Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Very relaxing and an easy place to satay.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Staff are very friendly and nothing is too hard! Clean, everything you need is supplied. Close to the beach and a pleasant stroll into town. Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location, friendly and clean

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Lastminute
We stayed for 5 nights in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was large and comfortable for our family. The location of Mandalay is lovely - a very quick walk through beach bush and you are on the beach. Or under 10 mins walk to The Main Street. It would have been lovely to have flycreen doors leading to our patio, that way we would have been able to leave the doors open more and hear the ocean without threat of mozzies (although admittedly we didn't see many mosquitos!). Also the beach towels provided by reception were tiny! Also if you plan on cooking, no basics are provided (apparently for health and safety reasons) so salt, pepper etc is not available. There's a couple of things I would ideally like to see changed, but overall we would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Nice apartment very close to the beach

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: We loved that it was an apartment, very close to the beautiful beach and a leisurely walk into town.
Cons: The only negative we found was that the airconditioning unit was in the apartment which was very noisy when turned on.
Location: The location was convenient to the town and the beach was a short 5 minute stroll from the apartment.
Arrived very early (8am) after a long red eye flight from Perth. The lady at the reception, I think her name was Leslie? was very helpful and got us into our room earlier than the normal check in time of 2pm, we were very grateful for that!!...The apartment was comfortable and very clean with all the necessary things needed for a comfortable week long stay.
5 out of 5
by Brent

blissful resort - close to everything

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Some reviews on various websites put down this resort. Not sure how staff carrying bags up to the room, welcoming smiling staff every morning, booking/ organising the Kuranda Railway train trip, plate of fresh local fruit in the fridge, large well appointed, clean apartment (it was a 3 bedroom apartment, not just a hotel room), quiet resort are bad things? No Pleasing some people.....We enjoyed a 3 bedroom first floor apartment at the back of the resort, away from the family groups (that's thoughtful staff as we didn't have kids and looked completely exhausted when we arrived - was it that obvious we needed a holiday!!!) and had a most enjoyable peaceful stay (although a hungry baby downstairs @ 3:30am one night is to be expected in a resort that has 2 - 3 bedroom apartments). This resort is directly across the road from the beach (well maybe 80metre walk), has 2 pools (one larger heated, one smaller, not heated) and a full tennis court. If you want to save some money, the two large bbqs were well used by ourselves as noone else seemed to be using them (recommend buying fresh prawns from the local fishing wharf rather than the local IGA/ Coles). It's maybe a 3 minute walk to the Surf club restaurant and maybe a 6 minute walk to the local Brumbys bakery and the main drag of Macrossan Street. Ample undercover parking available onsite. We stayed for 8 nights and even were rung to confirm that it was acceptable to service the room on the Wednesday and what time suited us!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Near 4 Mile Beach

Posted May 27, 2017
Complex was a great location walking distance to downtown plus just across the mangroves to the 4 mile beach. Room was spacious and well appointed only negative was tile floors should have been wet moping before our arrival. Not noticeable just on the bottoms of ones feet. This should not deter you from staying as rest was great plus staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, welcoming, well appointed

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for a week in early May. Staff were all very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We stayed in room 19 (2br) which is on the second level and is close to the main pool, reception and access to the beach which is directly across the road. All of the facilities were very well maintained. The beach is only 1 minute away, shopping centre 5 minutes away and marina is 11 minutes away (we walked everywhere). There are some great shops, restaurants and cafes. The only negative we could make is in regard to the clothes drier, it was located adjacent to the living area and was rather loud, but this is obviously not a serious issue! We would definitely say here again and thank the Mandalay for giving us an awesome holiday.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Great hotel!

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
The Mandalay was perfect! We were traveling with our 2 children in their early 20's and 2 of their friends. The 3 bedroom apartment was well decorated, spotless, spacious and exceeded our expectations. Emma at reception handled any plans we needed help with and could not have been more accommodating. Town was a short, pleasant walk away. Great restaurants in town so the lack of a restaurant on site was not an issue especially since kitchens were nicely equipped. Drive from Cairnes airport is 1 hour along coastal Captain Cool Highway. Great alternative to Cairnes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Wotif
Very clean room, nice furniture - comfy bed and couch, good location, friendly staff, ducted air con. Only con was the shower was a bit uncomfortable- either very hot or very cold. We were able to check in early and were made to feel very welcome which was great. Would have happily stayed there longer, and would probably book again. Very quiet location which was nice.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Quiet Comfort at Mandalay

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
We absolutely loved our stay at Mandalay. It had all of the comforts of home. Literally anything you could think of they had. Check-in was easy and the host went above and beyond to help me locate a lost bag. I can't say enough about how wonderful she was. Our only mistake was not staying longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Great location. Very nice apartments. Helpful staff. Would stay there again.