of Bubbly in the fridge for us, as I had told him it was my partners 70th Birthday treat being in Port Douglas.) The swimming pool is just beautiful! With waterfalls and other features in stone. The pool is surrounded by tropical trees and plants, it's an ideal place to enjoy "poodling around" in! There are the water features on the inside of the complex, with ponds and stepping stones. Just beautiful! There are more modern, updated rooms available..all large sizes. We had a very reasonably priced "package deal" for this holiday, which included flights.... so didn't know what to expect really. We were more than pleasantly surprised and very happy to stay here. Thank you John for being so hospitable and helping to make our stay there brilliant. I'd recommend Club Tropical to anyone. Some of the horrible picture reviews are outdated! Should be taken off! They are not portraying Club Tropical correctly! It is a lovely place to stay! Thank you! Loved our stay in Port Douglas.....had a ball!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
John helped us so much with ideas and suggestions and advice. Without him we won't be able to plan our trips so perfect. Thank you John
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

very quiet and relaxing

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: excellent location, great location to all restaurants and marina
Cons: not as modern as other facilities but still good value
Location: everything was nearby, perfect spot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great staff

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Upgraded to the penthouse suite which was a very nice surprise. Location is awesome, straight out the door and you are steps away from the main street, 10min walk to the beach and on a sunday across the road from the market. Staff were always on hand and helpful, rooms were clean. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamworth NSW

Easy walk to everything

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Our room was showing its age but still very comfortable and clean. Pool was great!
Location: Close to all restaurants and venues that Port Douglas is renown for.
Great location within an easy walk to everything in Port Douglas. Friendly staff who were helpful in making all our bookings for tours to the reef and the Daintree.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Booking problems, room allocation problem

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Pool, staff
Cons: Good wash of buildings with Wet and Forget and attention to stagnant ponds window boxes etc
Location: Excellent location, handy town, market, port etc
Returning customer, given "worst room" options. Resort is kept clean but is much worse for wear and poor external maintenance grounds, window boxes etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Stephens

we had a great time

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: very central staff very helpful
Cons: our apartment was a little bit tired needs an upgrade
Location: very good this was our 12th visit to PD first at this hotel we will be back next year
staff were very helpful room was clean and spacias hotel was very central to shops and restaurants and entertainment areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Townsville

Great location and excellent value

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The rooms were large and clean, it was very well located at the end of the main street. Staff were friendly and full of information.
Cons: The bathroom was in need of some modernising, but everything worked fine.
Location: The hotel is located at the end of the main street which enabled us to leave the car in the car park and walk everywhere.
We stayed in the older part of the hotel and have no complaints. The room was clean and spacious. We had a balcony overlooking the main street (Macrossan Street) with an outdoor kitchen which we loved. We could hear the music from the pubs across the road but it didn't bother us at all, in fact it added to the experience. You can close the shutters at night to block out the light and sounds. We were also located across the road from the Sunday markets. The pool and spa were lovely. The staff couldn't be more helpful and recommended and booked a great tour for us to the Daintree Rainforest. We will definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Convenient but tired

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: See above
Location: Excellent location for shopping and for accessing food supplies. Walking distance to many high quality restaurants.
Conveniently located close to shops and waterfront. Interior was dated and depressing, furniture uncomfortable. Courthouse Hotel opposite very noisy with loud music until late. Lounge area near pool was pleasant and removed from the noise of the hotel and McCrossan St. traffic so we assumed that rooms in this location would be quieter. The accommodation bore no resemblance to the photo used to promote the "resort". Some staff were friendly and helpful but others did not want to know. Paintwork and fittings urgently need attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very tired

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Close to everything but run down. Paint brush and paint found in drawer and patchy fix job on walls, glass blocks in bathroom did not stop light at night very annoying. On third floor and only access via stairs hard carry suitcase up