Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great central location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Fantastic to be in the heart of all the eating venues! And close walk to beach, marina and massages. Pool was great for kids. Well run accommodation. If you sleep lightly, just take ear plugs. Lounge room and bedroom next to it have no real sound barrier and we could hear other people from other rooms very easily. But apart from that we were happy to stay there :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great apartment, clean and close to everything

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness was a key thing for us - even the toaster and kettle were sparkling!
Cons: The pool is quite small - pictures online make it look a lot bigger than what it is. But it's still a beautiful area to relax in the sun.
Location: Fantastic location! I don't think I would stay anywhere else in Port Douglas now that I've stayed here!
My mum and I arrived into Port Douglas by midday and had arranged an earlier check in with the staff at Saltwater. This was already a great start to our holiday! Upon entering our room we were amazed at how clean and spacious our two bedroom apartment was and felt spoilt with so much space for two people! The apartments are literally in the middle of all the action - walking distance to everything!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Central location

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Central location
Cons: Rooms are in good condition. Will need to be modernized in the next few years to hold its rating.
Location: From PD you have access to fishing, reef, beach, Mossman Gorge, Daintree, Cape Tribulation, white water rafting
If you want to stay in Port Douglas you can't get more centrally located than Saltwater. Everything you need is within a few hundred meters of your front door. Food, shopping, bars and activities. The apartments have a good pool, we had a 3br which was comfortable for our family of 5. The rooms are in good condition and clean. Parking is free. I would recommend renting a car if you fly in from Cairns. The Daintree, Mossman Gorge, and Cape Tribulation are all a short drive from PD. You don't need to pay for expensive tours, it's an easy self guided drive to all these locations and more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Vic

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Wotif
Good sized rooms in 2 Br apartment very close to shops and beach. Very modern. Lacking elevator for baggage at start and end of trip. Rooms needed maintenance with some cupboards not closing. Spa bath shower poorly designed with water collecting in bath surround and potentially hazardous for older people. Overall very satisfied.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great for a young family in centre of Port Douglas

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location, Pool, Parking
Cons: Close off master bedroom from the living area (a 3 bed would have been better with 3 kids)
Location: Beach is only a few hundred meters down the road they have guards in a section (and stinger nets - not needed during our stay)
Located just off the main street but the rooms do not overlook the street so you are unaware of any noise. Most apartments overlook the pool and have entrances off the rear of the building. There is a large Coles supermarket and Target straight across the street which makes life really easy for picking up food and bits you forgot! Our 2 bedroom apt (11) was completely clean. The beds/pillows were comfortable and the aircon/fans work well. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed for our 1 weeks stay. Decent TV/BluRay player and another TV in the master bedroom. Only downside to the apartment is that the master bedroom is separated from the living/kitchen area by wooden slats that open so putting our youngest to sleep was tricky with the older ones out there! Loads of toiletries supplied and plenty of towels (pool towels are $5 to rent). We made good use of the dishwasher and the washing machine and dryer! Pool is nice and warm (heated) and we couldn't get our kids out of it. The dept is 1.2m throughout with steps at one end (small children will be out of their dept). It was never very busy and there is a gas hot plate to cook burgers and steaks). Plenty of free underground parking is great. Beth in reception is very friendly and helpful and you can borrow buckets and spades for the beach as well as a fair amount of books as well as book excursions through her. We would definitely recommend this for families with no major qualms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Lastminute
Saltwater luxury apartments were simply that - total luxury. Absolutely loved our stay. Located right in the heart of town with everything at your door step. Park your car in the underground carpark on arrival and leave it there. Will definitely be back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location & has everything

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Location, amenities, staff, everything!
We stayed in apartment 1 on a recent trip to Port Douglas for our wedding. This 3 bedroom apartment has it all - plenty of space, all the utensils and appliances you need, great air-con and its close to the carpark, pool and everything. The proprietors (Wayne & Beth) were very helpful with providing info about transfers, etc. before we arrived and they were super friendly when we were there - even letting us check out a little later at no extra cost. The room is on the main street but it is still quiet. Note that it is fairly open living so sound does travel within so you do hear the other people you are sharing then accommodation with. But we didn't find this to be a problem at all. The spa bath in the main ensuite is a bit high so people with mobility problems may have difficulty getting in for a bath or shower - however they can always use the other shower so no problem really. We would definitely return to Saltwater Apartments - its clean, close and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Apartment close to all amenities

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Excellent apartment, lovely staff, great value in idyllic Port Douglas
4 out of 5
by Dustin from Australia - QLD - Regional QLD

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location, cleanliness and size of apartment awesome. Check in very friendly. Security excellent.
Cons: Pool, TV's bit outdated, bed was a bit hard, need a bit more service for the $
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Above average, Pool is very ordinary; Value: Acceptable price; Service: Lacking, Everything up to us; Cleanliness: Beautiful; for the price, we had to remove all rubbish, put dishes on in dishwasher, stack towels etc before leaving, many notes left tell us what to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015
Thanks for your review. We are self catering Apartments and we are contactable at all times and on site. Sorry we did not provide the service you expected we were available at all times. Thanks again for staying at Saltwater. We do appreciate all feedback. This was helpful.
4 out of 5
by Lingyi from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: It is very convenient for eating and going to wharf
Cons: It does not have lift
Location: it is very convenient.
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Basic; Cleanliness: Pleasant;
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate the feedback. Hopefully we will see you again some time.