Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moana, SA

Excellent location for walking into town

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Our stay was pleasant, the room was clean however could do with some updating. The rooms are self serviced so bring your own pool towels so you don’t have to pay to loan them. Also remember the rooms are only serviced after 8 days of you staying there so by our 5th day our towels were quite smelly as not very much dries in the humidity. The pool was great and small but just the way we like it! David and Joyce we’re very helpful and assisted either booking our tours, which made the process venue easy. Would recommend staying here because of the great location!
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Convenient, comfortable and close!

Posted Dec 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: As our first holiday without our (now grown up) children it was nice to stay where they don’t have children.
Cons: Although we went out for coffee, it wouldn’t hurt to have enough coffee and tea sachets for the stay period, 4 was a bit short for our 7 day stay.
Location: Swin in the local beach, take any of the dozens of day tours to,the Daintree forest, great barrier reef dive/snorkel, shops are amazing!
This hotel is located centrally, so it’s a 5 min walk to the beach, town or the marina. The pool is fantastic and recliners are located on the deck around it. A babeque area is also available. The rooms have air conditioning and are cosy. Some Foxtel movies are provided as is a healthy 7GB of wifi data access. Friendly and helpful staff that are knowledgeable of the area were also a bonus.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth


Posted Dec 17, 2017 on Hotels
Nice apartment & pool
4 out of 5
by Nashat Hamed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2017 on Hotels
Was a little tired.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Highly recommend this hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Friendly staff,rooms were clean, beds comfortable bbq area pool laundry Close to everything
Cons: Nothing to improve great place to stsy
Location: Beach close by ,shops Restaurants within walking distance ,Marina close by so you can do anyone of the Cruises. Park within walking distance ,massage
The Port Dougalas Retreat is a great place to stay ,clean,comfortable great place & friendly Staff. It’s close to the Beach,shops Restaurants & Marina wouldn’t stay anywhere else Highly recommend to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Radcliffe

Port Douglas Retreat - Excellent

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, excellent position for amenities
Cons: Quieter aircon
Location: Well located for town and beach
Highly recommended, although basic, very comfortable and the Owners were brilliant. Well worth a visit and well placed for the Main Street and the beach
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline

Best in Port Douglas

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great apartment. Everything you need for proper self catering incl washer and dryer. Owners really helpful and always on site. Quieter than the main Street but just a short walk to bars/restaurants/ shops etc.and glorious 4 mile beach. Stayed here before and will stay again.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

A Fabulous Find Close to Everything

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Port Douglas Retreat is a real find. Basic accomodation set on fabulous grounds, with a cracker of a pool and BBQ area made our stay really special. Those looking for 5 star digs shouldn’t look here. The hotel rooms are a bit dated, but the king size bed was so comfortable, and we had a balcony, kitchenette and good sized bathroom. The old fashioned air con worked a treat and kept us really cool. The hosts were so friendly and helpful, too. We had a fabulous stay here, situated close to the beach and Macrossan Street, as well as most other eateries, the surf club and the marina. I would highly recommend The Port Douglas Retreat and we will stay again!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel in an ideal location!

Posted Nov 7, 2017 on Lastminute
We stayed there for four nights. Staff very welcoming and the room was clean. Walking distance to restaurants and beach.