Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

What a disappointment

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Booked this hotel as a radisson location so expected a good standard. On arrival we were kept waiting for half an hour for our room as the maid was making ' finishing touches'. Room still looked dirty on arrival and was a wierd design. Open plan so bath and toilet was in same room as bedroom so having a bath or going to toilet was fully shared with rest of room occupants. Never saw this before and don't want to again, and this was a business class room! Most disturbing was when our turn down maid just walked in the room without knocking and I found her unexpectedly in our room. I asked her to leave...this should not happen... Location was good and staff did try to make amends but it left a bad impression on us and we will not be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No privacy!!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very small room, you can barely walk. bathroom has transparent doors and opened to the room. Definitely not a good choice if you're staying with a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Janice Janse Van Rensburg - Customer Relations , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review as posted here on Expedia. I am sorry to have read that you did not like the design and layout of your room, however I hope that this did not detract from your visit to our beautiful city of Port Elizabeth. We have inter-leading rooms available in our hotel which is perfect whist traveling with a friend and offers more privacy. Please do not hesitate to ask a member of our reservations team when securing your next booking and they will gladly provide you with some more information regarding the various options in terms of room types. We apologize for the inconvenience and truly hope that you will considering staying with us again in future. Warm Regards, Janice Janse Van Rensburg Customer Relations
4 out of 5
by deon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dana

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the location everything within a 25 minute walk along the ocean. Having the beach across the street was the best thing about our stay. The view from the room was amazing and your staff was wonderful. The hotel is a bit older but it is well maintained .
3 out of 5
by Geoff

Very Average

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has great views over the ocean but it is at the end of Summerstrand which means that without transport it is not that convenient for other hotels and restaurants. For those driving there is basement parking. Otherwise it is about 15 minutes drive from the airport. Uber is readily available as well. The rooms are adequate. They are a good size and well furnished. One drawback is that the bathrooms are semi-open so there is almost no privacy. The in-house internet is perfectly fine for email and SMS but not for large data transfers. This hotel only has one restaurant plus a bar area. Breakfast is to the usual Radisson standard, which is to say very good. The choice is more than adequate. The evening buffet is good value but the A La Carte less so. Service is mixed. It is slow in the bar and restaurant. However the check-in desk and concierge are always helpful. Overall this seems to be more of a business hotel than one set up for leisure. Have stayed here twice now and the last visit met with a few frustrations. The room safe didn't work, nor did the in-room a/c. Also Housekeeping are not overly generous with towels and face cloths. One point that I didn't like at all was seeing Housekeeping was up the coffee mugs with the same cloth that she had just used to clean the bathroom and toilet. Plus she had been on a higher floor beforehand. Overall perfectly adequate; just wash the coffee mugs before using!
2 out of 5
by Jeff Louw

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Door lock falling off. Power cuts to the room. Plugs not working to charge phones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017
Dear Jeff, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the disappointing condition of the room, including the door lock and plugs. We value your feedback and will use your comments to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson Blu standards.
3 out of 5
by Andile

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Hashandree

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Jure

Not recommended

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Unfriendly staff, bizarre rooms with bath tub in the middle of the room, no privacy, mould, slow elevators
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017
Dear Jure, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the disappointing service you received, as well as for your dissatisfaction with the design and condition of your room. We value your feedback and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
by Latif

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels