Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
I think the rooms are very basic . Our first room had a nasty smell and the carpets were quite dirty, the bed was not good. We were given another room which was better , but not amazing. . We went to check out the breakfast buffet, which was terrible. The pastries looked unappetizing as did the fruit . The staff were helpful. Overall a disappointing hotel . I think lots can be done to improve the standards.
4 out of 5
by Adriaan

PE is a very nice Holiday destination.

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
PE is a very nice place to take a break and to relax. The hotel in general was nice and clean. The staff at the front desk can be trained to at least acknowledge the visitors instead of them all just starring at their computers. The only real friendly people were Charrol- Anne(front desk - very helpful and professional), Kaya (Lounge bar - very polite and friendly) and the cleaners we saw in the passages. I also feel that room rates was slightly overprised especially at that time of the year when the schools has started and there wasn't a lot of guests. I also feel that the rooms can have much better quality coffee. The Ciro coffee presented was not very tasty and the milk also not enough - especially if you look at the room rate. In general we had a blast and enjoyed PE to the full. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by DEBBIE

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here as an overnight stop off after our flight from London ideal hotel for this. Very good restaurant next door as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Nice views of the beach

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff
Location: We were able to walk to the beach, the Boardwalk and the museum
We had a wonderful time, all our needs were catered for, my family will want to use the hotel in future.
3 out of 5
by MOHAMMED

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very disappointing as thr hotel did not have any confirmation of my bookings and wanted to charge me again for accomadation already paid
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, good service - what you would expect from a Protea Hotel
5 out of 5
by Dr DI from Port Elizabeth

Still shining bright after all these years

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent reception, services and accommodation. Friendly and professional staff. Great hospitality. We felt at home away from home.Beautiful gym equipped well with all you need. Great views from the roof top pool of the ocean. Overal- great team,service and accommodation. Highly recommended to savvy travelers.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Toronto, Canada

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Had a very enjoyable stay. Only negative was the unnecessarily complicated AlwaysOn Wifi setup and often poor reception.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Fourways, Gauteng

First time in PE

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was good but we were not well received as we were given a room which was not what we requested.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Hotel staff very helpful and friendly .Hotel tired

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Good value for money.
Cons: Hotel could do with cosmetic make over.
Location: Beach and Casino complex easy to walk to.
This hotel has good access to the beach which is just across the road and a short walk over a lawn area.The hotel is a little tired but the rooms are large and the staff try hard to make guests happy.