Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything we needed

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Lovely bright spacious accommodation short walk from beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, nice and peaceful
Cons: update some of the kitchen equipment, improve lighting inside the townhouse
Location: Approx 4-5kms into town, close (500 metres) walk to Shelly Beach and the Rainforest cafe/walk
We recently stayed at Shelly Beach resort for 6 nights. We found the accommodation to be very spacious, clean and well equipped. Some of the kitchen items need replacing - the potato peeler, can opener and knives were blunt. The beds were comfortable and it was nice to have air con in both bedrooms on hotter days. Generally, the interior and exteriors of the building could do with a revamp, update fittings etc. The location is what we wanted, away from the main town (approx 5kms) and nice and quiet. The managers were very welcoming and friendly. Thanks for a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review Kelly. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shelly Beach Resort. We make a point of welcoming all of our guests personally and ensuring that they know we are here to attend to any issues that may arise during their stay. We have a supply room full of kitchen implements that housekeeping are constantly updating throughout the resort. Had you let us know that your were dissatisfied with some of your kitchen utensils, we would have replaced them for you immediately. Upon reading this review, we have replaced those items you mentioned. We hope to see you back at SBR in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great resort in quiet location!

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Wotif
We alway stay at this resort on our drives south. Perfect for families wanting a nice well run and clean resort. It's close to beaches and town whilst being far enough away to avoid the traffic noise that plagues so many other places!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Pleasant experience

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Easy checkin/out. Parking at the door. Spacious.
Cons: Queen bed instead of double bed.
Location: Not in the city but close enough by car. Close to several beaches. Local store within walking distance and a cafe across the road.
Stopover between Sydney and Gold Coast. Good location, close to the beaches, not too far from town centre. Townhouse was quite spacious and had all that we needed for overnight stay. Kids enjoyed the beaches and the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Shelly Beach Resort. We are delighted that the kids got to enjoy both the beaches and our pool on your stop over between cities. We hope you'll stop by on your next trip north.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a pleasing experience...

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The hotel is old and the furniture are dated. The cups in the cupboard was disgustingly dirty that we used our disposable cups for our drinks. There was a spider web on the ceiling of one of the bedrooms, a dirt patch! Under one of the pillows and windows were dirty as well. I received an email from expedia to rate the hotel and I reflected that the hotel was dated and dirty. 2 mins later one of the managers came running to our townhouse and confronted me that you have booked and paid for a 3 star facility and can't expect 5 star service. She later said I came here to say I'm sorry you didn't like it but it was too little too late. I paid more than a 5 star hotel in Gold Coast but apparently they think it's the price you have to pay for that service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review Mr Sina Bakhshalian, but we are quite bemused by your comments as your recollection of events totally differs to ours. We too received an email from Expedia whilst you were here with your wife, Mother and Father advising that you thought your townhouse was dirty. As all good owners would do, we came to see you immediately to address your concerns as we pride ourselves on our cleanliness, as reflected in our reviews. We asked you to point out to us specific issues, you pointed out the shower base that had some paint chips from general wear and tear and that was the extent of your issues. You just had a generalisation that you thought it wasn’t clean. We thought our conversation ended amicably and at no stage did we return to apologise as there was nothing to apologise for. As you were driving out of our premises, you handed us a tea cup that did have a tea stain and for that we do thank you  We wish you a very Merry Christmas and we hope you enjoyed your overnight stay in Port Macquarie.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding stay!

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay. Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Good location for beach walks, visiting Rainforest. Short drive to downtown Port Macquarie. Excellent townhouse unit with great kitchen, lovely patio and pool. Would definitely recommend for couples or families.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your lovely review of Shelly Beach Resort and we are glad that you got to experience all that Port Macquarie has to offer. We hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vic, Australia

Beautiful setting, close to everything

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Wotif
Loved our stay at Shelly Beach Resort. Very private, great pool, great area. Resort was full during our stay but you would hardly know. Pool was great, kids had a ball!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Everything you need for a short or long stay

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: good location, good amenities and great price
Cons: A little dated but not enough to worry about.
Location: The Bago Maze, fun for all for a couple of hours finding the list of treasures. Ricardo's a must for strawberry picking.
The townhouse style accommodation is clean and reasonably well set out. The kitchen had everything you need for a hassle free stay, and the pool is a nice size. Oh, and the kids love the spiral staircase to the bedrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. No surprises with the spiral staircase... kids do seem to love them!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brief stopover

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing, nice area