Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barbados

Close to tourist attractions

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I considered the Hilton hotel or Radisson but Trini friends suggested Kapok. It was quiet and lovely. Walking distance to the zoo and Coney Island. Close to port of spain.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short trip to Port of Spain

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Nice hotel location. Old room facilities however - rooms need a facelift, e.g broken air conditioner. Pleasant staff. Restaurants with good food. I would recommend to a friend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything is nearby

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Kava restaurant
Cons: rooms
Location: everything
The hotel is close to recreational facilities, hospital, private medical centers, banks, shopping centers, movies, business centers, dining.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas


Posted Aug 8, 2017
We arrived late Thursday evening and were greeted by amazing staff. The Hotel was beautiful inside decor and quality amazing restaurants on separate floors. The breakfast was amazing and nutritious. The rooms were kept in great condition and cleaned daily. The staff really made our stay just 10 times that much better. They couldnt be more accommodating than they already were. Very efficient and cheerful. We felt at home. Some of our favorites were Mark, Kiel, Sean, Leslie and a few more. Thank you for everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

It's ok

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Nice area but hotel is very outdated and rooms are small.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cayman

Bit like Fawlty Towers

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Dreadful hotel, they overbooked and even though I had booked and paid for a double rom they only had a single room. After much complaining was compensated with a $20 voucher and no refund for the price difference. The hotel has water problems and never had a proper shower for 5 days. The room stunk. The service in the restaurant/bar was deadful. Do not stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I’m very sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know of your experience. It is unfortunate that you did not bring to our attention whilst at the hotel. To clarify both the single and double rooms are the same price so no refund was necessary in this instance. It was unfortunate but unavoidable.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Comfortable but my room 489 was small.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The breakfast and the bathroom
Cons: The size of the bed should be kingsize, especially when it is two grown adults on one bed
Location: The location was perfect. Close to everything I wanted the banks and the queens park savannah
MY experience was good, some of the waitress need to be a little more polite.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Kap-ok is just ok

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: local cuisine options in breakfast and at the restaurant
Location: savannah and food
My 2 night stay at Kapok was a decent one. I wouldn't really call the staff friendly but I also wouldn't call them rude, they seemed indifferent pretty much about everything. The breakfast was ok enough, personally I wish it had more local food (but that's the type of traveler I am, to each his/her own). I didn't try the restaurant there because as I said before I prefer to try the food native to the place I'm visiting, however, if you're not one to venture out where food is concerned, based on the international cuisine menu I looked at, the options looked good, a bit on the pricey side though. The pool and the other facilities are nice and well kept. The hotel is located in the quieter part of Port of Spain but near enough to the livelier parts so a taxi ride was just a few minutes.
4 out of 5
by charmaine

Thumbs up always consistent

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast need a bit more friendlier approach and why cant a take out something for my son who overslept Housekeepers were great Front desk real prifessional
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Nice Comfortable Hotel with hidden terrace

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The welcoming staff
Cons: Lower noise levels from air conditioners or other extractor fans near the pool.
Location: This hotel is very close to the Emporer Valley Zoon and Royal Botanical Gardens. It is not very close to any shops or malls.
This hotel was pleasant with very good and well-mannered staff. The continental breakfast buffet was nice, with local choices as well. Room was clean, air conditioned and everything was working as it should be. The hotel had a lovely terrace and small pool at the back which was fairly secluded which included a small gym. Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay.