Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great hotel in historic Port Jefferson

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Why in the heck does anyone have two full beds anymore? Our room was gigantic butwith two full beds for four people. There were minor things that could have been fixed, missing drain plug in the sink and loose toilet seat. Not great attention to detail. Otherwise a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Great hotel, great location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The hotel was nice and the room much bigger than expected. We did not stay in the main building and the only negative was that we could hear the people above us. It was really loud and at one point I thought the ceiling was going to come down. Other than that the location is great, the room was very comfortable and we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel 25 steps from water

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: spacious rooms, very clean
Cons: check-in is a bit cumbersome and could be modernized
many different buildings with this hotel as they have expanded over the years, we were across the street inland
3 out of 5
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gerald

5-star hotel+1 star Wi-fi. Could have been perfect

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
There's no excuse any longer for a hotel to offer anything but a strong wi-fi signal. 1 bar on the PCs and 0 bars on the cell phones is unacceptable. With 1 bar, you get very slow Internet with annoying disconnects. This is not 2005 any longer where you never know what you should expect at the hotel. The inexpensive technology needed to provide a strong wi-fi throughout the property is available. If you plan to come here and you need a wi-fi connection, be sure to make your reservation contingent on acceptable wi-fi. Also, in our room, there was essentially a single outlet at the desk. While the insert had 3, two were unusable. Wall outlets were inconvenient and blocked by furniture. Bring a power strip with you. This hotel does not put a high priority on technology features. With this out of the way, the rest of my review relates to what would easily have been a 5-star hotel had I not been able to use the Wi-fi. Clean, comfortable and exceptional staff. No tub in the bathroom but the shower stall is fantastic. Extra large shower head, plenty of room, modern and clean. There's even a ledge to sit down. There's a Keurig coffee machine which some people may see as an outstanding plus. For me, it's a disappointment but for Keurig lovers, ask for a room with the Keurig machine. I'd book again, but only contingent upon a strong wi-fi signal being available.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jan 17, 2017
coukd not find out jetty building when we did there was no close parking. Our tissue box was filled with dirty used tissues, our roll of toilet paper on roll was almost empty but folded like it was a brand new role. Could not rent a movie, walls super thin, heard everything in room next door, vacuming above us st 9 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Class Act

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We arrived late, checked in and found the accommodations to be excellent! Breakfast was also superb, first time I ever had crab cakes and sunny side up eggs with a nice spicy Bloody Mar! Unfortunately, a family emergency forced us to cut our trip short by a night and the lovely young concierge at the front desk, escalated our situation to her manager without our knowledge... we will be back!! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice local hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Cons: Maintenance items listed above
Cute little hotel that provided some local flare for a quick business trip to the area. I will say there was some maintenance work that was needed (wall paper pulling off the wall as I walked into my building) but otherwise rooms were very comfortable and clean. The shower was problematic as well - took me almost five minutes to get the hot water on because the handle was pretty hard to work with. Rob at the bar was very nice and attentive and cocktails menu was pretty nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to ferry

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Very convenient for us to visit family, flexible as we had to stay an unexpected extra day...a bit "pricey" though for this time of year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little finesse would make price easier to take

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
I love the location of Danfords. The steep price reflects the location, and it's absolutely fine in terms of quality. But it would be nice if there were some token efforts to make it feel like something above a Howard Johnson's - more towels & TP in the room so I don't have to ring for more, glasses instead of plastic cups, a few free water bottles not $6 Voss, some creamers to go with the 3 (4th one missing) keurig cups. Being the only game in town makes Danfords lazy, I fear.