Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Pleasant place for staycation.

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Wotif
The apartment we stayed in at Tropic Sands Apattment was nice and commendable. The place was clean and quiet for a weekend getaway. But mostly it was a walking distance to the beach and shops. Approved!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely apartment close to shopping centre etc.

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Everything else, especially the free laundry facilities.
Cons: Complimentary bicycles would be great, or would be happy with a small fee, not the $16 half day fee offered around town.
No hotel staff at the complex, or at Owen Street as instructed at closed Reception window. Not a good way to start our Port Douglas stay, and no free WiFi as offered, so rate should have been discounted.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price for a good location

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Wotif
Great location, less than 5 minutes to beach in one direction and town in another. The apartment was a good price compared to others in the area. Kitchen was basic but great for preparing breakfast/lunch. Pool area out the front was usually quiet (which is good as it is pretty small). Its not the prettiest of apartments but for its price its very reasonable. My only gripe with the apartment was the bed - it was two twins pushed together with no cover over the top meaning you couldn't sleep in the middle of the bed. The mattress was hard and the sheets rough. Its a pretty minor negative in the whole scheme of it (perhaps more noticeable because of the more time spent in bed on holidays)
5 out of 5
by Holly from Australia - QLD - Cairns

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location, not busy
Cons: Noisy aircon
Facilities: aircon very noisy;
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Average for the price

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
You can do better.
4 out of 5
by Adam from Sydney

Great location

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
Good value for money and great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barossa South Australia

Well below our last stay in 2008

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location: Great location with lots of nearby things to do.
Rooms are no longer up to 4 star standard, looking tired & in need of an upgrade. No onsite manager. Only one small sachet of washing up liquid for a 3 day stay, had to buy more. Having spent 2 weeks in northern Queensland in a number of places would suggest other options if staying in Port Douglas.
1 out of 5
by Deschnostojano

I would not recommend

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on HotelClub
We haven't seen anyone over 4 days, keys were in the room at arrival, phone number to contact in case of emergency not answering, no light in the apartment, very tiny swimming pool (very different from photo). An awful experience.
4 out of 5
by Maske

Nice little place

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on HotelClub
Room was big enough, with everything you need for a good holiday. Only thing that was a little bit dissapointing was the room cleaning. We stayed in the apartment for 10 days and had our room cleaned only once... Apparently they are doing it only once a week. Otherwise, everything was excellent. Close to main street, main beach... Perfect spot.
5 out of 5
by Louisa from United States

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Close to beach and shopping.
Cons: Air con loud.
Larger pot for cooking would be nice.