Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Qld

Great location - easy to get everywhere

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: large and roomy apartment with plenty of room
Cons: behind and under furniture lots of dust - needed a good clean
Location: great location - we could easily walk everywhere
Lovely roomy apartment with very comfortable bed and facilities situated in a terrific location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location. Spacious
Cons: Cleanliness, cleanliness, cleanliness ......
Location: Location is fantastic
The room was very dirty when we first arrived. Although we had clean linen and towels, everything else was disgusting. Biscuit crumbs on kitchen bench and nothing wiped over. Floor not swept or mopped. Very dusty all over. Bathroom had toothpaste stains all over the mirror and hair in spa bath although a sticker was placed over the spa saying that it had been 'hygienically cleaned for your convenience.'
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

good position

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: A lift to get to the top floor
Had to rate staff as only OK as we didn't see anyone apart from the receptionist occasionally, found a dirty tissue under the bed, & the lack of a lift was awkward for our elderly mother. Otherwise th location was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Something of a strange set-up but okay

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: comfortable room
Cons: signage
Location: Port Douglas is a trendy town. Lots of shopping. Dive tours on offer (though sadly to a now very sick GBR). We came for the great restaurants.
The hotel room was just fine, but it was all a bit odd. First, it's nearly impossible to find the place - it's very hidden behind shops, unexpected. Then, in the off season, there is no interaction with a live human. You talk on the phone, get a password from the (nice but who knows where) person there, and find the key to your room in a locked safe. Then you're kind of just on your own. But it was very clean, pretty modern style, comfortable enough bed. Reasonable price for this high-price area, so I can't say it was bad, just all a bit odd.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great location. Smoke from kitchen in some rooms

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Good hotel in a perfect spot for those who like be close to bars and shops. Generally the room is comfortable but the smoke from the kitchen was unpleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Perfect location in the heart of Port Douglas

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Large rooms with all great kitchenette facilities
Location: In the heart of Port Douglas with all restaurant and bars downstairs
Great stay and would stay there again as it is in the perfect spot with great large rooms and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

Comfortable hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Location and room configuration.
Cons: More thought into room setup for bookings and there length of stay and the car park.
Location: Port Douglas was great, recommend it for a family. Hotel centrally located, really good.
Our Mantra experience was pretty good, nicely appointed 2 bedroom apartment that was clean with plenty of room. The location was great and the underground car park was handy. Access from the car park to the rooms was difficult with baggage as there is no lift, and on a few occasions the parking area was full with other vehicles, frustrating! Our room was on the first floor with a large balcony that just so happened to be a looking over the kitchen exhaust fan of the hotel in front, the smells at times was a bit overpowering if you were sitting outside, the same could be said for the pool area as the back of the property also has other restaurant exhaust fans -a problem mainly in the afternoon. My sons loved the pool, the areas not big but enough to be relaxing. I didn't see any staff at all until day 4 of the 7 night stay. When I did they were friendly and attentive to my requests. Overall a pleasant stay, however, I do understand staff and resource sharing among all the Mantra's in Port Douglas minimises staff costs, when you take a booking for a 7 night stay the room should be made up so there is no need to be bothering staff on day 4 when you've run out of toilet paper and would like fresh towels and another tea towel and kitchen basics. Regarding the car park, could you not install some sort of boom gate with an access entry code for guests? really hard to manoeuvre your car around a full, tight underground car park to get out and find somewhere else to park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Port Douglas Experience

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing really - it really provided what we wanted - a great location and nice room
Location: Drinking, eating and sight seeing
Great location - good overall. Behind the best pub in Port Douglas, yet you cant hear anyone in the pub - good sized room with all the features you want
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

great central location

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Room furnishings & spacious
Cons: New appliances, full set of utensils & more modern fridge & dishwasher
Great central location, downside being noise from local bars & constant cooking smells (don't leave anything on balcony to dry as towels get greasy cooking smells, just use dryers). Unsuitable hotel for families, maybe stay at another centrally located Mantra if you have kids (small pool also, but did the trick to cool down after a day of adventure). No lifts stairs only which wasn't easy with a pram. Luckily due to infant we weren't interested in using balcony, but if you wanted to it was a little awkward as looks straight into second level of dinning area of Court House Pub. Very suitable for young couples or youngsters on holiday as right in the middle of the action. Couldn't fault the room, furnished well & spacious. Kitchen appliances old but work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

good position

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Position
Cons: On line photo's don't represent hotel "rooms" as they are - photo's are extremely flattering over reality.
Location: Close to all conveniences, plenty of tours available to snorkel, dive, bike rides, fishing. Good local shopping, interesting Sunday market.
Good position in Macrossan Street, handy to cafe, bar and restaurant strip. Hotel rooms are way too small for a lengthy stay with no balcony, windows open to external walkway, perhaps a security concern if left open. We moved to a suite, keeping a "room" for our teenage daughter, well worth the extra cost, had a lovely view across park to inlet. Self contained unit with comfortable indoor and outdoor area. Much more room to move. Pool is in a courtyard surrounded by service area's of surrounding facilities. Not a great atmosphere for relaxing but great for a dip to cool off. Overall, good but not great.