Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballarat

Clean, great location and quiet resort!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean, great location, spacious room and friendly staff.
Cons: Perhaps more room around the pool for those who haven't booked an apartment with a pool deck.
Location: Close to everything in PD! We were picked up at the resort by buses for tours etc. Lots of activities to do; hikes, croc spotting, beaches, markets
We stayed at Shantara Resort for our honeymoon and it was exactly what we were after. The staff were friendly, always smiling and offering help. The room was spacious, clean and a beautiful view of the swimming pool with a lovely big balcony. The resort was quiet and the surrounding area was clean and well maintained. Although we had hired a car for the week, we barely used it as the resort was close to the beach, marina and main shopping strip. We would definitely recommend this resort to friends, family etc. We even received a bonus bottle of champagne for being newly weds- how kind! Thanks for having us! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Owner / Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Sarah, thanks for the kind words. We wish you both a long and happy marriage and we hope to welcome you back for your anniversaries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very nice hotel, close to 4 mile beach, Main Street and the wharf. Staff are friendly and helpful when booking tours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Owner / Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Lynn, thanks for the time to review us. Please you enjoyed yourself. Hope to see you again at Shantara
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Luxury close to all amenities and beach

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Close to amenities, adults only and friendly staff
Location: Walking distance to all food, shopping, beach
A luxurious resort within walking distance to all amenities and the beach. Staff are extremely engaging and knowledgeable. They were happy to listen to our needs and recommend options for tours and activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Owner / Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks Suzanne for the time to review us. We do try hard to customise your experience at Shantara and Port Douglas to best suit your needs. We hope to welcome again at Dhantara in the near future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town centre. 5 minutes walk

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Not all the hotel facilities were explained to us, but in general hotel was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Lovely, comfortable and friendly hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The room was spacious and had a kitchenette so if I didn't want to eat out I could prepare something myself.
Location: The facilities were first class and the proximity to the restaurants and shops was perfect.
From the moment I arrived until I left the staff at the Shantara Resort were friendly and helpful. The facilities were first class and the proximity to the restaurants and shops was perfect. I had very relaxing stay and would definitely visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Owner / Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Helen, thank you for the excellent review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Perfect for relaxing

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Stayed four nights. Loved the excellent service, the beautiful pools and the underground parking was a bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi C.L thanks for the excellent review. We appreciate the time taken and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great hotel, would definitely recommend

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Clean, modern, great location, friendly staff
Cons: Included cleaning of the rooms
Location: Location was perfect, right next to the main street but not right on it. Just about everything was in was in walking distance which was great
My partner and I both loved staying here for four nights. Really great location right next to the main street (but not right on) which was perfect as we didn't have a car, however the staff were able to organise shuttles if it was needed. Our room was very modern and in great condition, and the pool was also very nice and in very good condition. All of the staff were lovely and very helpful. We have recommended this hotel to all of our friends and family, and would 100% stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Portia, thank you for the excellent review. We are please you enjoyed your stay at Shantara. Hope to see you again at Shantara.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful accommodation, Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Everything
Cons: Signage at the entry on the road especially at night.
Location: 500m from the main street in Port Douglas, Restaurants, Marina & Reef Cruises
Shantara Resort s one of the most relaxing resorts we have stayed at. The staff are friendly, the rooms beautifully decorated & very clean, the pools are comfortably heated and overal very peaceful. Just far enough away from the hustle & bustle, but stilll within walking distance of everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jodi, thank you for the time to write this excellent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at Shantara.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blue Mountains NSW

Beautiful adults only resort close to everything.

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Everything.
Location: Close to shopping precinct and a quick walk to the beach. Walking distance to the marina where the Great Barrier Reef tours depart.
So close to shops and beach. Exceptionally clean and tidy. Helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Brownie, thanks for time taken to review us. We hope to see you again at Shantara.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel and facilities, close to everything!

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Wotif
An amazing place to stay, no complaints at all! Staff were friendly and organised extra activities for us, as well as making reservations for us for dinners. Facilities were great, a choice of two pools and undercover parking for our car. We will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Hayley, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shantara. Hope you can find the time to return to Shantara for another getaway.