Ratings based on 925 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: facilities
Cons: restaurant wants to sell lighter food at lunchtime
Location: walk
upgraded to a room on the front looking over beach lovely only thing wrong could have sworn on website it showed a balcony and not just a window from which you had to stand up to see the sea? also i dont like being harassed when i,m trying to check in after a long flight by some one trying to sell me a timeshare otherwise great place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
The shower was over the bath with a warning to put a rubber mat in the bath before you shower. There was no mat. The exhaust fan didn't work and probably hadn't for a while as there was about 6 inches of dust in it. The bedroom had translucent glass panels in the door and the two lights outside the door had no switches to turn them off. So you either had to leave them on at night with the light flooding into the bedroom, or remove the card at the front door which also turned off the air conditioning and unless you replaced the card if you needed to get up in the middle of the night you couldn't turn on any lights. We stayed for 3 nights and were given 1 towel each, was also told if we needed more toiletries we had to purchase them. We ended up buying toilet paper. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Mixed feelings

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Location: Nelson Bay/Port Stephens is such a huge area to visit and enjoy with its bay and ocean beaches.
The room itself was lovely with a separate bedroom, king bed, spacious lounge area, nice 40" flat screen tv and dvd player. Concierge and free bottle of wine were added extras. Wine was exceptional. On my own, I would have liked a balcony and had no need for a spa in the room. The windows faced south, no view at all of the beautiful Shoal Bay beach. Perhaps next time I'll stipulate a view of why I went to Shoal Bay in the first place. The restaurants were first class and the Fisherman's Club had really fresh seafood with that beautiful view of the beach that I longed to see. I would come back again but insist on the view and then see if it addsd much to the room rate.
3 out of 5
by Sonia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shoal Bay

Leaking shower

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Wotif
We had an OK stay. Shoal Bay is a wonderful location of course. Unfortunately the room did not match the photos. Also, the shower was leaking quite loudly all through our stay. We did report it to reception. The wifi didn't work and when we rang technical support they did not answer. Admittedly it was Easter but it was advertised as complimentary wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room had a great view, but

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Wotif
The car park was too far away. The staff on the foyer floor wanting 90 min of my time for a hard sell on something was a turn off sort of ruined the check in process. Have stayed in Ramada before , this one takes forever to refund your deposit - others owned by the same bunch don't even take a deposit hard to tedvel and have money tied up for weeks in deposit - poor practice
4 out of 5
by Saqib

Good Location!!

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good location.Standard Unit was quiet spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice easter holidays!

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location!!
Location: Perfect!!
As the beach is across the road, this is the perfect place to enjoy a few days away from the craziness of the big city. Very confortable and clean room, nice balcony to relax watching the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the bay

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nice view, excellent food options within walking distance. Biggest problem was the second elevator wasn't working, making it exceedingly difficult to get up and down stairs. Apparently it has been out of order for over 6 months.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent location

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Excellent location and facilities and well appointed room.
Cons: Parking over in one building and the room being over at White Sands was not so good. Also the spa was crowded families just taking the whole spa
Location: Location was good and having our own parking spot was great. Not many restaurants in the immediate area and the Country Club was not open.
Had a very enjoyable few days staying here. The beach is just across the road and lovely so too was the walk through the national park to the gun placement. The Country Club restaurant wasn't open at all during our stay which was a shame. We did the sand boarding experience which was great fun. Also did the evening dinner cruise which was very good as well. Would certainly recommend staying here.