Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Overnight stay. King Suite - very comfortable, spacious, clean, would highly recommend. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was included with our booking, and was very good, wide selection. The hotel itself is situated in quiet area. No complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Esplanade Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back Kind Regards cat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get up early to not miss breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Wotif
The only negative about our stay (2 nights) was that the continental breakfast finishes at 9 am on weekends. This is much too early. Further, the front desk staff told us it was 10 am on Saturdays and 11:30 am Sunday. As a result we missed both. frustrating as the continental breakfast is included in the package. Other than this, the hotel was ok. But will look elsewhere next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by cat cahill GM, Hotel Management
Hi There Thanks for taking time to review your stay at the Esplanade Hotel, you must have stayed just ahead of the changes to breakfast, We now have buffet break fast as well as our delicious A la Carte breakfast menu running 7 days from 5.30 am until 11.30 am (I totally agree the 9am breakfast finishing time was way too early!) I do hope that you will stay with us again soon Kind Regards cat
4 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks Mark We are glad you enjoyed your stay :) Kind Regards cat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Broome

Nice hotel but rooms claustrophobic

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Staff could do with customer service training, knowing how to pull a beer and mix a cocktail is easy, but only part of their job.
Location: most are a drive away, CBD is walking distance to eateries and some shops.
Hotel and rooms were nice. Pillow cases had sweat stains on them. Rooms on the outside balcony (on the Port side) are noisy due to 24/7 operation of port. Unable to open balcony door for fresh air during the day as the balcony is open all the way around the building, and provides no privacy. Staff in the Bar were young and rough. A bit too accustomed to the transient workers and not very professional. It was not particularly busy when I was there but they made it harder for themselves due to being inefficient. It also seems like the local 'place to go' as the staff socialised constantly. the food was pretty good, don't be tardy for breakfast though as they pack it up fairly swiftly. As most places along the West Coast, food and drink prices are ridiculous - $11.00 for a stubby.
Comment from Hotel Management
by cat cahill GM, Hotel Management
Dear Polly Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Esplanade Hotel, we appreciate your feedback. You will be pleased to know that some of the issues highlighted in your review are in the process of being resolved...those being new linen & staff training. I have just recently hired a team of Hospitality professionals form Perth so has seen the service dynamic of the hotel shift. With a busy Restaurant & Bar that serves our in house guests & our extended Hedland community we are certainly "the place to go" and as the first pub in Hedland we certainly have some history that guests new and old love to share with our team. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to Welcoming you back to the Esplanade Hotel have a safe and Happy onward journey best Cat Cahill General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Quality food. Only down fall was the spa suite we stayed in was quite dated and the bed was two single beds pushed together. Not what you expect for a 4 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Andrew Bird, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. We appreciate your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience. I will certainly look into the beds in the spa rooms , I am sorry that this did not meet your expectations. Thanks again for taking the time to review us & wishing you a safe and happy onward journey best cat cahill General Manager
3 out of 5
by ruifeng from 杭州

当地算好的酒店,性价比一般,不够新

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
其它都好,性价比一般,但是吃饭什么方便
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Andrew Bird, Hotel Management
Dear Ruifeng Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. We are pleased you enjoy your hotel stay and dining experience in our conveniently located bar and restaurant Safe travels cat General Manager Esplanade Hotel
4 out of 5
by Kelly from Perth

Scotts review

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel, good breakfast and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Hi Kelly and Scott, Thanks for the review, all three main points covered. We look forward to your next visit. Andrew Ziems Hotel General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2016
Nice place to visit. Comfortable rooms. Nice Bar and a wholesome breakfast in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Andrew Ziems , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Andrew Ziems Hotel General Manager
4 out of 5
by Hans from Wil

Zweckmässig

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Wir wolten uns Port Hedland ansehen und sind auf dieses Hotel gestossen . Die Zimmer sind klein aber das Bett war ok . Die Klimaanlage etwas laut . Restaurant im Haus war gut zum Essen .
Comment from Hotel Management
Hello Hans, Many thank for the review, our apologies if you found the Air-conditioning to be too noisy. There are various fan settings, our reception staff would have been able to assist you. If visiting Port Hedland again, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again. Andrew Ziems Hotel General Manager