Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Jefferson NY

Attention To Detail

Posted Jan 6, 2018
We arrived somewhat later in the evening after our business. It was absolutely frigid January after the huge storm in New York. We got to the room, it was ice cold. The heater had not been turned on, and most of the lights were unplugged, so we had to rearrange furniture to plug into lamps. Fan in bathroom did not work nor did the shower light. It is a nice little boutique hotel but very much lacked attention to comfort details by service staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sitting on the dock of the Sound..,

Posted Dec 28, 2017
When I first arrived to my room, I was disappointed by the size/location of the room. However, when I inquired about changing my room to a larger one, my request was met immediately and my new room is lovely! Excellent spa products, comfortable bed, and the shower? Omg! Parking and getting luggage to your rooom are the greatest challenges you will encounter in an otherwise excellent stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location right on the harbor

Posted Dec 24, 2017
I always enjoy my stay at Danfords. It is right in the heart of Port Jefferson NY within walking distance of shops and restaurants. It has the feeling of a cozy Inn with the amenities of a large hotel/spa. Located right on the water where you can watch the boats come and go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Good place in a nice town

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Cons: The front desk staff should inform customers that 75$ would be posted to credit card and removed after stay if not spent.
We were pleased with the accomodations. We spent some time in Port Jefferson and then went east to explore wine country. Well located for both.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Friendly staff. Great location, can walk everywhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
No reserved parking for check in. Unfortunately the credit card I brought did not have 75.00 on it. I was told to go get a prepaid card. Had cash for holding until check out she refused to even ask the manager. I had just driven 6 hours 300 miles and just wanted to het to my room. I had to go to a store and get prepaid cards before she would let me check in. This is my 5th stay here. Dont they pay attention to customers? I have never trashed the room. Then when I did get to the room and used the rest room the tp was on the floor the spring load was on the back of yhe toilet. Just really frustrating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nassau county

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The view and the location to the main village
Cons: Updated infrastructure
Location: Pt Jefferson is a beautiful place. We did wine tasting, a salt spa treatment, bought a variety of oil and vinegars, cigars, candles & salt lamps,
After spending the day in Pt Jefferson, we got back to the hotel and found that we had no hot water. 2 very nice maintenance men had to come into the room and fix it. They did fix it in only 15 minutes or so, however, it was a major inconvenience and an infringement on our privacy. The bed spread had clumps of human hair on it. One of the lamps had a short in it and kept flickering on and off. The mattress had dimples in it and was so uncomfortable that my husband and I had backaches the next morning. The walls were paper thin so we were literally able to hear any conversations going on next door. We left very early the next morning. When we checked out, we explained everything that happened and they would not refund a penny or even offer a dinner voucher. To end on a positive note, the view was spectacular and the hotel was decorated beautifully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great hotel. Its my first choice when I have to go to Stony Brook for class
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from water mill, ny

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Someone used the water bottles and resealed them (not properly). But excellent hotel otherwise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marvelous simple as that

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The place is excelente staf kindly and respectful I will definitely be back The best
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Karen Kohn, Hotel Management
Hello JMO, Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We hope to welcome you back in the future!